Thread: Taoiseach denies being hungover on radio interview

574 Posts

Taoiseach denies being hungover during radio interview

http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0914/fiannafail.html

Yae or Nae? (...or do you care)
    Last edited by The Fly; 14/09/2010 at 10:55 AM.

3,215 Posts
    100% don't care. Science ministers promoting creationism is far more of a news story. It'd be typical of the country if a story about drink (how dare he!) were to overshadow it.

60 Posts
    He sounded like a man who had been on the razz late into the night and had about an hours sleep. He was definitely slurring his words, as though the effects of the drink hadn't left his system. He is a moron to agree to do an interview in such a state. I don't begrudge any man having a few pints, but to address the nation in such a state in his position is scandalous.
    Always look on the bright side of life

anyone got a link to the interview

203 Posts
    Hungover? That's an improvement!

Seriously though, I think it's very much a non-story. He sounded like every other floundering politician lacking rhetorical skill. In my opinion, whether he was drunk or hungover or just had a sleepless night is irrelevant and the public should be much more concerned with the genuine issues facing them.

899 Posts
    Just listening to Radio 1... The FFers are coming out to bat for Biffo. Prize for best excuse goes to Tony Killeen, whose contribution makes it clear why he's the Defense minister....

'Twas a bad interview because it took place in the hotel dining room during breakfast and the poor Taoiseach got distracted by the noise and comings and goings.

Obviously, it's not budget cuts but breakfast cutlery that make Biffo break out in a sweat...

65 Posts
    Complete non-story, any chance either the media or politicans can give us some idea of just how fecked we will be after the budget instead. It would be nice to know if there is anything we can do to soften the blow.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

I'm not sure it is a non-story - it shows poor judgement to agree to do the interview, and then be late and be slurring you words. On Morning Ireland. The most damning part for me wasn't the mistake about the Croke Park Agreement, but the state of the laugh after making it.

Even if it is being overblown, then anything that has the potential to get them out can only be a good thing for the state. It would be typical if it was being hungover that brought them down, rather than what they've done to the economy.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Im waiting for the you tube parodies........

82 Posts
    Surely just an extension of a wider rumour thats being doing the rounds literally since the day he took over office?

145 Posts
    People dismissing this as a non-story are missing the point of the story

There has been speculation for a few years now that Cowen aswell as Mary Harney like to have a few drinks

Today's interview was a vivid snapshot of that

This from the same man who when he was Minister for Finance did not notice that this country had a blatant property bubble and banking crisis on his hands

From the same man who under his leadership has spectacularly failed to tackle a banking, economic and fiscal crisis that is getting worse after 2 years and is likely to bankrupt the state in some form

The man isn't fit to run an off-licence let alone a country......
    Last edited by total hoofball; 14/09/2010 at 1:24 PM. Reason: typo
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Royal rover View Post
    anyone got a link to the interview

what a picture
    Havin a weekend away is quite frankly,lettin ur team mates down!

145 Posts

Do you want a man like this leading your country when it's on its knees?
    The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians

203 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    People dismissing this as a non-story are missing the point of the story
    What is the point of the story then? That he's not fit to run the country? We don't need a speculative story suggesting that he may have been hungover to tell us that. Non-story.

398 Posts
    No show like a Joe show! Such nonsense from everyone - nobody has ever done anything bad, or else "ah sure, it's just how it is". I think there'll be a position for a new press officer with FF!!!

I remember back in 1992 being down in a pub in Clara and the man himself coming in well after hours and having more than a few scoops. If I were Taosieach I think I'd be onto the absinthe or head to Switzerland for a dose of euthanasia!

999 Posts
    He sounds like he has a cold, and he's unwilling to commit to a specific number on budget cuts. Words slurred at times, but unless you'd told me he was hungover, I don't think I'd have reached that conclusion that he was hungover. I'd have said he was tired and had a cold. And even if he was hungover, my initial reaction is, 'so what?'

If I wanted to criticise something, I'd focus on his lack of clarity on pretty much anything he talked about (which is pretty much what Noonan said).

3,215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Do you want a man like this leading your country when it's on its knees?
    Have you got an actual point? Shock as Irish person may have had a drink or two. So what? That of itself certainly doesn't indicate his fitness or oterwise for his job, which is how you've tried to portray it.

1,523 Posts
    Just listened to it.. he didn't sound that bad (in terms of drunkenness) to be honest, although the Good Friday Agreement bit was mad. More like a head cold than anything.

I still suspect he's been drunk for the past decade though.

The situation is hopeless - the inescapable truth is that no matter how much he or anyone drinks, he's still from Offaly.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

26. Thanks From:

It's nonsense - exact same thing was brought up this day last year: http://www.politics.ie/current-affai...pt-2009-a.html

The fact is that Cowen doesn't speak well. He's overweight and has big fat cheeks which make talking a laboured experience for him and as a result he'll always sound a bit drunk. He didn't sound any worse than usual to me today.

28. Thanks From: