Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Andorra - Wednesday, 7th September 2010 - Euro 2012 Qualifier

3,491 Posts
    Better game than I expected, to be honest. Really took the game to them for the first 20 minutes; hounded them early, played it quickly, gave them no time on the ball, won it back quickly, scored early doors. Andorra came back into it but we got a second at a nice time. Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that. Sounded like a load of barstoolers who aren't used to poor teams having the temerity to produce one spark of magic.

Game died after the third goal - not surprising, if also not entertaining. Thought McGeady was awful - yes, he terrorised their full-back, but what bloody use is that if he runs the ball straight out of play? The single most over-rated, I don't get the point, player we've had since John O'Shea. Now in fairness to O'Shea, he's finally been justifying his reputation in the last couple of years and has been excellent. I hope McGeady does that in the next couple of years, but for now, I think Bluebeard's post is the best description of him so far.

Atmosphere was decent enough in the singing section, especially for a game against Andorra (with all due respect to them). Granted, I'd say that gets lost in the ground cos it's relatively small.

544 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    We won't qualify with Green & Whelan in central midfield.

Need to get McCarthy in there a.n.other.
    really?... an untried (and yet to prove himself with wigan) mccarthy and a.n. other???? give the two lads a break. none of our ctre mids are setting the world alight but are still doing a decent job all the same.

89 Posts
    Was watching a stream from Egypt but the crowd really did sounds like the 12th man again at times. I'd imagine there was a lot of folk there who don't normally go to games cos we were sure to win this one.

49 Posts
    few points on last night. O'Shea must have gave the ball away every time he made a pass. Green also gave the ball away a lot, he dosent really offer much atal. McGeady is very frustrating, brilliant one minute but his final ball is still poor but hes still one player who could be a matchwinner yet. I think whelan didnt really get stuck in cause of the yellow card so not to bothered with him. Overall 6 points is vital and we have them so on to the russia game, we have duff, andrews and will hunt be back??

386 Posts
    Their goal was a superb strike; the booing after it was over the top though - ridiculous to boo the player for that, and ridiculous to boo the team for conceding a goal like that. Sounded like a load of barstoolers who aren't used to poor teams having the temerity to produce one spark of magic.
    They were probably booing St. Ledger who was caught ball watching and playing for offside. He hadn't a clue that there was a player lurching on the edge of the box ready to strike the ball. He redeemed himself somewhat by quickly intercepting a smart set-play from Andorra in the second half but if St. Ledger was doing his job as he should, Andorra would not of scored, wonder strike or not.

Game died after the third goal - not surprising, if also not entertaining. Thought McGeady was awful - yes, he terrorised their full-back, but what bloody use is that if he runs the ball straight out of play? The single most over-rated, I don't get the point, player we've had since John O'Shea. Now in fairness to O'Shea, he's finally been justifying his reputation in the last couple of years and has been excellent. I hope McGeady does that in the next couple of years, but for now, I think Bluebeard's post is the best description of him so far.
    McGeady's first instinct when he gets the ball is to beat his man. Look at how he moves his feet when he gets the ball - always shaping up to beat his opposite number. There's no doubting he is capable of doing so but it's of zero value to the team unless there is an end product. He needs to evaluate and pick the best option for the team when he gets the ball. He could certainly learn from watching Duff.
    Last edited by ifk101; 08/09/2010 at 8:40 AM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    few points on last night. O'Shea must have gave the ball away every time he made a pass. Green also gave the ball away a lot, he dosent really offer much atal. McGeady is very frustrating, brilliant one minute but his final ball is still poor but hes still one player who could be a matchwinner yet. I think whelan didnt really get stuck in cause of the yellow card so not to bothered with him. Overall 6 points is vital and we have them so on to the russia game, we have duff, andrews and will hunt be back??
    Hunt is expected back mid-October, so we wont have him till the March games sadly

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    They were probably booing St. Ledger who was caught ball watching and playing for offside.
    I was the far end of the ground, which is where I heard the booing. I didn't see exactly what happened other than that it was a great strike (I was very low down in the stand, near the pitch). If they spotted that from 100 yards away, then fair dues. And even then, I think booing is over the top. Sh!t happens, get on with it. We did, scored within ten minutes and won the game.

386 Posts
    I was the far end of the ground, which is where I heard the booing. I didn't see exactly what happened other than that it was a great strike (I was very low down in the stand, near the pitch). If they spotted that from 100 yards away, then fair dues. And even then, I think booing is over the top. Sh!t happens, get on with it. We did, scored within ten minutes and won the game.
    Well I know there were booing the concession of a goal rather than St. Ledger . And yes the strike should really have gotten applause rather than boos.

But looking at the goal again St. Ledger isn't doing his job.

3,491 Posts
    Well I know there were booing the concession of a goal rather than St. Ledger . And yes the strike should really have gotten applause rather than boos.

