Page 25 of 31 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast

Thread: Munster Junior Cup 2010/11

Funny to see so many Anti Pike on tonight. Pike were Hammered alright. Missed they're chances when they had them, and you can't deny they didn't have 3-4 cracking chances that were missed. Missed Colbert badly tonight. Ahern just wasn't at the races. Tierney another big loss. Absolutely no excuses thought. The better team on the night won. Pike will surely regroup and hopefully get to meet St.Micks in the FAI final if they both get through they're respective ties.

On the sending off. Utterly stupid from Walsh. He knew he was booked and booted the ball away after a free kick was awarded. Barry should have gone for Pike as well with the high Elbow.

28 Posts
    Great result for St Michaels
    Well done

lads the game is over st micks where the better team on the day.Great to see a big support for both teams,maybe just maybe we might have the privlige of these teams meeting in the F A I final with full squads .GOOD LUCK to ST MIcks.
    one for all and all for one

well done to st michaels tonight, hopefully itl give pike the kick in the arse they need, they were 1st to every ball and wanted it more, pike had 6 brilliant chances but couldnt put the chances away, st micks no 4 was outstandinding and also there keeper he saved everything, i have no problem sayin we were beatin by an outstanding side, so all the pike haters out there dont believe everything you read on this forum by all the so called pike supporters believe me we dont think and never have thought we were invinsible, roll on the hoops!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by fourtwotwo View Post
    well done to st michaels tonight, hopefully itl give pike the kick in the arse they need, they were 1st to every ball and wanted it more, pike had 6 brilliant chances but couldnt put the chances away, st micks no 4 was outstandinding and also there keeper he saved everything, i have no problem sayin we were beatin by an outstanding side, so all the pike haters out there dont believe everything you read on this forum by all the so called pike supporters believe me we dont think and never have thought we were invinsible, roll on the hoops!!!!!!
    not getting ivolved ,we are way better than tonight
    one for all and all for one

Foot.ie!

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    Just a quick thank you to the 3 St.micks supporters(a lovely woman with her daughter and husband) who managed to get rid of the St micks fans(mostly 18/19 year olds) who took it upon themselves to verbally abuse and phyiscally intimidate me for the majority of the first half. Never been subject to that sort of behaviour in my time in football. Gladly I can say they were a very small selection of the St.micks crowd..

On the game, St micks outplayed pike in all sections of the park, they certainly missed colbert and Tierney tonight. Saying all that, Pike missed 3 or 4 cracking chances, 2 by Alan Barry and hitting the cross bar at 2-0 down. The better team went through. Best of luck in the final.
    Yes. there is a nasty bunch of 'supporters' following St.Michaels whom I'm sure the club are not so proud of. I noticed them at a couple of cup games last season.
    However I am glad they won tonight. As a neutral it might calm some of the relentless and ill founded boasting that we are hearing from Pike supporters.
    Last edited by Mission Bell; 10/04/2011 at 6:46 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Mission Bell View Post
    Yes. there is a nasty bunch of 'supporters' following St.Michaels whom I'm sure the club are not so proud of. I noticed them at a couple of cup games last season.
    However I am glad they won tonight. As a neutral it might calm some of the relentless and ill founded boasting that we are hearing from Pike supporters.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mission Bell View Post
    I find it a bit odd how when Pike get beaten 'neutrals' come on here posting about nasty Saints supporters. The club would never condone that kind of behaviour would deal deal with the perpetrators accordingly. That said, the behaviour of more than a 'few' Pike supporters in Cooke Park last year left a lot to be desired, between sitting on top of the home dug out and refusing to get off, and invading the pitch when they scored the 3rd and 4th goals. I don't want to reignite old arguments but the context has to be set.

Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    I find it a bit odd how when Pike get beaten 'neutrals' come on here posting about nasty Saints supporters. The club would never condone that kind of behaviour would deal deal with the perpetrators accordingly. That said, the behaviour of more than a 'few' Pike supporters in Cooke Park last year left a lot to be desired, between sitting on top of the home dug out and refusing to get off, and invading the pitch when they scored the 3rd and 4th goals. I don't want to reignite old arguments but the context has to be set.
    Did say I was a neutral, I went to my same spot in Jackman Park half an hour before the game, 5 "youths" I'd suppose you'd call them, about 19-20 turned and decided, to take it upon themselves to roar abuse at both myself on anything under the sun about Pike, mostly things associated with Southill, and a few other things..Then after the first goal went in I was pushed a few times by 2 of them, again no particular reason...Thankfully that family intervened, got rid of them and sincerely apologised...Pike did alot of things last season but nothing along those lines. Theres a massive difference between sitting on dugout and physically pushing a man of 71 Years boyo...I've a lovely voice recording of the debacle also..
    Last edited by blinkx; 10/04/2011 at 9:06 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by fourtwotwo View Post
    have to agree with this post.breen at number 4 had an outstanding game.he got a foot to everything and must have cleared 4 times at last minute in the box.the difference for me was the way michaels attacked on the break.they had runners everywhere and it was as if they knew exactly where each other were.i think some of the posts about mullins were unjustified.for me he was pikes best player and him and kavanagh never stopped working and trying.the goalie made afew crucial saves for michaels.in fairness you cant argue michaels were the better team but scoring in injury time in first half and pipping pike on the line to make stop an equaliser on 50mins were massive moments in the game.overall a great advertisement for junior football.lets hope both teams make the fai final for what would be a great rematch.best of luck also to wembley rovers today

