Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast

Thread: The play-off

"Mrs. Simpson, I've appeared infront of every judge in this state, often as a lawyer."

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Glad we wont be in the Carlilse next year. That was my first visit and it will be my last. Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Why wouldn't we sing cherrio? just the same way your fans were singing going up going up when you scored. It is a football match you know and chants like that are part and parcel of football. We had just came through a peno shoot out on the winning side, why wouldn't we be happy and want to celebrate?

IMO your sounding very petty and as if you have been hard done by Magicme, your lads couldn't take their chances on Friday and then they had the chance to hold on for 1 or 2 minutes last night to go up but they couldn't do that either. The wall coming down actually should have worked in your favour giving them time to settle down and regroup but they couldn't, then penos is pot luck, Monaghan coped with the pressure worse than Bray.

"Hope you finish bottom next year" All i can say is if we do, at least it will be in the Premier Division

Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Oh my god, how DARE they!!!

3,491 Posts
    Subject to Magicme reappearing, by the way, I agree with Mr A about that post - it was made at 6:50am the morning after a massive rollercoaster of a game. I wouldn't be taking it too literally.

Weatherman, the reason I was upset about the cheerio chanting was nothing to do with bitterness but just thought considering that a badly built wall had just injured us we would have thought your lot would be a bit more sporting and gracious in victory. It's called manners.

When we beat waterford their fans applauded our players and our fans. That was nice. Last night wasn't.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    I was more sure of Gartland missing, some good penalties.

Mons were on top until Devlin went for it at the end of the 90 minutes going 3 upfront and Shaw in ET too. Mons still had the better chances including the free header from 6 yards out midway through the second half....from Byrne too..

MM: Football doesn't let you get away from it that easily
    That was pretty much there best chance of the game, they had another chance that was going wide but Kane saved it. They didn't really make Kane work that hard at all were as Sava pulled off at least 4 top class saves. We should have won in 90 minutes last night but Monaghan should have been out of sight from the 1st leg, they missed far to many chances on Friday night... and as they say, it came back to haunt them.

445 Posts
    That was nice. Last night wasn't.
    Losing isn't supposed to be nice
    Here on a technicality.

1,104 Posts
    Could the wall thing be a problem for Bray??

That's a handy claim if ever there was one.

Who do you sue?? The club with the wall or the FAI that gave them the licence??

Any legal eagle care to comment
    Sue everyone and let the insurance companies worry about which of them is liable in their defence. Main defendants would be Bray though IMO.

44 Posts

When we beat waterford their fans applauded our players and our fans. That was nice. Last night wasn't.
    I would think that the Waterford fans gesture is one you would only get 1 in a million times...cant for the life of me imagine applauding an opposition team who was after condeming my team to another division 1 season...especially not in Oriel.Dont know what fans of other clubs think but i defo could not see it happening in oriel
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

Ok mow when we were up in Monaghan on friday a bunch of monaghan fans came in to our section shouting abuse,they were just thugs and that does not make me feel like I want yous relegated next year.
    Even after all that I felt that your lot was a great set of supporters probably one of the nicest in the league.
    now when the wall colloapsed I was in the singing Bray section and the majority of fans were shocked and worried.
    there was a bunch of little thugs that came out for the day laughing at yas,but im probably certian that every Bray fan there was not laughing and worried about yas.
    and you cant walk a wall over there obviously has to be force yous were hardly walking through it.
    sorry for your wounds but you seem to make it out as if you were in world war II.
    and the cherio thing is farcical god should we all be like ucd fans !

473 Posts
    To be fair, a lot of Bray fans clapped your injured player off the pitch earlier in the game, and I'd say a lot of us would have clapped you at the end if we hadn't all been on the pitch!

Still shaking and unable to sleep from both pain and the fact that when I close my eyes I see a wall falling. Worst night of my life and possibly my last following league of Ireland if it is that fecking dangerous to myself and my kids and friends. Our players were a foot, maybe 2 foot away from being crushed and then they were so fecking concerned about us they threw the game away a min later. May sound dramatic but it was horrific. My shoulder, elbow and legs are in bits and can hardly move and have the worst bruising I have ever seen.

Glad we wont be in the Carlilse next year. That was my first visit and it will be my last. Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    If a rag came out with that type of over the top nonsense relating to the LoI, most the posters on here would be calling for a boycott of that same rag.

