Thread: City versus Ramblers

Is it first or second string team. Lineup?

Final score? Corkcityfootie.com still says 1-0.

If we lose we are more than likely out cause Ramblers will easily beat Kerry DL

Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr
    If we lose we are more than likely out cause Ramblers will easily beat Kerry DL
    That would be embarrassing to say the least.
    Last-minute reprive?

Yes!!! A comeback!!!

Reprieve it is:

Ramblers 1-2 CCFC

John O'Flynn back in action and scoring with a peno on 63
    the winner from Denis Behan on 68.

Thanks God for that.
    Limerick held Waterford 2-2 with two CP goals by the way.
    Last edited by tiktok; 11/05/2004 at 8:50 PM. Reason: correcting goal time

Id say we are favourites to win it now! Great comeback! What was the line up. Did JOF start?

Ya John O'Flynn started and captained the side. Didn't see much of the ball in the first half, scored the peno and went off injured shortly after that. Not too serious hopefully.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by adamcarr
    I'd say we are favourites to win it now!
    Not getting carried away at all, no?

flynny should take up snooker!! constantly injured!!

Wolfe for them played well. didnt see much of tony tynan. peter cuthbert on goal made some good saves, couldnt be blamed for taking john o'flynn down reallt, i was 4 feet away and it looked like john played for it (not a dive, he got as close to cuppy as possible then knocked it away, so he took him down without the ball).

nice to see a fella from my class playing well even if we gave him stick through the game

Nults
    Muck Guths Kev M Byrne
    Nolan Sweens Greg Kearney
    JoF Behan

Doyle for Jof
    CT for Greg
    Danny M for Nolan

Again, Liam failed to get even one cross in. Must be a record for a winger.

Thought Ramblers put it up to City......fairness to them. These games are always tough with no quarters asked.

IMO Murphy played well for them and got a cracker of a goal. Their 'keeper looked good also.

Thought Jamie Nolan had a good second half and once he got going showed some blistering pace - set up Flynny for the penalty well.

Greg was really up for it and played v well.

Doyler also got stuck in when he came on....gem.

Good run out for the fringe players.

Think Ramblers should be higher up the table than they are.

Didn't think Flynny was injuired just taken off to protect him for Friday.....he was getting some hefty challenges.........

........God almighty lads did any of ye go into the jacks next to the hut where the announcer was located. I've seen more hygenic slurry pits than that .......... ( words fail me ). Comment of the night though was when we were lined up having a leak ( no roof BTW ) one of the lads looks up, sees the wall of the "cess pit" ringed with barbed wire and says ....... "that's there to stop people from breaking in you know"

Had to be seen ( and smelled ) to be believed.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    Limerick held Waterford 2-2 with two CP goals by the way.
    And Alan Carey scored for Waterford
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by Counting Crow

Greg was really up for it and played v well.
    Are you serious. I thought he was quite poor. Sure he put himself about well, but he certainly didnt play V WELL. On that performance, he, like many others last night, wont see the 1st team anytime soon.

K Murray was ok
    Kearney was non existent
    Guthrie was better than normal
    Behan was bad
    Nolan had no luck. Worst ive ever seen him play.
    McNulty id turning out to be a very handy keeper.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

What was the attendance like?

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse
    What was the attendance like?
    I'd say there was over 2000 there, keep them in existance for another season, don't mention it lads.

We were poor in the 1st half, certainly had the look of players who never played together before. Kevin Murray did well, didn't like the look of Guthrie at all, very dodgy.
    Greg was very good, got stuck in and won a lot of ball, impressed better than Sweeney. The boy Nolan couldn't control a ball to save his life in the 1st half but improved and played quite well in the end. Mulconroy is not a right back and McNulty looked quite shaky in goal.
    City played with a lot of confidence once the 1st goal went in and could've won by a few more in the end.
    There were at least 3 situations where a city player was denied a goalscoring opportunity by a Cobh player, once by the keeper for the peno and twice by the centre halves.
    Of course it was Buttimer, must've forgotten his red card.
    Cobh fans made me laugh by saying we only have the likes of such officials on a rare occasion whereas they have them every week.
    Citys 2nd goal was a fluke.
    Cobh deserved a draw i thought.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    I'd say there was over 2000 there, keep them in existance for another season
    Nah boy, there wasnt half that there.

Greg showed again while he's all sprit he just aint a central midfield general alá the Rat.

Murray did well alright, Gurthrie needs strong coaching.

Cobh keeper was excellent but amazing that he stayed on the park after the peno incident.
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC
    Murray did well alright
    That must be the first time thats been posted here!
    As I say, we're just young & a bit nieve.

Quote Originally Posted by SÓC

Cobh keeper was excellent but amazing that he stayed on the park after the peno incident.
    I think that Buttimer understands the situation at Cobh. At present we only have one 'keeper as Alan O'Shea is out for 6 weeks with a fractured ankle. We would have no 'keeper for Saturdays match in Limerick. Definate peno and fair play to Buttimer. Probably would have been different in a FAI Cup match but I think we definetly deserved a draw. We played Cork off the park in the first half.

What do you boys think of our No3 John Meade. First player to come through the underage section of Ramblers and played very well last night.

He is a tough little cnut alright. Very handy player. i believe he is only 18 or something??? Between himself, Cummins and Darren Murphy, there is a nice basis of a team for the future there.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.