122 Posts
    Great save by Sava there a few minutes ago

433 Posts
    Commentary team are awful
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

363 Posts
    Cheers dunny, have that on now, would never have known about the link, kids as usual have cartoons on aky, so main tv not free !!

Ps great to see the showgrounds packed
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

Quote Originally Posted by northwestexile View Post
    Has anybody got a link to watch this?
    Quality is a bit dodge but better than nothing.

FAI thing reminds me of Blackpool refusing to pay 15.50 apiece for post-match lasagnas at Chelsea last week. You'd think the FAI would just subtract the costs from the prize money but you just know they'll always find a way to make themselves look stupid.

999 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    You'd think the FAI would just subtract the costs from the prize money but you just know they'll always find a way to make themselves look stupid.
    This is what I was thinking too. You factor in all the costs, then subtract them from the prize money, and the new amount is what is broadcast as the prize money. I wouldn't be surprised if the clubs pay for their medals every year, just it was managed better than this year.

999 Posts
    Sligwegians win 1-0.

From what I saw on the webstream, they were well worth it, but well done to Monaghan for getting to the final while also topping the first division.

433 Posts
    Chin up Magicme et al, Promotion should be number 1 target.
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

congrats sligo, they deserve it for what they are doing up there, hard luck mons, still a great achievement in getting to the final!! and for the first time in a few years the final was a decent game and not totally one sided!!

That Monaghan goalkeeper is fantastic. Does he have an Irish granny?

is there a euro place for the final?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sean r View Post
    is there a euro place for the final?
    Don't think so i think its a place in Setanta Cup? Could be wrong.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Don't think so i think its a place in Setanta Cup? Could be wrong.
    Yeah you're spot on, Wouldn't mind seeing the league cup scrapped for an All-Ireland knock out competitions, 1 less meaningless competition to play in
    Here on a technicality.

As a Sligoman I very proud of my Club this evening. But I have to say how proud of Irish football I am when Monaghan came down and played REAL football. Mick Cooke should be really proud of his team and himself after tonight. The Mons will hold their own next season in the top flight without doubt and I look forward to them coming the Showgies again as !st Div. Champions. Tonight was a good night for Irish football with no overpaid prima donnas involved.

70 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Yeah you're spot on, Wouldn't mind seeing the league cup scrapped for an All-Ireland knock out competitions, 1 less meaningless competition to play in
    Just like the league.
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

meaningless competition to play in

Of course it's meaningless when Shams do'nt win it!

123 Posts
    wel said that man great night for football sorry have to stop typing ****ed as a fai official at a feebee
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

After years of watching us play the worst football known to mankind to see our lads out there in the League Cup Final was my proudest mons moment. To a man, they gave their all. My heart is broken that it wasnt enough but I now know that someday it will be. They are the best team we have ever had. Sligo fans, congrats. A tear came to my eye when your fans outside Mooneys applauded our bus leaving and we have utmost respect for you all.

I have just left the clubhouse after celebrating like we won. Sava is in my bed while I sleep on the sofa such is the nite we just had. Our lads believe, we believe and nothing is gonna change how proud we are to have these boys pull on our shirt each week.

C'mon the Mons. :-)

19. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Sava is in my bed
    After the scandal breaks, can we have him?

Anyway, fair play United. Look forward to having you in the Showgies next season.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    After the scandal breaks, can we have him?

Anyway, fair play United. Look forward to having you in the Showgies next season.
    Ha ha was joking. No.:-)

Hope we are there.

387 Posts
    Monaghan were a credit to themselves on and off the pitch I must say. After seeing that I hope even more that they win Division 1

As for the game itself it would have been nice if we could have gotten a second goal to ease the nerves but Rovers never do things easy. Very easy game on the eye. There was hardly a bad tackle in the whole game.

Was ready to swing for that fella on the P.A. when he was asking people to stay off the pitch and going on about the trophy presentation when there was still 3 minutes of added time to play

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast