Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Intermediate Cup 2010/2011

If any of us heard that the Hall and Youghal were playing intermediate cup last 16 games today and one of them lost 3-0 and the other one won 3-0 I think we would all be forgiven for making the mistake of saying that Youghal must have lost. WELL DONE YOUGHAL but comiserations to the Hall. I dont believe they are 3 goals worse than anyone in this country but you need luck in the Intermediate cup and most of all you need to take chances when you get them (penalty). The Hall have Avondale on Thurs which should be interesting. Youghal, Rockmount, Midleton and Avondale left...................bring it home one of ye!

I went to Avondale and Corithians today I was very dissapointed with Corithians their fittness levels were atrocious against a very ordinary Avondale outfit.

All my predictions are going out the window this Hall team were my dream MSL team and after over 10 years watching the MSL I deserved too watch a team like this,I told anyone who would listen go watch Hall this season they will clean up alas my dreams were shattered I kept telling myself that Rockmount was just a blip that they would bounce back but no no the Hall of old has returned and took my credability and my joy.I can hear the rest of my forum collegues scorn ringing in my ears, we told you Goggs we told you Goggs............................................

Quote Originally Posted by Goggs View Post
    All my predictions are going out the window this Hall team were my dream MSL team and after over 10 years watching the MSL I deserved too watch a team like this,I told anyone who would listen go watch Hall this season they will clean up alas my dreams were shattered I kept telling myself that Rockmount was just a blip that they would bounce back but no no the Hall of old has returned and took my credability and my joy.I can hear the rest of my forum collegues scorn ringing in my ears, we told you Goggs we told you Goggs............................................
    Fair play Goggs! It takes a big man to admit defeat! But with a healthy lead in the league they should still go on and win it. SHOULD???

144 Posts
    Revised Draw

Quarter Final Draw

Bluebell Utd v Avondale Utd
    Cherry Orchard v Belgrove
    Sacred Heart FC v Youghal Utd
    Midleton FC v Rockmount / Crumlin Utd

Ties to be played week ending March 6th 2011
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Reznik View Post
    Fair play Goggs! It takes a big man to admit defeat! But with a healthy lead in the league they should still go on and win it. SHOULD???
    After doing the hard work in Dublin they SHOULD have done the business today as well. Long way to go yet.. Being beaten 3 nil at home in cup could set them back a bit...

Quote Originally Posted by Glenbuck View Post
    After doing the hard work in Dublin they SHOULD have done the business today as well. Long way to go yet.. Being beaten 3 nil at home in cup could set them back a bit...
    I remember a couple of months ago suggesting on this very forum that we will not see the true depth of douglas until they go through a bad spell. It looks like it is certainly ''squeaky bum time''...

I went to Avondale and Corithians today I was very dissapointed with Corithians their fittness levels were atrocious against a very ordinary Avondale outfit.
    I was at the game also and i have to agree with your statement about corinthians level of fitness but disagree about avondales performance. They never used the extra man. Avondale looked like the team with the extra man. They also lost arguably their best player after ten mins. To keep a clean sheet and limit a strong corinthians team to just one chance where beezer shot wide 5 yards out with an open goal was very commendable. Spratty scored for the avondale with about 20 mins left. A shot from Colin P O'Brien was blocked down and broke nicely for Spratty who showed great technique to shoot a looping ball over the corinthians keeper. After that corinthians tried to break avondale down but created nothing while avondale broke on the counter attack and could of should of added to their lead. Corinthians Ron Stanton was sent off with 5 mins left for a late and nasty challenge on avondales Doody. Overall the better and fitter team won.

In fairness avondale were down to ten men after ten minutes goggs.

Ah lads come on Corithians looked every bit their first division status unfit and poorly managed a schoolboy manager would have seen the gaping holes Avondale left on either flanks which were never exploited their tempo was one paced and they played their football in all the wrong areas at one stage I wanted to go over to their bench and ask who's the brains behind this outfit but yet again Mrs Goggs talked me round.If Avondale were down to 8 men they still would have beaten them so please please lads lets not be delusional,I expect more from you Billynomates and Avondalenutter i hope paitrisuim is clouding your judgement.
    Last edited by Goggs; 14/02/2011 at 4:12 PM.

I was at the game as well and I would more or less agree with your verdict on it Goggs. There was no tactical awareness what so ever from the Corinthians management. I think everyone watching would agree with that. It was a big step up in standard for them. I thought they looked a lot more organised in the first game in their place. But then again our lads have the experience to see games like that out without being stylish. As for their fitness I am not too sure what you mean? There were a few players out there who didn’t look too sharp on their feet but nothing that would stand out.

Quote Originally Posted by BalagueFC View Post
    I was at the game as well and I would more or less agree with your verdict on it Goggs. There was no tactical awareness what so ever from the Corinthians management. I think everyone watching would agree with that. It was a big step up in standard for them. I thought they looked a lot more organised in the first game in their place. But then again our lads have the experience to see games like that out without being stylish. As for their fitness I am not too sure what you mean? There were a few players out there who didn’t look too sharp on their feet but nothing that would stand out.
    I was referring to Corithians fitness.

So was I, maybe they were less fit than our lads but not too bad

I wish you had of come up and offered your advice to the management Goggs but I suppose its easy to be brave on a forum under a different name!!!!!!
    All in all the better team won and played with 10 men excellently and I think the small pitch and conditions suited the way they play and best of luck to Avondale I hope ye go on and win the cup again, I have to disagree with our fitness levels and I would say the last 3 teams we played would say the same(Marys, D Hall and Avondale) we were without 3 of our starting 11 from our previous hgame and i think we really missed them from our squad.

Goggs feel free to come up training Tuesday night and fill us all in on your tactical know how!!!!