But looking at the goal again St. Ledger isn't doing his job.
    Haven't actually seen it properly, but as you say, it should have been applauded rather than booed regardless.

85 Posts
    Everything else has been covered in previous posts. I see McCarthy has been mentioned a couple of times. In terms of missed oppertunities, I actually think we're missing Meyler more than McCarthy in the centre of the park. Tailor made for trapps expectations of his central midfeilders. There's no good time to get injured but his was really bad timing given what was availible to him...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

49 Posts
    is it certain that andrews will come straight back in for green? will andrews see much action between now and the next games with blackburn, looking at the last 2 games green didnt offer anything IMO. he lost the ball so many times in both games.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Everything else has been covered in previous posts. I see McCarthy has been mentioned a couple of times. In terms of missed oppertunities, I actually think we're missing Meyler more than McCarthy in the centre of the park. Tailor made for trapps expectations of his central midfeilders. There's no good time to get injured but his was really bad timing given what was availible to him...
    Meyler is more a central midfielder in the Trapattoni mould than McCarthy. Trapattoni has already made up his mind on McCarthy. If McCarthy is to come into the squad it will be as a wide midfielder. Chris McCann is another player than would have been useful to us if available.

Quote Originally Posted by Duggie View Post
    is it certain that andrews will come straight back in for green? will andrews see much action between now and the next games with blackburn, looking at the last 2 games green didnt offer anything IMO. he lost the ball so many times in both games.
    Hopefully. International football is simply a step up too far for Green.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Never heard such a poor rendition of the Irish anthem.

Without the "singing section", support would have been very poor but then I suppose it was hard "to get up" for a game you're supposed to win by at least 3.

Didn't hear much booing except of the Andorran who faked injury. Definitely no Irish player was booed or the team.

Happy enough with the result though Green disappointed again.

Surprised Doyle got man of the match - performance way down on Armenia. not helped by the tall Andorran centre back clattering in to him most of the evening.

Kilbane had some great opportunities to overlap but didn't. Orders from the touchline?

Given punted the ball forward too much - again orders from the touchline? If we can't play through Andorra what hope have we got against the better teams?

Top of the group - I'll take that with the worry that we have yet to beat one of the major sides at home under Trapp.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

85 Posts
    Chris McCann is another player than would have been useful to us if available.
    Trap said something really Sarcy about McCann last year. Something along the lines of everone was calling for him to call up McCann, but when he went to watch him he only touched the ball 4 times... or something to that effect.

www.thefastleague.com

1,928 Posts
    I have no problem with McGeady in that team, apart from some sloppy play in their half and faded out in the last 20minutes. There was a change made from Friday and the ball came his way. Trap will be well pleased by McGeady's performance. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Didn't hear much booing except of the Andorran who faked injury.
    Which one?? Jayzus they were a shower of bitches... I would have at least under stood it if it was late in the game with fitness being a factor, trying to buy a breather, but it was all game.

www.thefastleague.com

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I have no problem with McGeady in that team, apart from some sloppy play in their half and faded out in the last 20minutes. There was a change made from Friday and the ball came his way. Trap will be well pleased by McGeady's performance. The positives vastly outweigh the negatives.
    Agreed. I had just said to the wife before Keanes goal that I'd like to see McGeady come inside a bit more. It's sweet when non commital comments like that bare fruit!!!!

www.thefastleague.com

49 Posts
    i can forgive mcgeady for his final ball not been as good as the rest of his game, he has a touch of class we need so ive no problems with him. he did set robbie in for the goal in case we forget, the only fecking through ball he got all night!!! his service was very poor overall.

1,025 Posts
    Completely comfortable win, and never looked like a different story at any stage.

I think once we'd got the early goal, and realised how poor they were, we relaxed, too much probably, and let them have the ball with no real pressure until they got inside our half.

Wonder-strike apart, they never looked like scoring, so 3-1 with no injuries or cards (I think) is a decent nights' work.

I sometimes think that Trapattoni sets up his team the same for every game so that players are absolutely sure what their roles are, where they should be and what they should, do with the ball, and without it. So we might only beat Andorra 3-1 at home while a more attacking strategy could have got double that, but when we go to Russia and Slovakia, we're a tighter unit as a result of being totally familiar with the formation.

That said, if that is the idea behind playing the same formation every game, I'd have expected Whelan and Green to have been more combative in midfield, regardless of how comfortable the game was.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Trap said something really Sarcy about McCann last year. Something along the lines of everone was calling for him to call up McCann, but when he went to watch him he only touched the ball 4 times... or something to that effect.
    Strange if he did say that because our central midfielders are not inclined to touch the ball under Trapattoni's leadership. Unfortunately for McCann he's been injured for quite some time now and doesn't seem to be able to shake off what's troubling him. Doesn't bode good.

Page 6 of 10 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast