Thread: Matthews Return

861 Posts

Matthews Return

So Saturday night the messiah returns should be a good night but id be delighted with a point and a good performance to go with it have a felling hynes might score what the rest of ye reckon?
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    So Saturday night the messiah returns should be a good night but id be delighted with a point and a good performance to go with it have a felling hynes might score what the rest of ye reckon?
    I think a draw would be good too.. Not only but Alan Mathews will be back ex town greats Shay Kelly and "Jacko" Smyth are involved with Alan in the background staff too.. It will be good to see Jacko twice in two days!!

1,104 Posts
    Didn't know Shay was working with them, figured Jacko would be alright. It'll be good to see them all in Flancare again. Not expecting to get anything Alan has them motoring lately. A point would be great but a good performance is the starting point.

Yeah I fancy Shels tomorrow night, evens is a huge price on them. We're decent at home to be fair, but they're flying of late and Mathews has them on a charge to the play offs.

106 Posts
    matthews hardly the messiah now in fairness...

As said before hopefully we get a good performance and take it from there, 1-1 draw and i think we'd be happy..

205 Posts
    Would never call Matthews the Messiah. Never rated him as a manager, nor did I like the way he had the team set. Still our most successful manager though.
    Sporting F*ck All!

1,104 Posts
    Yeah would be rewriting history to call him the Messiah I personally rated him highly as a manager and his record whilst here was great but he wasn't perfect by any means. In fairness it's like some people call or called Kenny "God" they were managers who did well here and they should be well received when they come back, no more no less.

106 Posts
    One point aluded to above was the fact we've had very good managers before, and yes Mathews won the trophies, but no other manager had as much money (or talent) at his disposal while at the club. He already had a decent spine of a team when he signed, and although confidence was low after the play off, we always felt we were better than that. As ive said before i never rated him, I felt he was very naive tactically and had his favourites, regardless of their ability.

Quote Originally Posted by Cabs88 View Post
    One point aluded to above was the fact we've had very good managers before, and yes Mathews won the trophies, but no other manager had as much money (or talent) at his disposal while at the club. He already had a decent spine of a team when he signed, and although confidence was low after the play off, we always felt we were better than that. As ive said before i never rated him, I felt he was very naive tactically and had his favourites, regardless of their ability.
    Have to totally agree with that. His man management skills were questionable, ask a lot of players about that. Also felt he was quite stubborn in many ways. He left both Cork City and Drogs with a high wage bill when he left them too. Anyway that's in the past, he now manages Shelbourne and will be out to get a result against us. I hope we can continue our usual end of season trend by denting Shels promotion hopes tonight.

861 Posts
    We were yet again done by the referee and his linesman their 2nd was clearly offside but the defence was a complete shambles tonight and that was all down to Tony Cousins complete lack of tactical knowledge..... wtf was deans playing rb for when victor was on the bench....deans was ripped to shreds all night.....Lester was deadly slow tonight ive got to say for once and the formation was all wrong weve gota try and win our home games.

as for shels very very average tonight they wont be going up and why on earth were their fans not segregated their was nearly a riot, fans in the stand were afraid to leave and thats just wrong. Also Tony G made a huge mistake by announcing that scoreline from waterford vs salthill cause it gave them a huge lift so a very depressing result but the lads did do us proud//////rant over.

205 Posts
    We were yet again done by the referee and his linesman their 2nd was clearly offside but the defence was a complete shambles tonight and that was all down to Tony Cousins complete lack of tactical knowledge..... wtf was deans playing rb for when victor was on the bench....deans was ripped to shreds all night.....Lester was deadly slow tonight ive got to say for once and the formation was all wrong weve gota try and win our home games.

as for shels very very average tonight they wont be going up and why on earth were their fans not segregated their was nearly a riot, fans in the stand were afraid to leave and thats just wrong. Also Tony G made a huge mistake by announcing that scoreline from waterford vs salthill cause it gave them a huge lift so a very depressing result but the lads did do us proud//////rant over.
    First of all, as shown tonight, it is wise to play Victor anywhere other than defence. The two goals were legitimate. Nothing to do with tactics either, Deans was caught for the first anyway, and although Conlon played well, he should have made sure of clearing for the second. There was no sound of a 'riot' and fans were not afraid to leave, they all left very quickly, didn't even wait for the player to walk in.
    weve gota try and win our home games.
    You should go for Manager with a line like this. And do you think that we should lose our away games?
    Sporting F*ck All!

