Thread: Well done, lads.

151 Posts

Well done, lads.

As comfortable a one nil as you are likely to see. Now for the real cup.

well done rovers

Agreed lads. But, Monaghan came down intent on playing real football and we must respect them for that. I have seen bigger clubs come here this season and hoof the ball and call it football.! I look forward to next years games against the "Mons".The only MON welcome in the Showgies!

Well done lads But remember theirs more to come.

Quote Originally Posted by Bigone57 View Post
    Well done lads But remember theirs more to come.
    Bring it on !!!!!

Well done lads

One down More 2 Come We Hope......

900 miles from the Showgrounds, and the locals are going to wonder why I have an extra spring in my step today.

Mind you, they're probably wondering why this was blaring out our window last night:
    (Incidentally, don't they bear a disturbing resemblance to the 1977 league-winning side?)

To borrow a quote from 1983 - I'm overwhellemed.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

"Overwhelmed"

Hard Luck to Monaghan who've been brillant this Season and hopefully they can continue to make the First Division title Race an exciting one. However, enormous credit must go to those who run and volunteer for Sligo Rovers. Fundraising is a nightmare atm so the must have a very dedicated team of volunteers there who are ensuring that quality players can be brought to the Club.

Bouncing back from the blow of losing the FAI Cup Final must have been difficult but they have got their just rewards. A feature of Sligo's success over last 15 years or so has been their ability (bar one or two examples) to choose their Mangers very wisely. McStay, Sanchez and Cottrill have all gone on to oprove themselves at a higher level. and eventually one could see Cook doing the same. Congrats.

how many goals does young mc goldrick have to score before he gets a real chance?

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red Nut View Post
    how many goals does young mc goldrick have to score before he gets a real chance?
    In the current team? Probably about twelve a game.

You're right Blinkhorn should be dropped like a hot potato after what he did on Saturday

178 Posts
    Drop the only recognised first team striker at the club, who has just made a great turn and shot to win you a cup. And you must be questioning Cook's judgment on this because he's not starting him - the first Rovers manager to bring us a cup in 12 years and put together possibly the best footballing squad of players we have ever seen in the Showgrounds.

Youre right, you are a Nut.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

Congrats lads and hope we have many more visits to the showgrounds to come. Thank you for looking after us so well and your fans appaulding our bus as we pulled out from Mooneys brought a tear to my eye. Thank you. x

Thank you

Quote Originally Posted by showgies View Post
    Great to see the goals and the big crowd. Great goal by Blinkhorn. He doesn't score many but they are always important ones. I am absolutely thrilled.
    Níl aon tinteán mar do thinteán féin.

Monaghan fans are a credit to the LOI, great craic in Mooneys before the game and sang the whole way through the game. Best of luck to ye for the rest of the season.

151 Posts
    They had a serious win last night over Waterford and look like they will be joining us next season.

I think we can expect nearer the crowd they had for the FAI Cup game than for the LC game if they come up. Unless we're their first game of the season, then they might bring 50 or 60. I'd rather them in the Premier than Shels or Waterford though.