Page 18 of 74 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast

Thread: Ciaran Clark D Stoke City b.1989

386 Posts
    Is he now playing as an attacking midfielder with Ireland sitting back??!!

59 Posts
    Aye Ireland held back. Interstingly Dunne was sent up forward for the last ten minutes, was a pretty decent target man too.

386 Posts
    Dunne up front with Clark playing behind him could be the Irish team's "Plan B" perhaps?

401 Posts
    Wow great day for CC! ESPN had that game on hi def and i almost turned to off at the half... glad i didnt.
    Hope he gets blooded soon.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

576 Posts
    Fair play to him
    Looking forward to seeing the goals
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Wow great day for CC! ESPN had that game on hi def and i almost turned to off at the half... glad i didnt.
    Hope he gets blooded soon.
    I think losing might have soured his day somewhat, but good goals nonetheless. The first was a great strike. Best player in a dire Villa team.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

wait is Ciaran clark not a defender how did he get 2 goals?!

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    The match was on too early for me but he does play in midfield sometimes. Then again Pascal Cygan once got two goals from defence.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    He was playing in central midfield today. Despite the two goals he played very poorly and I doubt we'll see him play in this role again.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    He was playing in central midfield today. Despite the two goals he played very poorly and I doubt we'll see him play in this role again.
    The whole Villa team were terrible today but Clark did well in the last 20 minutes. He has played in this role a couple of times already this season and has given a good account of himself so we more than likely will see him in this role again, especially considering the lengthy injury list Villa have (including Petrov and Reo-Coker) at the moment

Clarke for England!

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    I think losing might have soured his day somewhat, but good goals nonetheless. The first was a great strike. Best player in a dire Villa team.
    No way he was the best player. Pretty non-existent apart from the goals. As was Bannan. Arsenal just bypassed the Villa midfield. Downing was Villa's star man today, I thought.

130 Posts
    He played ok, did well for both goals. But Villa by and large were very poor today, particularly when you compare today to their performance versus Man U. The team is very inexperienced and they really need the likes of Young and Downing to show the way, Young in particular was very poor! S Ireland came on, looked lively for ten mins and then did his usual disappearing act.

401 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Colbert Report View Post
    Meh. He didnt play very poorly. I suspect you suffer from seasonal affective disorder up there in Canada. You seem to be more negative the other 11 months than in your summer month.

Trap needs to ask FIFA if they can blood some players any way other than playing them in games. Can't he just get McCarthy and Clark in a basement and burn some cards and tell them not to rat on their friends like the mafia used to do?
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

672 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by AlaskaFox View Post
    No way he was the best player. Pretty non-existent apart from the goals. As was Bannan. Arsenal just bypassed the Villa midfield. Downing was Villa's star man today, I thought.
    Downing spent most of his time crossing into the crowd and pulling out of tackles. Bit too much of the Downing of last season for my liking - tbh Clark got the nod simply because he scored. No Villa player particularly deserved the time of day after yesterday.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

574 Posts
    http://www.skysports.com/story/0,195...538467,00.html

Aston Villa starlet Ciaran Clark insists he has no regrets about pledging his international allegiance to Republic of Ireland. Clark, who could have played for England after representing them at Under 18, U 19 and U 20 level, decided to play his international football for the Ireland. The 21-year-old, who has impressed for Villa this season, is hoping to make his Republic of Ireland debut against Macedonia in March and he is happy with his choice of snubbing England.

"I've made my decision, I am Irish," Clark told The Mirror.

"I've played for England in the younger age groups but the time has come and I've decided to play for Ireland if selected. All my family is based in Ireland. If selected I'm sure I will have so much support over there. I am just looking forward to the next international game now as I was injured for the last one but there are a lot of games before then for Villa."

Clark, who scored two goals for Villa as an emergency midfielder against Arsenal on Saturday, admits he did not have time to enjoy his goals as he tried to get his side back into the game before going on to lose 4-2. He added: "I didn't have time to celebrate, I just wanted to get the ball back and push on for the next one."

206 Posts
    "I've decided to play for Ireland if selected" - what a refreshing attitude.

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Yard of Pace View Post
    "I've decided to play for Ireland if selected" - what a refreshing attitude.
    That's not what he meant. He meant if he gets a call up, he was being humble.

Jaysus Fox you are a glass half empty kind of person

I am pretty sure Yard of Pace means the same thing as you!!

It is good to see Clark say that - its suppose to be a privlege to play for your country - not an entitlement

162 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kennedmc View Post
    Jaysus Fox you are a glass half empty kind of person

I am pretty sure Yard of Pace means the same thing as you!!

It is good to see Clark say that - its suppose to be a privlege to play for your country - not an entitlement
    Ah my sarcasm meter is on by default.

Page 18 of 74 FirstFirst ... 816171819202868 ... LastLast