Threw it away really. In control, under no pressure and then just hit the self destruct button in defence. 2 crap teams on show, and if Shels go up then it'll show just how **** this division is.

1,104 Posts
    WTF riot, afraid to leave?! I was in the stand all game no bother whatsoever a few Shels lads roaring at the ref that was about it. Segregation...there were more of them than us by my reckoning. Don't create drama where it wasn't. As for the game a decided lack of pace at the back cost us plus Conlon was a little slow off his line.

861 Posts
    Just because u wernt afraid to leave dosnt mean others wernt their was a women with 2 young children sitting behind ne and she said she left very early cause she said she was becoming afraid of a riot and the shels second was clearly offside you could tell by cousins reaction he was furios with the 4th official abd the hold up in the corner flag for the so called injury was an absoulte joke he was down for well over 5 minutes

1,104 Posts
    He dislocated his shoulder during the celebrations. Stupid way to get injured but it was genuine they were bringing him straight to hospital to get it put back in.

19. Thanks From:

Just because u wernt afraid to leave dosnt mean others wernt their was a women with 2 young children sitting behind ne and she said she left very early cause she said she was becoming afraid of a riot and the shels second was clearly offside you could tell by cousins reaction he was furios with the 4th official abd the hold up in the corner flag for the so called injury was an absoulte joke he was down for well over 5 minutes
    Nice to see you're all heart. So called injury, eh he dislocated his shoulder. I'm not a medic but I'm sure that requires a good deal of attention there and then. On the match itself, we can blame the linesman, the referee, Tony Cousins, the weather etc but it's the same old mistakes that keep cropping up week in and week out.

What was the name of yer number 7 last night? Thought he was very good, seemed tricky and quick with his feet. Thought ye were very unlucky last night, not nice conceding two late goals, especially to a Dublin team. Was disappointed with Walsh, that's the second time I've seen him and he's gone missing both games, would have young Victor in there any day.

106 Posts
    I honestly dont believe we were at the same game last night kieran.. if anythin we were lucky twice when shels should have got a pen, and their second goal was never offside, philly byrne was at fault for the first should really have cut the ball out and for the second the ball over the top was our downfall.. You give out that our formation was wrong and we should be winning our home games yet our high line is what cost us for both goals.. Ive said before that lester was slow and you proclaimed that he wasnt a liability.. go figure..

For my two cents i thought freeman was very isolated up front in the first and is not suited to the lone striker role.. Walsh was far too slow to support him and wasnt very impressed with his contribution. I think sammon is really benefitting from having hyland back and both played well last night. Roche continues to impress we need to get him more involved because he is a talent. I think Brady is decent but tends to take too much out of the ball at times.
    If we keep a spine of what we have this year id be very happy we could finish top 6..

As for the shels fans ill admit that i wasnt in the stand, but they celebrated a vital win ffs fair play to them they came in their numbers, havnt heard of anyone afraid to go home and was chatting a few after the match.. segregation? We dont need that and one of the great things of loi is the bit of banter between fans

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by poster View Post
    What was the name of yer number 7 last night? Thought he was very good, seemed tricky and quick with his feet. Thought ye were very unlucky last night, not nice conceding two late goals, especially to a Dublin team. Was disappointed with Walsh, that's the second time I've seen him and he's gone missing both games, would have young Victor in there any day.
    Cathal Brady was no.7 ye he was good last night but he needs to toughen up hes always pulling out of tackles and if the balls in the air hes done.
    have to agree with ya on walsh tho.

38 Posts
    whatever about walsh,well lets just say a reality tv show made stars out of feckin jedward so think that says it all.

heard your man had to go to hospital after the celebration so not time wasting in the slightest! and john lester should never be left high up the pitch,its suicide,nearly striker in the league is faster than him,he should be at least 10 yards from his own 18yard box because there isn many will get by him from there,but if someone has a run on him. and i dont like saying that because im a big big fan of his, a decent,good honest centre half who wins his 50/50's!