Page 6 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast

Thread: 2011 Presidential Election

943 Posts
    You could add campaigning for the decriminalisation of homosexuality and preserving Georgian Dublin, and being an internationally regarded Joycean scholar.

I think people are more concerned about the flip side of the coin.

It's getting worse for Mr. Norris.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/arti...#ixzz1OXa4NJAT
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 07/06/2011 at 7:34 AM.

398 Posts
    Agreed on Georgian Dublin, though he was one of a larger group. The homosexuality issue was one where he proved that there was a general groundswell in support for changes in the law, though I always hesitate in commending in fully for it as there have been rumours of "outing" that seemed to put pressure on people. I say rumours as I have never seen anything substantiated and in cases such as this there is always idle gossip.

943 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hurt Locker View Post

The Daily Mail.... A thoroughly absorbing paper...

In fairness to her she's an able spokesperson, but her experiences are such that impartiality is impossible (and lest anyone think I'm having a go at her, I had three uncles who spent some years in in the similarly tender care of this state) and the Mail doesn't let bias get in the way of a juicy story.

I know some say there's no smoke without fire, but my mother had a saying for the delusional: "'twill be a grand fire when it lights," said the monkey pi55ing in the snow.

Until I hear the recorded interview, I'm keeping an open mind. The longer it goes on without hearing it, the more sceptical I become.

And there was me expecting the Mail to be fully behind Norris. Case closed, obviously.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts

As mentioned, the daily mail!!!!!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    If you read the article Norris explains most of his viewpoints quite well. There's an argument regarding sexual maturity and the age at which consent can be considered as key to a sexual encounter. The fact that the legal age of consent varies greatly from place to place gives legitimacy to the arguement. His defence of O'Searchaigh comes down to the fact that he was being subjected to a trial by media which had little reference to fact or legality. Norris may be guilty of speaking too freely for someone with ambitions to become president but, liberal, intellectual debate is very different to condoning child sexual abuse.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

So that's the sindo, indo, IT, BT, MoS who are anti Norris. I'm sure more can and will be added to the list.

People who don't understand where Mr Norris is coming from are Farmers from down the country, breakfast roll eaters, white van drivers and blocklayers.

Miss Buckley, 64, says she was left completely bewildered and betrayed by the man who had supported her in her quest for justice for the victims of clerical abuse.

You have got to ask yourself way?
    Far from an open and shut case!
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 07/06/2011 at 11:26 AM.

522 Posts
    ^^^ Is that a puzzle? Are we supposed to rearrange the words or something?

Quote Originally Posted by dahamsta View Post
    ^^^ Is that a puzzle? Are we supposed to rearrange the words or something?
    Sorry, something wrong with my netbook since I came back from France, i edited it, HTH.

943 Posts
    So that's the sindo, indo, IT, BT, MoS who are anti Norris. I'm sure more can and will be added to the list.

People who don't understand where Mr Norris is coming from are Farmers from down the country, breakfast roll eaters, white van drivers and blocklayers.

Miss Buckley, 64, says she was left completely bewildered and betrayed by the man who had supported her in her quest for justice for the victims of clerical abuse.

You have got to ask yourself way?
    Far from an open and shut case!
    With the exception of John Waters, who is involved in the issue and finding the anger now that he didn’t appear to have a decade ago to denounce Norris (speaks volumes for the moral courage of our columnists!) I think the IT editorial line has been to call for clarification, and not at all condemnatory. INM Sindo/Indo is notoriously contrarian, and generally takes a line in favour of the incumbent government as long as it is in its best interests to do so (expect columns lionising Pat Cox if he gets the FG nod) and the Mail is a rag masquerading as a mid-market tabloid. Your sources are seriously lacking in credibility and impartiality - you have got to ask yourself why?

If this was really going to have legs, it would have had them by now; the Sunday papers had a week to prepare exclusives and shock stories. Where were they? More to the point, where are the pol corr heavyweights, not the columnists and regular staffers, in all of this? The questions I’m asking are why HLB and John Waters only remembered this now, not before any of the Seanad campaigns Norris contested. And who jogged HLB’s memory in the first place?

Answer the question, why has Miss Buckley issues with Mr.Norris?

"experiences are such that impartiality is impossible" = Waffle, I would think the exact opposite.

If the local teacher or priest made Mr Norris comments I don't think it would blow over after a while.

943 Posts
    "experiences are such that impartiality is impossible" = Waffle, I would think the exact opposite.
    Hurt Locker - do you know what it means to hurt? Because I'll tell you: I don't. I can't begin to imagine it.

