Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Andorra - Wednesday, 7th September 2010 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    he did set robbie in for the goal in case we forget, the only fecking through ball he got all night!!! his service was very poor overall.
    He got another one were he lost his footing in the first half!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    3-1 with no injuries or cards (I think) is a decent night's work.
    Richie Dunne was booked in the second half. Really needless booking; caught flat when they were down to ten men (injured lad on the touchline waiting to come back on) and he hauled his man back.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Never heard such a poor rendition of the Irish anthem.
    Where we were in the South Stand it was about ten seconds into before we realised it had started, dunno what happened the acoustics for that.

Great to be in the Singing Section, I'd say the atmopshere is terrible elsewhere.

I'd agree with the McGeady comments he delights and frustrates in equal measures. T
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Where we were in the South Stand it was about ten seconds into before we realised it had started, dunno what happened the acoustics for that.
    Is the band amplified by the microphones? Remember the mics went dead when the two captains were supposed to be telling us not to be racist. Might have been the same problem at the start of the anthem.

Thoughts on the Andorra game

Mc Geady - wonderful dribbler, but can't cross or shoot.
    Lawrence - the opposite - can strike the ball, but can't run
    Dunne - looked bored from the off, and at fault for Andorra goal
    Keane - over celebrated his goal
    Doyle - cracking effort - great goal

Can't they use the screens to update scores of other matches going on?

Stadium announcer - what a plonker - maybe everone could slow handclap everytime he speaks

Also maybe we could rebuild our economy by exporting our expertise in building 3 sided stadia?

€70 a ticket? They are having a laugh in this day and age. Need to start reducing prices to have fuller attendances soon.

49 Posts
    ya what a joke with the mics before the anthem, could they not have that sorted without leaving robbie standing with a dud mic. that talking before a game with the 2 captains is a waste of time, no-one is listening or can even hear what there saying.

Quote Originally Posted by rebelmusic View Post
    Whelan is fine, Green is not good enough. If Dunne stays clean, i hope he gets a yellow in the match before Andorra away to be honest
    I thought Whelan was rubbish last night.If he can't impose himself againsy Andorra....

1,928 Posts
    Both of the CM do the job they are asked to do. When Whelan got subbed, Andorra started to run through Ireland at midfield.
    From the CM who are fit now, Green and Whelan are the best for our team. If they are regarded as rubbish by some, then fair enough but they are best rubbish available atm. Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.

65 Posts
    I thought when Gibson came on for Whelan there was an increase in the tempo, he looked to pass forward the whole time. It didn't always work out but it was better than the 20 mins previous.
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

610 Posts
    McGeady is exasperating. He showed great skill but once again very little end product! He gave the ball away countless times and tried to turn his man or nutmeg him I don't know how many times when there was another player behind waiting for the ball.
    No doubt he is very skillful and has very fast feet but the difference between him and Duffer is duff rarely gives the ball away and can cross it.
    A great ball in for Keane's goal but my God I think the high praise from Trap is a bit premature....

He wouldn't get away with a display like this against Russia or Slovakia.
    And let's remember, he didn't get away with it against Armenia

His best game for us was against Georgia in the last campaign.
    I hope he is not just effective against minnows...
    Folding my way into the big money!!!

49 Posts
    id say he defo was mindfull of the yellow card so he didnt put himself about, im sure of that. hes a big part of our team now.

Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that.
    I only heard booing when the scorer was announced which just seemed lighthearted to me. Was there more?

3,491 Posts
    It was only a light spattering of booing straight after the goal from memory. I assumed at the time it was booing because we'd conceded; didn't think it was after the goalscorer was announced.

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Both of the CM do the job they are asked to do. When Whelan got subbed, Andorra started to run through Ireland at midfield.
    From the CM who are fit now, Green and Whelan are the best for our team. If they are regarded as rubbish by some, then fair enough but they are best rubbish available atm. Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.
    yea, I take your point, and "rubbish" is too strong a word I suppose. What I am trying to say is we should have had a more "creative " influence in there with him against the likes of Andorra .That said, whelan is generally a good passer and can be quite attack minded with Stoke and I didn't feel he exerted any influence of that type last night.I think 3-1 is a pretty awful result against them. I know so-called minnows are getting more difficult to beat, but they are rubbish. I was getting angry watching it because I feared it could affect our goal differance would be effected, but somebody above said results against the bottom team are ignored when it comes to goal differance - this true?

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post

Great to be in the Singing Section, I'd say the atmopshere is terrible elsewhere.

I'd agree with the McGeady comments he delights and frustrates in equal measures. T
    O only watched on TV, but the atmosphere seemed terrible. What exactly is the "singing section"? and why did the rest of the ground not join in?

89 Posts
    Hey Den, yes the bottom teams results are ignored when it comes to best runner up to compensate for groups that have only 5 teams. So Andorra for the most part is about goal difference and little else. As long as Slovakia don't pummel them we'll be good

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    O only watched on TV, but the atmosphere seemed terrible. What exactly is the "singing section"? and why did the rest of the ground not join in?
    Its in the South Stand and as for why the rest of the ground didn't join in......plus ca change......... Nothing to do with last night, more a gradual thing over the last decade as football got colonized by the prawn sandwich brigade. But I digress.

I'm just glad I found somewhere I can stand to watch the match without some gimp behind me moaning and asking me to sit down.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Den Perry View Post
    What exactly is the "singing section"?
    It's the section where people sing.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Its in the South Stand and as for why the rest of the ground didn't join in......plus ca change......... Nothing to do with last night, more a gradual thing over the last decade as football got colonized by the prawn sandwich brigade. But I digress.
    agree, lads around me (east upper) arriving late, leaving early, eating, drinking, talking, texting, reading, surfing, moaning, whinging, sleeping.... in fact anything but watching the game with a mind to actually enjoying it and zero support for the team. WHY BOTHER GOING????????????????
    Last edited by jbyrne; 08/09/2010 at 4:07 PM.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Neither Fahey nor Gibson can do the basic minimum neccesary job at CM, not even against Andorra.
    in fairness to Fahey he has not had a chance to prove that he cant do that job at CM.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

23. Thanks From:

Page 7 of 10 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast