Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Sports Call tonight

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Well its not his country for a start....

He's more Irish than you ya Jackeen ****!

Cool

Quote Originally Posted by WeAreRovers
    Yeah, 'cos he's a Brit.

Ah well suppose all us 2nd 3rd 4th generation irish are Brits, likewise the London members who have travelled to Poland..........
    CAPTAIN MORGANS GREENFORD Welcomes all Irish Football fans, live music every weekend

Yeah, 'cos he's a Brit.

So what if he's half Irish/ half English. He's perfectly entitled to sing both anthems. I have a friend whose half Irish / half Scottish and he's equally proud of both sides, he struggles who to support when they play each other. Matt Holland is more Irish than Ray Houghton was Irish and I'm sure you wouldn't say anything bad about Houghton.

Just like to say comments like Scouse Scum and Jackeen **** are as bad as each other.

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    Can we stick to football and leave the racist comments out of it?
    he has played his heart out for this country and only a very small and petty individual would come out with t the crap you're spouting now Dodge. I thought you were better than that
    I'll openly admit I'm a petty man when it comes to football. I don't now one fan who isn't. However to call me is rascist is not only wrong but disgusting too and I suggest you apologise. I accept it may be nationalist but we are talking about international football here so I stand by my comment.

Quote Originally Posted by Neil

He's more Irish than you ya Jackeen ****!
    Quality reply

If you've read any of my posts here you'll know I'm not against foreign born players playing for Ireland. I don't care how good they are, what race they are or even what their sexual preference is, I couldn't give a **** as long as they're Irish and proud of it.

Now is there anybody here who thinks this is racist?

I agree that the comment that you are racist or that you made racist comments should be taken back by the people who made it. I argued yesterday that what you said was not racist.

To be fair to Mc Ateer, he was highly rated in his Bolton days and was being tracked by Arsenal and Liverpool at the time. He could have waited for an England call-up which probably would have happened for him at the time. But he declared for us. And scored those two great goals against the Dutch. Does this demarcation of who is Irish and who is not include Ray Houghton and take away from those two legendary goals of his?

I would not call Dodge's comments racist .. its certainly not in the Ron Atkinson league .. but I think it was a petty ill-judged half-throwaway comment..

I'll openly admit I'm a petty man when it comes to football. I don't now one fan who isn't. However to call me is rascist is not only wrong but disgusting too and I suggest you apologise. I accept it may be nationalist but we are talking about international football here so I stand by my comment.
    Its not a term I use lightly, and I didn't call you a racist. I said your comment was racist, and I stand by that. McAteer qualified to play for ireland and gave his all every time he got the chance- that makes him just as irish as you, me, Tony Cascarino or Brian Boru. Birthplace or accent doesn't bother me- its an attitude and a desire to play for Ireland- McAteer has it, others (I won't mention names) don't. Holland is a different story- I have never once seen him give his all in an irish shrirt- I don't like him as a player or (from what I know) as a person.

Explain to me how the comment was rascist?

the fact that you arbitrarily decided the guy was not irish constitutes racism in my book

I wouldn't worry too much about what Eanna says was described in one post by him as a bigot, obviously knows nothing.

You're wasting your time.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    the fact that you arbitrarily decided the guy was not irish constitutes racism in my book
    Jesus Christ!

You're wasting your time.
    I think you're right...

You may or may not be racist. I don't know you well enough to say, but you are most certainly ignorant of what constitutes being Irish or not.
    "Can I have a Kit-Kat, chunky?"

"you mean a big one"

"No a normal kit-kat you fat bitch"

I still think that the very fact his comments were said to be racist should be taken back and an apololgy given to. Its a huge offence to be calling someone or there comments to be racist. And now we have a new definitino of Irisness, someone who gives there all in an Irish shirt, well i dont think i am irish then. I dont think i have given 100 per cent in an Irish shirt

Quote Originally Posted by Greenbod
    You may or may not be racist. I don't know you well enough to say, but you are most certainly ignorant of what constitutes being Irish or not.
    If only you knew what I did for a living...

Anyway...

1) Jason McAteer was a highly promising footballer in 93/94. He talked about wanting to play at an International level
    2) Alerted to the possibility that he might gain international recognition he hired somebody to find out if he had any Irish lineage.
    3) One grandparent was born in Northern Ireland and therefore qualified for an Irish passport (although never actually possessed one)
    4) McAteer, never having visited this country, applied for an Irish passport in early 1994 (aged 22) on the instructions of Jack Charlton who told him that he was in his plans for the World Cup.
    5) While playing for Ireland he has shown more effort than most.

My argument that he's not Irish is that if he wasn't a footballer he wouldn't have searched through his family records. McAteer had no links to Ireland and (I'm making a guess here) would not have applied for an Irish passport, if he had not been told he was in the plans for the World cup OR if the England manager had've capped him at any level.

A player like Phil Babb in my view is legitimately Irish. He held an Irish passport from the age of 16 and has always been proud to call himself Irish. (At 16 in a Millwall programme he told the interviewer he wanted to be Ireland's most capped player) Can you not see the difference here? I'm not criticising McAteer on his footballing ability or his effort. As Neil McD points out by that rationale no-one on this board is Irish.

I've no problem with anyone disagreeing with my opinions but I have a huge problem with someone calling me a rascist or claiming that a statement I made was rascist.
    Last edited by Dodge; 29/04/2004 at 10:08 AM.

fair play to you, a very well thought out post and you have put your arguments across very well. And I still think there should be an apology to you for implying that you are a racist by saying that comments you have made are racist.

I've no problem with anyone disagreeing with my opinions but I have a huge problem with someone calling me a rascist or claiming that a statement I made was rascist.
    That all sounds fair enough to me Dodge. I wasn't happy with your original statement, but all that proves is that it's all too easy to take someone else's online comments out of context - and I did. Given the reductionist "soundbite" nature of many message board posts, I hope you'll agree it's an easy mistake to make. Apologies.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    I still think that the very fact his comments were said to be racist should be taken back and an apololgy given to. Its a huge offence to be calling someone or there comments to be racist. And now we have a new definitino of Irisness, someone who gives there all in an Irish shirt, well i dont think i am irish then. I dont think i have given 100 per cent in an Irish shirt
    keep your facetious arguments to yourself, I wasn't talking to you If I wanted your opinion on how to live my life I'm sure i'd have asked you before now.
    Last edited by Éanna; 29/04/2004 at 1:16 PM.

well its pretty much down to a difference of opinion then isn't it. As i've been at pains to point out dodge, I was not calling you a racist, because i'm perfectly sure you're not. I was surprised by the comment you made and as far as I'm concerned it was bordering on racist. If other people want to split hairs and go into dictionary definitions fine. For the record then, I'll just say it was a prejudiced comment, not a racist one. I was NOT (believe it or not) trying to be offensive, and now that you've expanded on the statement I can understand where you're coing from. I just thought it was a very brash sweeping statement.
    Last edited by Éanna; 29/04/2004 at 1:18 PM.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast