Thread: Roddy Collins. A question for Bohs fans

84 Posts

Roddy Collins. A question for Bohs fans

In the light of Noel King's resignation from Finn Harps and Roddy Collins seeming to be the hot prospect to replace him.

I would just like a honest opion of the fellow as not many seem to have a good word about him

Up the Harps
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

The man is a Bohs legend and gave us our greatest season in living memory

He's a proven winner in this league and will bring Finn Harps further than many could imagine should he take over.

If you look beyond all the hype and publicity, you are left with one hell of a manager.

I'd have him back at Bohs in an instant

He may be a bit of a waffler and a bit of a **** stirrer, but he's still a legend and was one hell of a manager at Bohs.

Deboez Online - The Unofficial Home of Bohemian FC - http://www.deboez.ipfox.com

Hah. He's a bag of ****e. More trouble than he's worth. And he didn't give Bohs their greatest ever season. The players did.

Now, his brother. Different story.

Neish, it won't be Roddy Collins, he openly admitts that he'll dump what ever EL side he's managing if a position in any of the lower division in the UK becomes available!I don't think the Board will be going for him after Mr King's travel sickness!
    BTW what the Hell was King doing at an under 21 match in Ballybofey last night? He hadn't the time to do it when he was being paid to be there!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by corkharps
    BTW what the Hell was King doing at an under 21 match in Ballybofey last night? He hadn't the time to do it when he was being paid to be there!
    Scouting for when he's in his next job, I reckon (at Pats?).

King has a job at the FAI

I could never see him at pats

Quote Originally Posted by gypsydownunder
    And he didn't give Bohs their greatest ever season. The players did.
    And who signed and managed those players

Quote Originally Posted by Carlin
    And who signed and managed those players
    fair play to him but he came out and slagged the club off and he is still saying he would prefer to mange in scotland and england as he wants to better himself.

finn harps should say no cause roddy will last just as long as dublin city in the premiership.
    ha ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa did you just say rovers can play football ha ha ha ha haaaaaaaaaa

Quote Originally Posted by southside bohs
    finn harps should say no cause roddy will last just as long as dublin city in the premiership.
    To be honest ... that is exactly how i feel, if Roddy thinks the league isn't good enough for him to show how good he is then that is fine .... you know, there might even be some truth in it, but to try and use it as a spring board to a better place is just arrogant and no club with any progressive metality should dream of taking him on.

I dont think that fly on the wall "Roddy does Carisle" thing did him any favours .... maybe if he was pushing to get out of that division, fair enough .... but they were struggling and that program higlighted it. He didn't "succeed" there and now he has his tail between his legs.

It is his exact attitude towards the league that we need to get away from i think. While he might be great for a season of two, he is not good in the long run.

If Roddy got the job at Harps he'll either bring yis a bit of success OR run yis into the ground totally and then leave ye in the lurch!!!

I think he would be good on a short term basis but I think his managerial methods have a short shelf-life .. great at the 'backs against the wall' stuff but after a great start with Bohs things went stale. Carlisle was not exactly a success after either.

Still landed a double for Bohs - and you can't argue with that

Whatever it was I am sure it was better than my plan to get out of this by pretending to be mad. I mean, who would have noticed another madman around here?

Quote Originally Posted by Aface
    if Roddy thinks the league isn't good enough for him to show how good he is then that is fine
    He obviously thought enough of the standard of the Eircom League to bring players like Foran,Trevor Molloy,McShelley over to Carlisle
    <insert witty remark>

apparently roody collins will be st.pats manager by the end of the week....eamonn collins is to "stand down" as manager

Quote Originally Posted by Larry 'da' Wyse
    but after a great start with Bohs things went stale. Carlisle was not exactly a success after either.

Carlisle; true but difficult circumstances

Bohs; stale ??? After winning the double he was gone without managing in another game.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

84 Posts

Rumors

Yeah I've heard rumors that Roddy Collins has ben scratched off.

Jimmy McGeough, Harry McCue, are the top of the list from what I've heard and ex harps men Paul McGee and Paul Hegarty have also been linked with the job
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

Quote Originally Posted by Citygirl
    apparently roody collins will be st.pats manager by the end of the week....eamonn collins is to "stand down" as manager

ok ive gotten one bit right so far...lets see who will take over...i think im psychic! hee hee...

roddy

roddy is one hell of a manager, i just dont understand why some bohs fans dont give him the respect he should have earned by now and definately deserves.

i'd like to see him in charge of bohs again, cos i think stephen kenny is a s.,hi.t manager and a fann.y merchant ( but thays another days work).