Quote Originally Posted by blinkx View Post
    Did say I was a neutral, I went to my same spot in Jackman Park half an hour before the game, 5 "youths" I'd suppose you'd call them, about 19-20 turned and decided, to take it upon themselves to roar abuse at both myself on anything under the sun about Pike, mostly things associated with Southill, and a few other things..Then after the first goal went in I was pushed a few times by 2 of them, again no particular reason...Thankfully that family intervened, got rid of them and sincerely apologised...Pike did alot of things last season but nothing along those lines. Theres a massive difference between sitting on dugout and physically pushing a man of 71 Years boyo...I've a lovely voice recording of the debacle also..
    Read my post again, Blink - I didn't quote you as a neutral. But, you have my apologies also and you can be sure 99.9% of Saints supporters would have intervened in the same way that family did.

Quote Originally Posted by Damo View Post
    Read my post again, Blink - I didn't quote you as a neutral. But, you have my apologies also and you can be sure 99.9% of Saints supporters would have intervened in the same way that family did.
    What's very impressive is a man of 71 voice recording such an incident. That comment is ageist and condescending, then again, you did call me 'Boyo' !

rumour's in tipperary are that 'the pike rover's orient express' are putting in an objection because st michael's destroyed them no but seriously i thought the standard of football from pike was awful all they did was go long to alan barry and moloney all night and to be fair i would say the aerial battle's between those 2 nd breen and walsh was close. it was on the ground where pike were well and truly stuffed, if sheriff can deal with that threat they wil also beat pike next week. it was great talking to some of the saint's player's last night and you would swear they had just won a regular lge game they were that level headed it prob show's the respect they have for carrick united and know they will get a much sterner test than that in the final (assuming carrick win today). best of luck to carrick what an ocassion that wil be should both meet in the final. just on the quality of saint's play some of you should come out and watch some games in tsdl every now and again as there are some excellent footballing team's out here.

congrats to Michaels on a good win last night

it is sad the amount of people that get joy from a team losing a match of this magnitude when they have nothing to do with either team, i suppose that's what success does to a club, but sad really.

All those people who enjoyed this (non tipp people) back to your clubs now like good little boys. Pike will win trophies for years to come so you wil have plenty to fuel your dislike (or hatred which ever you prefer) with.....
    'You should never have a bad game, off the ball.......'

Quote Originally Posted by Goals4fun View Post
    congrats to Michaels on a good win last night

it is sad the amount of people that get joy from a team losing a match of this magnitude when they have nothing to do with either team, i suppose that's what success does to a club, but sad really.

All those people who enjoyed this (non tipp people) back to your clubs now like good little boys. Pike will win trophies for years to come so you wil have plenty to fuel your dislike (or hatred which ever you prefer) with.....
    i disagree with your post to be honest goals for fun.I dont think there are many lads posting on here that "got great joy" out of pike losing last night.as a supporter of junior soccer in limerick there were afew key decisions that influenced the result of that game lastnight.I dont think myself that st michaels were 4 goals better.pike had alot of chances but in fairness to st michaels they were very clinical and played some excellent football.im sure most people in limerick would like to see pike bounce back from this.after all they did beat st michaels last year in tipp town so they dont become bad overnight.as regards to your post on people hating pike thats a bit OTT. the last team i saw from limerick getting cheered on by other clubs supporters were carew pk when they got to fai semi around 5 years ago.there is always a bit of jealousy of pikes successes but calling it hatred now is a bit much?

Well done to st micks by far the better team on the day mullins outstanding for pike kavanagh ahearn where the only three players thats played for pike rovers last night, but it would be stupid for everyone to say that they have no chance of winning in Dublin.

Any news yet on the wembley game yet ?

Quote Originally Posted by dared View Post
    Any news yet on the wembley game yet ?
    Heard its 1 all

Carrick 2 - 2 Wembley

Carrick win on penalties.

unlucky Wembley, was hoping ye would win it, weldone for getting so far, hopefully ye will do it next season

Went to the game last night. Thought myself that St Michaels were far more up for it and alot better too. They passed the ball alot better on the floor and 3 of the goals they scored were pure class. The third in fairness you wouldnt see on the telly. Great Football.
    I will say that if it wasn't for their keeper though it could have been a different story. Stopped Pike from scoring on a few occasions from point blank oppurtunities. In my opinion pike lost the game in Midfield. Their 4 midfielders were bypassed all through the game. Hartnett touched it 5 times in the whole game. 5 times for a central midfielder is just not good enough. St Michaels on the other hand had a real solid back four, creative midfield with the left winger especially very good and no 10 played a great game when switched to midfield. 9 and 12 up front ran themselves into the ground for the full 90 mins and caused pikes back four alot of problems and for the goals tore them apart. Man of the match though had to be the keeper as he just was outstanding.
    Last thing i thought it was a great idea for the munster council to drop the price from €8 last year to €5 last night.

Page 25 of 31 FirstFirst ... 152324252627 ... LastLast