I think what Goggs was saying was that maybe your management should of changed it around a little as we were so comfortable with the 10 men and it wasn’t really effecting us. But then again I’m sure your management know the players and the positions they can play in so I wouldn’t try and undermine them. To be honest I saw both games and couldn’t really see much wrong with your lads fitness levels. Seemed ok to me. Then again I am two stone overweight myself. I thought over the two games you did quite well and have a decent young squad there. Best of luck with the rest of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by collcorforever View Post
    I wish you had of come up and offered your advice to the management Goggs but I suppose its easy to be brave on a forum under a different name!!!!!!
    All in all the better team won and played with 10 men excellently and I think the small pitch and conditions suited the way they play and best of luck to Avondale I hope ye go on and win the cup again, I have to disagree with our fitness levels and I would say the last 3 teams we played would say the same(Marys, D Hall and Avondale) we were without 3 of our starting 11 from our previous hgame and i think we really missed them from our squad.

Goggs feel free to come up training Tuesday night and fill us all in on your tactical know how!!!!
    A forum is where you offer your honest opinions collcorforever and unfortunitly for you.You have taken it to heart a four year old child would have more tactical savie than your management team the other day ive seen buses turn quicker than Avondales center halfs not once did ye try to stretch them and more the game went on the easier it got for them ye were blowing so hard through your holes I had to do a recount to see which had the man sent off. Corinthians is suppose to be a leading light in cork football with the set up and the structure its a pity ye d'ont school your coaches and ye might have the complete package or are ye too arogant to do this by the sounds of your last post everything is hunkey dorey so best of luck competing in the lower leagues for years to come.

Quote Originally Posted by collcorforever View Post

Now that would require more than one nights training for you guys to understand.First I would have to explain what width is then I would have to explain what overlapping means then we could move on to switching your point of attack quickly rather than taking 12 passes to do it.Then I could explain too you guys the differance between keeping possession when your losing opposed to when your a goal down.Now Collcorforever that's only a snipit of what ye should be working on and you can't do any of that if your not fit.

A forum is where you offer your honest opinions collcorforever and unfortunitly for you.You have taken it to heart a four year old child would have more tactical savie than your management team the other day ive seen buses turn quicker than Avondales center halfs not once did ye try to stretch them and more the game went on the easier it got for them ye were blowing so hard through your holes I had to do a recount to see which had the man sent off. Corinthians is suppose to be a leading light in cork football with the set up and the structure its a pity ye d'ont school your coaches and ye might have the complete package or are ye too arogant to do this by the sounds of your last post everything is hunkey dorey so best of luck competing in the lower leagues for years to come.
    Ok, in one sense I would agree with Goggs on the managements lack of vision in this particular game. His point is valid about using the width. On the other hand, Avondale park is very small which begs the question, would they have got anymore change from it really?? Singling out Corinthians management in this particular game is justified in terms of criticism of tactics against the ten men. Insulting them lacks a bit of taste though. I'm sure they must have set out a gameplan and just didnt want to vere off course with it. Rockmount did it two years ago when avondale were down to 9 men and came away with a nil nil draw. Does that make Billy Cronin a bad manager? I think not! If a man has an opinion he has an opinion and everyone on this forum would admire someone who looks at the game with what would seem to be some degree tactical savvy. I'd give the managment staff the benefit of the doubt as I can only assume the manager weighed up his options with what players he had at his disposal and thought, we dont have the right men to get down the flanks and cause problems?? apparently they were missing three regulars and maybe the players they had weren't quite up to it. A lot of senior league teams change their formation to suit their personnel, Avondale being no different.

On the topic of fitness, again I agree with Goggs, even in the first game, Corinthians players were coming off the pitch at half time with their tops off gasping for breath. I would blame the management here as well as the players. If you're going to play premier division, individuals have got to do some of your own training aswell as the teams if you want to win things.

As I posted previously on the topic of teams rebuilding after packing their team full with outsiders and achieving success in past years I'm going to bring the topic up again. Corinthians are a prime example, ( i won't delve into payments of players at the time) They seem to have a young side now though and will be hoping to rebuild in the coming years. They will take a lot from the two games, we all have to learn the hard way at some point in how to grind out games in the winter conditions in the munster senior league. I for one would welcome their pitches in the premier division. I hope blarney haven't gone down the road of relegation either due to an influx of outsiders. Hopefully they have to quote a bluffer "turned the corner"
    Last edited by j-burt; 15/02/2011 at 11:09 AM.

Went to the 'Hall v Belgrove game last Sunday, looks like Douglas Hall had one of those days and Belgrove played excellent, a good cup preformance,
    However I read last nights report in the Echo and no mention of what Ball Hop described as "great attempt hit bar/post", 1 down, when a screamer hits the bar and bounces away, a turning point ?, a few mins later Belgorve hit their second quickly followed by their third, game over !, if that shot went in things may/may not have been different but it definelty merited a mention in the report

Ah lads come on Corithians looked every bit their first division status unfit and poorly managed a schoolboy manager would have seen the gaping holes Avondale left on either flanks which were never exploited their tempo was one paced and they played their football in all the wrong areas at one stage I wanted to go over to their bench and ask who's the brains behind this outfit but yet again Mrs Goggs talked me round.If Avondale were down to 8 men they still would have beaten them so please please lads lets not be delusional,I expect more from you Billynomates and Avondalenutter i hope paitrisuim is clouding your judgement.
    Avondale Played 80 minutes with 10 men. Came away with the win and a place in the quarter final. Fair play to them.

Expect more from me goggs??? Avondale went out to win and they did so without playing particularly well but thats the signs of a good team that they can play poorly but yet still come away with the win.

Lets move on goggs.. Case Closed

Page 8 of 15 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast