Thread: Lowest-ever LoI match attendance?

205 Posts

Lowest-ever LoI match attendance?

Surely last night's 42 at Mervue-Waterford must be an all-time record, or has a game ever been played behind closed doors?

473 Posts
    Was there not a match that was boycotted a while back. Before my time, but I think I remember hearing about it.

We played Dundalk behind closed doors in the Foot-and-Mouth season

137 Posts
    Similarly we played Drogheda behind closed doors during F+M season.
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

60 Posts
    I was at a league cup game in Kilkenny once when there was some major hurling game on which seemed to have about 15 non-staff members there in the early 90s, though I don't recall an official attendance. I'd say that there were some dreadful low LC and Shield attendances over the year, so they should probably be discounted.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    Surely last night's 42 at Mervue-Waterford must be an all-time record
    Wouldn't surprise me if Devon beat that a couple of times this season.

398 Posts
    I was at a St. Francis game when there would have been less than 50, same with Home Farm-Everton (playing Mons at Tolka).

363 Posts
    In the Irish Lge, Newry had a crowd of 96 one Sat before xmas, this was for a IL Prem game and the joke at the time was there would have been more working in the Sainsburys store not far away from the ground.

Surely a record low for any european 'top flight' lge ?
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

3,220 Posts
    This exact thread was done about six months ago by the way.

2,629 Posts
    well then, as moderator, you should probably merge the two threads.

37 Posts
    The first ever competitive game at Strokestown Road (now Flancare Park) was a League Cup hame between between Longford and Galway United circa 1992. There were zero facilities. No dressing rooms. No boundry wall. No fence surrounding the pitch. No public address. No gate. No seats. No toilets, No nothing. Oh yeah, and a crowd of around 30 people. I took photos which I must dig out. Both teams togged out in the Longford Arms Hotel and retuned there afterwards for showers.

LTFC stayed in Abbeycarlton for another year AFAIR before moving permanently to where there is now a fine stadium.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    There was 27 at a rams match years ago when we were bottom of the 1st div
    Out of interest, what sort of crowds are ye getting these days in the A league?

chr1st... youse are depressing.2 on a Monday morning, suicide status...... code1

3,220 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    well then, as moderator, you should probably merge the two threads.
    Thanks for your concern, but I was merely pointing out that if the OP wanted a quicker answer to the question, he should be able to find it by searching here. Being helpful, not snotty, you know.

(I know for a fact that oriel's exact point was made before, perhaps even by him. The Boss pointed out some Greek attendances, and I queried whether the attendance and the round number were being mixed up)

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    In the Irish Lge, Newry had a crowd of 96 one Sat before xmas, this was for a IL Prem game and the joke at the time was there would have been more working in the Sainsburys store not far away from the ground.

Surely a record low for any european 'top flight' lge ?
    I give you Cefn Druids in the 2009-10 Welsh Premier:
    The case highlights the effect of two things;

1) Their proximity to the area's big club (Wrexham)
    2) The imperialism of the Premier League upon the young minds of north Wales.

74 Cefn Druids v Airbus UK Broughton 10/03/2010

64 Cefn Druids v Haverfordwest County 05/04/2010

64 Cefn Druids v Gap Connah's Quay 13/04/2010

51 Cefn Druids v Carmarthen Town 12/12/2009

3,220 Posts
    I'll raise you FC Valga in the Estonian top flight in 2006 - average attendance 38 (down 3 on the previous season).

yeah, yeah whatever. just merge the threads....

I think there was 27 at a game between ourselves and limerick about 10-11 years ago

I counted 54 people at a Galway Utd-Cork City game in Terryland back around 00/01.It was a league cup game i think played on the wettest,windiest Tuesday night i've ever experienced.

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    I give you Cefn Druids in the 2009-10 Welsh Premier:
    The case highlights the effect of two things;

1) Their proximity to the area's big club (Wrexham)
    2) The imperialism of the Premier League upon the young minds of north Wales.

74 Cefn Druids v Airbus UK Broughton 10/03/2010

64 Cefn Druids v Haverfordwest County 05/04/2010

64 Cefn Druids v Gap Connah's Quay 13/04/2010

51 Cefn Druids v Carmarthen Town 12/12/2009
    Whats the craic with TNS? I watched that Sgorio show there a few weeks back and they where at home, and there was about 100 people there, and they are supposed to be the top team? Sorry off topic!