Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast

Thread: The play-off

I understand now why I was told not to stand against the wall...

From what I saw Mons we on top the whole game except for the last few minutes when Byrne had to go into defense and then their midfield disappeared and Bray started to get one top, feel sorry for Alan cos he played really well last night but I felt that he was going to miss the penalty when I saw he was stepping up to take the winner.

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Glad we wont be in the Carlilse next year. That was my first visit and it will be my last. Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Now now magicme, all injuries aside i didn think you were bitter?? thats all part and parcel of the game! it was alrite for use mons to gloat when the own goal went in!! its all so different now isnt it!! Stayin up, were stayin up, bray are stayin up!!!
    roddy collins should be a comedian!!

Quote Originally Posted by christo View Post
    I understand now why I was told not to stand against the wall...

From what I saw Mons we on top the whole game except for the last few minutes when Byrne had to go into defense and then their midfield disappeared and Bray started to get one top, feel sorry for Alan cos he played really well last night but I felt that he was going to miss the penalty when I saw he was stepping up to take the winner.
    I was more sure of Gartland missing, some good penalties.

Mons were on top until Devlin went for it at the end of the 90 minutes going 3 upfront and Shaw in ET too. Mons still had the better chances including the free header from 6 yards out midway through the second half....from Byrne too..

MM: Football doesn't let you get away from it that easily
    Last edited by dfx-; 09/11/2010 at 2:09 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Football fans in winding up opposition fans shocker...

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Weatherman View Post
    Now now magicme, all injuries aside i didn think you were bitter?? thats all part and parcel of the game! it was alrite for use mons to gloat when the own goal went in!! its all so different now isnt it!! Stayin up, were stayin up, bray are stayin up!!!
    I doubt very much if Mons fans were doing any gloating, why would they? They were celebrating their goal is all. Very little time to do anything else in before the equaliser went in, and they had other things to occupy them during that short time what with your rickety wall trying to off them all.
    Gloating at the opposition is different to celebrating your own team's success, something you seem not to grasp too well, but chanting cheerio at the Mons fans on the way out is particularly classy. Different if it was a bitter rival you'd just turned over, but to fans of a smaller club, a lower division team, and one who nobody (bar ourselves maybe!) could have any valid reason to dislike, is just mean-spirited and petty. Hope it wasn't too many Bray fans, they're mostly fairly sound, I seem to recall from the dim distant past when we used to meet...
    Last edited by stann; 09/11/2010 at 2:29 PM.
    more bass

105 Posts
    Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Imagine that!!! What's the world coming too

FFS

122 Posts
    Still shaking and unable to sleep from both pain and the fact that when I close my eyes I see a wall falling. Worst night of my life and possibly my last following league of Ireland if it is that fecking dangerous to myself and my kids and friends. Our players were a foot, maybe 2 foot away from being crushed and then they were so fecking concerned about us they threw the game away a min later. May sound dramatic but it was horrific. My shoulder, elbow and legs are in bits and can hardly move and have the worst bruising I have ever seen.

Glad we wont be in the Carlilse next year. That was my first visit and it will be my last. Congrats to Bray the team they cant relegate and their lovely fans who sang Cherrio to us when we were leaving. Hope you finish bottom next year.
    Keep the faith Magicme, ye're perseverence will eventually pay off, ye're day will come. If ye can keep the squad and management together, then there's no reason why ye can't win the Division outright next year and go up as champions. While you may not want to here this now, another year in the First Division may not be all that bad, thats if ye can hold the current set-up together. It will give ye an extra years preparation and a chance to build up ye're fanbase because I'm sure alot of locals have caught the LOI bug this year with the season ye've had

Quote Originally Posted by gufc2000 View Post
    I'm sure alot of locals have caught the LOI bug this year with the season ye've had
    You'd be surprised!!

The Cheerio thing (unlike the wall falling down) is to be expected aswell. The good people of Monaghan were at the same craic 124 years ago when Limerick got relegated up there and all the Limerick fans survived.

Be interesting to see how much of that squad Monaghan can keep together now, this year seemed like the climax of a few years build up (maybe that's just in my own head??) and was ultimately a failure.

i garentee if the mons went up we would be hearing none of this wall crap!! And the cheerio thing is jus petty, how were you not expecting it!! What about after the own goal i think you's sang "you're not singing anymore!" Now that was harsh!!! :P

123 Posts
    last night was a great night even if we were beaten i would not have missed it for the world.
    anybody looking for some words of comfort read kiplings IF
    best of luck to all at bray great buch of supporters
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

3,491 Posts
    Let's have the wall fall on you and see if it's crap, Weatherman. You've already received an infraction for your earlier post on the matter; take that as a hint.

44 Posts
    I cant see Monaghan doing as well next year...they just went on one hell of a run this year(like Cobhs the year they went up),but in reality the players are not that good.I would expect Shels,Limerick,Waterford and Cork to be stronger than them next season.They have blown a golden chance i feel.
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

Let's have the wall fall on you and see if it's crap, Weatherman. You've already received an infraction for your earlier post on the matter; take that as a hint.
    What was the infraction for???

Quote Originally Posted by shep View Post
    I cant see Monaghan doing as well next year...they just went on one hell of a run this year(like Cobhs the year they went up),but in reality the players are not that good.
    I wouldn't necessarily agree with you about the run, they were fairly consistent for a season and a half and ultimately at the end of this season when the chips were down they bottled it (blessed to get a draw against ourselves, lost to Mervue, lost to Derry)

Granted their squad isn't the bestest either but there's some good players there and you'd be surprised just how bad the First Division is!!

I fully expect Cork to flash the magic beans around in the off season, Shels will be Shels, Waterford already have their spine resigned which is encouraging for them and as for ourselves, we could go either way, the vibes they are bad though.

1,552 Posts
    i garentee if the mons went up we would be hearing none of this wall crap!!
    I guarantee that a club having a wall collapse in its ground for the second year in a row would be commented on at any time.

And I think people are reading way too much into a comment obviously made in the very emotional time after such a huge game.

445 Posts
    I have an even more bizarre story from last night than the wall, I went to the game and because it was lashing rain I had my Pats rain jacket on, When I went into the stand to sit down a Rovers fan turned around and called me a nordie c*nt, it was just odd
    Here on a technicality.

Could the wall thing be a problem for Bray??

That's a handy claim if ever there was one.

Who do you sue?? The club with the wall or the FAI that gave them the licence??

Any legal eagle care to comment

It's in a different place to last season, to me that's negligence on someone's part surely. It was obviously only patched up in the corner and not examined. And there was 1500 Rovers fans there last week let into the section clambering over it..

http://www.extratime.ie/media/extrat.../braywall2.jpg

I won't post the pic of the wall last night, might be too soon - but it was front of the 'press box'..
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

44 Posts
    Only another 9 titles till Drogheda become pride of county louth!!!

27. Thanks From:

3,491 Posts
    What was the infraction for???
    Did you try reading it?

Page 16 of 18 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 LastLast