Now i understand people were hurt and that is a serious matter but the way you're going on, you make it sound like you're going to need councilling for post traumatic stress. I've lost count of the amount of times i've been crushed, trampled and attacked at LoI games. It's part of it these days, as much as we wished otherwise. If you don't like that then it probably is time to knock it on the head.

The notion that you lost because the players were so concerned for your safety is most laughable. With that kind of naivety among your support, you're not ready for the Premier yet.

Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    Football fans in winding up opposition fans shocker...
    Last edited by Hairy Bowsie; 09/11/2010 at 4:18 PM.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    That was pretty much there best chance of the game, they had another chance that was going wide but Kane saved it. They didn't really make Kane work that hard at all were as Sava pulled off at least 4 top class saves. We should have won in 90 minutes last night but Monaghan should have been out of sight from the 1st leg, they missed far to many chances on Friday night... and as they say, it came back to haunt them.
    I said last week that Bray's hope was Mons didn't take their chance, but still. Sava made one top drawer save from the half-volley at the car-park end, but other than that, he was solid and dependable (which in the conditions is something else), but no saves keeping Mons in it.

Kane had a few to deal with too and the pressure Mons put on at the end was equal to anything Bray had. Put another way, Mons were not out of place. I'd promote them instead of reinstating Drogheda..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

123 Posts
    I cannot believe Monaghan United supporters breached the Deeping Wall!
    roddy collins you're a flanker you're a flanker!

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    I said last week that Bray's hope was Mons didn't take their chance, but still. Sava made one top drawer save from the half-volley at the car-park end, but other than that, he was solid and dependable (which in the conditions is something else), but no saves keeping Mons in it.

Kane had a few to deal with too and the pressure Mons put on at the end was equal to anything Bray had. Put another way, Mons were not out of place. I'd promote them instead of reinstating Drogheda..
    Sava made IMO excellent saves from Danny O'Connor's dipping Volley in the 1st half, then in the 2nd half from Kelly's volley and Chris Shields shot across him, these were all goal bound that required great saves. 3 saves that kept Bray from going 3 up so yeah they were saves keeping Monaghan in it. Kane on the other hand had to deal with a few half hearted shots from distance, nothing to the extent of the saves Sava was forced into. IMO he was the busier keeper and was called into action a lot more last night. Kane's only real save was from a shot that was going wide but he wasn't to know that really.

On Brian Kane, i take my hat off to the kid, he hasn't played in about 3/4 months and coming into a game of such important the lad was exceptional

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69 View Post
    Sava made IMO excellent saves from Danny O'Connor's dipping Volley in the 1st half, then in the 2nd half from Kelly's volley and Chris Shields shot across him, these were all goal bound that required great saves. 3 saves that kept Bray from going 3 up so yeah they were saves keeping Monaghan in it. Kane on the other hand had to deal with a few half hearted shots from distance, nothing to the extent of the saves Sava was forced into. IMO he was the busier keeper and was called into action a lot more last night. Kane's only real save was from a shot that was going wide but he wasn't to know that really.

On Brian Kane, i take my hat off to the kid, he hasn't played in about 3/4 months and coming into a game of such important the lad was exceptional
    So he had **** all to do, as well as not saving a penalty in the shoot out, but still had an exceptional game?

Did you try reading it?
    Yeah obviously i did read it but even magicme admitted she was gutted so why give the infraction?? i jus dont agree with that at all stu??
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

23. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Bry Boy View Post
    and the cherio thing is farcical god should we all be like ucd fans !
    What, be non existant

But yeah there is always some "thugs" that come out for the day, especially in big games like this, from what I recall there was some booing from Waterford fans as well as the Mons team went down the tunnel too
    Last edited by christo; 09/11/2010 at 7:31 PM.

305 Posts
    I used to sing the "cherrio" song to the vanquished team at my nephews underage games

Sorry if it was a bit ott but I haven't slept and watching your youngest child getting hurt is not an easy thing to do.

I have no problem with banter from fans but just thought in light of the fact that people were hurt there may have been a modicum of restraint.

In honesty the rest of the game is a blur and while I was gutted it was the least of my concerns at that point.

I lashed out in sleep deprived anger so I apologise but those of you making light of the fact that people have been injured are not the kind of fans I would be bothered to interact with so your opinion is invalid to me.

27. Thanks From:

Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast