john@shelstv.com

The mad scientist in me says "yes".

26 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    We were yet again done by the referee and his linesman their 2nd was clearly offside but the defence was a complete shambles tonight and that was all down to Tony Cousins complete lack of tactical knowledge..... wtf was deans playing rb for when victor was on the bench....deans was ripped to shreds all night.....Lester was deadly slow tonight ive got to say for once and the formation was all wrong weve gota try and win our home games.
    I think you'll find you were done over by your keeper, because the ref loved you lot on Saturday. Every sliding tackle by our players was deemed a yellow card offence (some clumsy challenges maybe, but that could have as much to do with the wet pitch as anything) but an equally clumsy challenge from your player on our keeper was apparantly not even worthy of a free out. The ref only stopped it when he saw the keeper down.

Quote Originally Posted by The Insider View Post
    Nice to see you're all heart. So called injury, eh he dislocated his shoulder. I'm not a medic but I'm sure that requires a good deal of attention there and then.
    And he got the 5 minutes attention. All that needs to be done is to make sure that there are no trapped nerves and then get the arem supported in a sling and off to hospitsal to reset it.
    ShelsTV.com | SSDG.ie | @shelstv | @shelsfc

john@shelstv.com

The mad scientist in me says "yes".

1,104 Posts
    Agree with you there actually the ref was handing ye yellow cards like they were going out of fashion. We don't usually receive favours from anyone it was very strange.

Quote Originally Posted by jafrazer View Post
    I think you'll find you were done over by your keeper, because the ref loved you lot on Saturday. Every sliding tackle by our players was deemed a yellow card offence (some clumsy challenges maybe, but that could have as much to do with the wet pitch as anything) but an equally clumsy challenge from your player on our keeper was apparantly not even worthy of a free out. The ref only stopped it when he saw the keeper down.

And he got the 5 minutes attention. All that needs to be done is to make sure that there are no trapped nerves and then get the arem supported in a sling and off to hospitsal to reset it.
    And that's what I was saying. He said it was a so called injury and I was trying to tell him he wasnt feigning, there was an injury that required attention, hence the hold-up.

861 Posts
    Ok I didn't know that when I first posted but he was down fir over 5 minutes only 3 and a half of the 4 given were played that's my point
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

44 Posts
    Ok I didn't know that when I first posted but he was down fir over 5 minutes only 3 and a half of the 4 given were played that's my point
    So the ref got it wrong by 30 seconds?

If there was 3 minutes to be added and a guy goes down injured for half an hour, there can only be a maximum of three minutes played once the game restarts..

861 Posts
    No it's a minium of 4 minutes that means he HAS to play 4 after that he can play another week it dosnt matter once he plays 4 but he didn't anyway that's not my main issue that matter is it was offside and we lost simple as that given it was all the officials fault we defientely didn't help our selves but the officials do their job as usual in flancare park

Eh 30 seconds wasn't going to make a difference. Offside or not, unless the flag is raised keep playing. That's what we did, didn't see many of the players raising their arm when Leech was through. We can blame officials all we like, I'm prone to telling them what I think but the same mistakes are killing us. Blaming officials seems to be an easy excuse.
    Last edited by The Insider; 14/09/2010 at 4:59 PM.

137 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Insider View Post
    Blaming officials seems to be an easy excuse.
    Fun, too!
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

861 Posts
    even in the video above matthews says cousins was very upset with the winning goal so it was offside end of.

but looking back on the footage above perhaps roach can count himself lucky that the shels player didnt make more of the head movement towards him cause had he gone down he may well have been sent off but bottom line offside town screwed again lets just move on to derry.

even in the video above matthews says cousins was very upset with the winning goal so it was offside end of.

but looking back on the footage above perhaps roach can count himself lucky that the shels player didnt make more of the head movement towards him cause had he gone down he may well have been sent off but bottom line offside town screwed again lets just move on to derry.
    I was saying the flag wasn't raised so therefore keep playing. We were caught out badly for both goals, Leech should not have been able to cut through like that. We were 1-0 up and couldn't defend that lead, we can't keep cleansheets and same problems seem to be the cause of the goals we conceded. Friday night is another big game for us, we are capable of getting performances but we can't keep making the same mistakes. End of for me!

861 Posts
    Right moving onto Saturday night anybody know what the story is with peter hynes is he injured or suspended or something or was his absence vs shels work related or even better has he left??

At the game i thought the 2nd was offside but that footage clearly shows he was no where near off side he just simply outpaced our back line, been honest the ref was very decent to us for a change. Can't blame the officials on this one, we were caught cold twice and paid for it.
    As for Friday I am very confident we can get a positive result based on what I saw on Saturday night.
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tallanted View Post
    At the game i thought the 2nd was offside but that footage clearly shows he was no where near off side he just simply outpaced our back line, been honest the ref was very decent to us for a change. Can't blame the officials on this one, we were caught cold twice and paid for it.
    As for Friday I am very confident we can get a positive result based on what I saw on Saturday night.
    I looked at the footage several times and he is offside only marginally but he is offside anyway we lost end of friday here we come.

When the ball gets to him he is marginally ahead of Byrne not when the ball is played, he's not offside no chance of it
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

861 Posts
    U can't see that in the footage I believed there and then it was offside and I still do know but arguing over it isn't going to get us points so let's just forget about it

622 Posts
    nothing but bickering around here lately..

Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    nothing but bickering around here lately..
    No it feckin isn't.

861 Posts
    Not bickering just friendly discussion

622 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    No it feckin isn't.
    ok 50% of bickering, blah blah reasonable arguent...

i meant the longford section in general