621 Posts

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Stutts missed a sitter there.

ha ha took a while for me to get that one.

"ballooned into row Z"

2,693 Posts
    Happens to the best of us

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    really did wilson play well in the DM role, did they line up with a 3-5-2?
    Wilson's been playing at right back for Stoke recently, in our rigid 4-4-2 formation. Whelan/Whitehead and Delap have been starting in centre midfield. Higginbotham's injured now though, so I'm not sure how Pulis will juggle the back line. Probably keep Shawcross and Huth in the centre, and either bring in Danny Collins as a direct replacement, or bring in Wilkinson on the right, and switch Wilson to the left.

Wherever he plays, it's good to see him starting.

I never thought wilson was that fast the few times ive seen him, as a full back how has he been performing?

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I never thought wilson was that fast the few times ive seen him, as a full back how has he been performing?

He's been doing okay. He's solid enough at the back (although he had one suicidal moment against Newcastle, where he gave the ball away when trying to skin their left winger). He makes good tackles, and plays simple passes very well. The way Stoke play, we don't rely on overlapping full backs, so he's not really called upon to use his pace that much. It's either a punt up to Carew, Walters or Jones, or try and get it to Pennant, either directly, or through the centre of midfield.

285 Posts
    Great goal from Walters. Strike from outside the box after a run from midfield.
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 17/04/2011 at 4:37 PM.
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

Got to be pushing hard for first choice, he's having an incredible season by now and looks like he has a lot more to his game than Best, more goals by now too? Would love to see him play alongside Long...

285 Posts
    Walters gets his second. Fair play. What a man!

''A goal is scored by Jonathan Walters from inside the six-yard box low into the middle of the goal. Bolton 0-5 Stoke.''
    Last edited by TrapAPony; 17/04/2011 at 4:46 PM.

473 Posts
    Great finish for the second. It was a very tight angle, and he fired it above the keeper into the far side of the net. The first one was a cracker. Whelan and Delap both had great games as well. And seeing as he's now apparently Irish, Pennant was brilliant too. Wilson didn't have too much to do, but seeing as I didn't notice Bolton's right winger once, he must have been doing a fairly good job keeping him in his pocket.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    First goal was a great individual effort, started in his own half, just ran at the defence, checked and fired in a great shot from distance.
    Probably not Bolton's best performance.

285 Posts
    Scored the 3rd goal for Stoke v Arsenal. Good player. Wilson, Whelan, Delap all played very well and if Pennant can prove that he has an Irish grandfather he would be a very useful option to have.

3,308 Posts
    Hit the crossbar in the first half too

130 Posts
    Whelan, Delap, Walters and Wilson should all start the FA cup final next week. Long time since we'll have had that many starters in a cup final.

2,693 Posts
    Hopefully we'll have 11 in 2012.

Walters is a proper player these days. Well done that man, and well done to Pulis. Not only is he building a good, well-balanced side that belittles their physical tag, I think he's good at getting the best out of players and building characters. Both Walters & Pennant, for example, have had their trials & tribulations in the past but Pulis seems to know how to get them to cop on & play to potential. Stoke is a good place for Wilson to be establishing himself, and Whelan seems to have secured his spot in the last few weeks. FA Cup finals don't mean as much to me these days, but I won't miss this one.

1,813 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Hopefully we'll have 11 in 2012.

Walters is a proper player these days. Well done that man, and well done to Pulis. Not only is he building a good, well-balanced side that belittles their physical tag, I think he's good at getting the best out of players and building characters. Both Walters & Pennant, for example, have had their trials & tribulations in the past but Pulis seems to know how to get them to cop on & play to potential. Stoke is a good place for Wilson to be establishing himself, and Whelan seems to have secured his spot in the last few weeks. FA Cup finals don't mean as much to me these days, but I won't miss this one.

The gradual progression of this Stoke team over the last 3 years is quite something and the improvements to some of the players that have been made is nothing short of astounding. Walters is the biggest and most obvious beneficiary of what's going on there. He was absolutely brilliant today. Stoke will be really a team to watch next season.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

214 Posts
    Come on Irish Stoke! I hope they batter Man City in the final. Walters is bang in form which is great news for us with the Macedonia game coming up.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

48 Posts
    Interesting that Walters and Best are both the top scoring Irish players in the Premier League with 6 goals each. Good to see them both do well enough, but bad in terms of Irish goalscoring.

Page 6 of 33 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast