Lads, I've no problem with debate but could ye try to sound more professional than the Dail?
I've travelled by rail in the UK. The main service I used was operated by Connex, who were terrible and lost their contract because of it. Their replacement is grand, can't complain but wouldn't praise. It was a city to suburban route though, so it's probably not the best representative. I've travelled to Kent too, the service was dire, didn't actually make it there the first day and barely made it the second. It was weather, which is fair enough, but the communications were absolutely terrible.
As has already been pointed out in this thread, if it'll work at all, privatisation will only work on the busy routes, and those outside the busy routes are marginalised. In Ireland, where people have moved out of the cities and will have to continue to do so, that's not good. In addition, although the modernisation of transport in public hands has been dire - I mean seriously, have you seen Dublin's idea of integrated ticketing? - privatisation will only improve this in the short term. If at all, if we're to use records on things like bikes for advertising as an example.
I have one last word on this subject: Railtrack