Do you want me to spell out the kind of experiences that she would have suffered? Or my uncles? FFS, we don't need to go into details about the rape and the beatings and the near starvation to understand that once you're exposed to that level of torture it takes an exceptional kind of person, a Mandela if you will, to move beyond it and become impartial. Do you think you have what it takes? I know I don't. My uncles were destroyed by it: their lives were dominated by alcoholism and despair and broken marriages, and a feeling that they had done wrong and deserved their punishment (for fecking apples and turnips to give to their mother, abandoned by a drunken husband in 1950s Holy Ireland). Can you believe that? For forty years Uncle R felt he deserved to be "touched" by a priest in a borstal. They have (had; one passed away last year in his early 60s) an inability to forgive the Church for what was done to them, and their views on these issues are coloured by their experiences. My point was that she has had similar issues, and while she may have made a better life for herself than other survivors of abuse, any right-minded person would conclude that she is less likely to have an impartial view of the Norris interview than people who have never been exposed to violence. It doesn't mean her view is wrong; it's just partial.

If the local teacher or priest made Mr Norris comments I don't think it would blow over after a while.
    Obviously it's different - He's not in a position of power or trust of children though, and he doesn't have a history of hiding/ facilitate abusers like the Church did (does?) in parishes and schools. Even if was president, he wouldn't have direct access to children, if the comments somehow make him a danger.

Hurt = physical damage to the body caused by violence, psychological suffering the death of somebody. Yes I know what hurt is. Don't be so condesending. Impartiality is the word you used.

I'm firmly with Miss Buckley on her comments.

Obvious some people can make comments and others can't. Can't see the lodgic in that!
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 07/06/2011 at 11:19 PM.

943 Posts
    Obvious some people can make comments and others can't. Can't see the lodgic in that!
    Nobody's preventing you from voicing your opinions (apart from your less than considered contribution that not unreasonably ended up in the Rubbish forum) although from a quick scan through this thread you seem to be marching to your own drum, with very few followers.

Pursuing the Norris thing now seems like flogging a dead horse. The media have lost interest in the story; new candidates are raising their heads above the parapet - Gay Mitchell is making interesting noises, Niall O'Dowd has been mentioned - and maybe the story needs to move on to new pastures.

Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Nobody's preventing you from voicing your opinions (apart from your less than considered contribution that not unreasonably ended up in the Rubbish forum) although from a quick scan through this thread you seem to be marching to your own drum, with very few followers.

Pursuing the Norris thing now seems like flogging a dead horse. The media have lost interest in the story; new candidates are raising their heads above the parapet - Gay Mitchell is making interesting noises, Niall O'Dowd has been mentioned - and maybe the story needs to move on to new pastures.
    Attack the post not the poster!

I'm not looking for followers.

Pat Cox is the man to watch, that's why he's the bookies favorite. It's FG's to lose now.

As for the "some people can make comments " reference, I was reffering to Norris v Teacher or Priest scenario.

I have no issues with Hamster giving me a warning, it was worth it.

As Mr. Norris knows when your explaining your losing!

Mr. Norris walked into his own selfmade sh1tstorm, get over it. It's basicly going to cost him, from a seemingly run away position.
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 08/06/2011 at 7:48 AM.

223 Posts
    Attack the post not the poster!

I'm not looking for followers.

Pat Cox is the man to watch, that's why he's the bookies favorite. It's FG's to lose now.

As Mr. Norris knows when your explaining your losing!

Mr. Norris walked into his own selfmade sh1tstorm, get over it. It's basicly going to cost him, from a seemingly run away position.
    As was explained earlier, Cox's political history makes it extremely unlikely he'd win FG's nomination, let alone become President - McGuinness could perform well, but still think it's between Higgins and Norris. As EG says, the story is running out of steam, any book on Ancient Greece or Greek mythology pretty much backs up what he intended to say, even if it was foolish to go off on an intellectual meandering.

Quote Originally Posted by culloty82 View Post
    As was explained earlier, Cox's political history makes it extremely unlikely he'd win FG's nomination, let alone become President - McGuinness could perform well, but still think it's between Higgins and Norris. As EG says, the story is running out of steam, any book on Ancient Greece or Greek mythology pretty much backs up what he intended to say, even if it was foolish to go off on an intellectual meandering.
    Cox applied to join the FG party in Cork last night. Why did FG MEP Sean Kelly withdraw?
    Last edited by Hurt Locker; 08/06/2011 at 8:16 AM.

Cox wouldn't bother joining FG, unless he was in with a real shout of the nomination, imo. There's enough credible candidates that have ruled themselves out in FG. Not sure what Gay Mitchell is thinking - maybe a gay candidate upset his base.

Page 6 of 24 FirstFirst ... 4567816 ... LastLast