Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: EA Sports Cup Final September 25 2010

Official Representative

EA Sports Cup Final September 25 2010

For anyone wanting to come cheer us on.....Cup Final Tickets are now on sale at Monaghan United's club house. To book your tickets or for further information ring 047 84798 or 087 2544682. There are a limited amount of tickets available for the Monaghan section so please book your ticket NOW!

Adult €15 Child u16 €5

Buses are also going from Gortakeegan so if you are interested in traveling with the Mons book a seat on the bus too!
    Last edited by Monaghan United FC; 15/09/2010 at 11:04 PM. Reason: Doh!

This match will also be shown Live from 5.00pm on Setanta Ireland.

138 Posts
    Will there be many Mons fans at this?

85 Posts
    Is the game on in Sligo?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    Will there be many Mons fans at this?
    they are postponing the local junior league games for that weekend.. latest figure is around 800 monaghan fans are coming down which is at least three times their average home gate of 250!

537 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Is the game on in Sligo?

yes holidaysong

We were given 500 tickets and I believe they are almost sold so should be a good crowd. Can't wait.

363 Posts
    Good luck to Mons in this, I`m sure Sligo would take the FAI Cup over this anyday, besides its always nice for a club to be going for their first ever senior trophy.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

44 Posts
    Great to see Monaghan bringing such a big crowd.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

138 Posts
    Fair play to Monaghan for selling out their tickets.
    They have been slogging it out for years the hard way and nights like this are the just rewards.

387 Posts
    Paul Collins on Today FM this morning was going on about how the FAI have said that the 2 teams will be deducted the cost of the winners and runners-up medals out the gate receipts. Can't see an article on it anywhere yet.

Deducting the cost of the medals is outrageous. I wonder would the FAI do that if it was a Bohs-Rovers final? It's amazing considering Delaney is on 400,000 as chief executive and he is asking clubs during a very lean period to pay for the very least they deserve. Really shows the contempt the FAI have for the LOI.
    'And Crouch must score'

According to the FAI this is a regular thing for teams to have to pay for their own medals. The teams also pay for Stewarding, Referees fees and expenses, tickets, match programmes, posters, bus hire for FAI officials and staff, promotion, a generator and portaloos.

Surely the idea of getting to a Final should be that all that kind of thing is covered. What does EA's sponsorhip cover?
    Last edited by Jofspring; 23/09/2010 at 8:49 AM.

I think most neutrals will want Mons to win it. A club built with solid foundations in a long process. A lot of hard work gone in and now reaping the rewards. Plus the underdog factor.

Hope ye win it and it sparks an increased, if even slightly, interest in your games in the area.

Also hope the players go on the **** for weeks after wards and ye lose to us in the Cross as a result

Good luck and enjoy it!

19. Thanks From:

22 Posts
    once they dont have to cover the FAI bar tab they will be getting away light.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Paul Collins on Today FM this morning was going on about how the FAI have said that the 2 teams will be deducted the cost of the winners and runners-up medals out the gate receipts. Can't see an article on it anywhere yet.
    Its on the back of todays Star. The FAI really are a joke.

Ah for the love of God...Cancel the competition if things are that bad ffs.

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Ah for the love of God...Cancel the competition if things are that bad ffs.
    I wouldnt let any FAI officials at the game, refuse them entry they are a joke and its about time Delaney and his pals were put in their place.

123 Posts
    just read the article jesus sake are they that badly off maybe we should organise a wipe round at half time for the FAI . Do EA not sponsor this event or is that going to feed the beast in ballsbridge as well
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

2,629 Posts
    here is the article from the Mail...

WHAT A RIP-OFF
    Finalists' fury as FAI make them stump up for their own medals
    by PHILIP QUINN

IRISH soccer is in such a parlous financial state that the teams in Saturday's EA Sports Cup final have been told they must pay for their own medals.

Sligo Rovers and Monaghan United, who meet in The Showgrounds, must cough up for 36 medals — 18 for each side — and also the man-of-the-match trophy in the FAI's third-biggest competition.

The clubs were sent an email from the FAI on Tuesday of a lengthy match-day expense list.

The finalists are allowed to split the gate receipts but they also share the match-day expenses. These involve standard items such as providing Gardaí, stewarding, security and first aid at the ground, plus the fees and expenses of the match officials.

But they have also been asked to cover overnight accommodation and dinner for FAI officials, a prematch meal in a Sligo hotel for and coach transfer to the game, and catering at the ground for 6 .

Other 'extras' include paying for the printing of posters, programmes, promotions costs, advertising,a PA announcer, signage and, most importantly, Portaloos.

The FAI say that this has has happened before but clubs contacted yesterday could not recall that being the case.

Sligo and Monaghan are hoping the final generates enough cash to cover the extras. early 3, tickets have been sold, so the game could generate receipts of around , . But both clubs fear there may be little left in the kitty after their expenses are tallied up.

The FAI said last night that the match-day arrangements for the final are 'not different to previous years'.

'The League department runs the match and pays for all the costs which are kept to an absolute minimum. The remaining gate is divided equally between both clubs on top of separate prize money that they both receive,' said an FAI spokesman.

The EA Sports Cup is worth 1 , to the winner and , to the runners-up. In 6, winners erry City received 1 , .

While the knockout tournament is his immediate focus, Sligo manager Paul Cook is astonished at the FAI's decision to ask Sligo's supporters to travel to Dublin on the night of Friday, October 1 for their FAI Cup semi-final against Bohemians.

Cook cannot understand why the tie with was not fixed for the following Saturday or Sunday evening, which would facilitate fans travelling from the north-west.

Instead Shamrock Rovers and St Pat's will play in Tallaght Stadium on Sunday, October 1 , even though they could easily play on the Friday night without any travel issues for fans.

'How could we want to play on Friday night at . ' he asked. 'This will affect our travelling numbers. We took the guts of 8, people to Talaght last year for the FAI Cup final on what was probably the worst day for weather we had in ages.

'So we could comfortably take big support to Dublin on Saturday or Sunday with coaches leaving in the morning and people not being asked to take time off work.

'We want every supporter we can get to go to Dalymount because we want to try to have more fans there than Bohs.

'And on a Saturday afternoon I am convinced we might have that. And that would only benefit the League. Now we will be lucky to take people.

'Asking our fans in the middle of a recession to take time off work and travel up to Dublin on a Friday night doesn't seem right. I don't think we have been treated fairly in this.'

Cook is in favour of reversing the FAI Cup semi-final dates.

'Let's just swap the fixtures, we'll happily do that,' he said.

'We get on well with the other clubs and we are not trying to get a leg up on anybody. We have just had to play a rearranged fixture before the League Cup final and we just got on with it.'

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast