Thread: Roy Keane out of Poland squad

fair play to ya pp you echo my sentiments exactly on this issue , roy genuinely does want to play for us again so good luck to him i say

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    I think it's rather churlish and indeed egotistical to quote yourself. However, it's probably worth restating the above before this thread degenerates any further.

PP
    good for you PP...that's your opinion. Keane cannot be trusted!! He's not at all genuine. That nonsense about playing again
    It will be the same old story against romania and holland etc....
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Quote Originally Posted by Littlest Hobo
    good for you PP...that's your opinion. Keane cannot be trusted!! He's not at all genuine. That nonsense about playing again
    It will be the same old story against romania and holland etc....
    Let's wait and see, Hobo. I've no time for him personally, but for the sake of my country's football team, I'm giving him a second chance. It would be nice if we could all see fit to do the same.

PP
    Semper in faecibus sole profundum variat

Quote Originally Posted by Plastic Paddy
    Let's wait and see, Hobo. I've no time for him personally, but for the sake of my country's football team, I'm giving him a second chance. It would be nice if we could all see fit to do the same.

PP
    ideal world yes.....real world can't see it happen.
    A BIG 'if' he plays and gets us through, then fair enough
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Keane is not the only one pulling out there have been a few others, so to isolate him and say he is a traitor is ignoring the facts and just bringing your own prejudice into the debate. Do people actually think that keane has decided to come back for Ireland to pull out of every squad cause that would nto make sense from any perspective. What cant people trust Brian kerr and Chris Hughton on this and listen to their comments. Keane was upset that he could not go as he was desperate to travel. Delap, Holland, Kilbane, Carr have all pulled out too due to injury, its the nature of April friendlies it always happens and always will. IF someone has a bit of knock in April it is not worth risking it no matter if they are Roy Keane or Kevin Kilbane. Treat every player equally but too many people here have other agendas going on which clouds their judgement.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Keane is not the only one pulling out there have been a few others, .
    a few.....half da squad like!!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD
    Treat every player equally
    what you mean give them all the same facilities in Saipan etc?! The others stood by their country in the world cup and the last qualifying campaign. He has to earn the right to equal treatment and this won't help.

just a bit too convenient is all

Sky News said he was upset about it and wanted to travel, but Kerr said no as he didn't see the point in it. Which makes sense. He has been injured recently, and played within himself on saturday , so I don't think there's anything suspect about this.

Keane going on the trip injured would have really got Fergie's blood boiling, so thats why Kerr vetoed it i'd say.

yes you all wise people no more than Brian Kerr and Chris Hughton. YOu have caught on to roy keanes big plot to make us look like fools, whereas experts who have more footballing experience in their little toes than anyboy on this board, have fallen for it hook line and sinker. Get real and i think its pretty sad that you are letting personal grievances effect your opinions like that. I trust Kerr and Chris Hughton as they know much more about football and coaching and the exact details of keanes injury and every other players injury than I do. But of course you are all know much more than either of these do

The injury was decided on by the Irish set-up at the training facility in ireland, Man utd had nothing to do with it. Can't believe the rubbish being written here (again! what's happening to this forum).

It's late in what was a very long season, loads of players have pulled out, Hughton and Kerr have both come out saying Keane wanted to travel but the management decided there would be no point because he wouldn't figure due to the injury, but obviously keano is a traitor again because you're all "in the know" as to exactly what's going on in the man's mind

There used to be decent debates backed up by decent arguments on foot.ie , seems to be a thing of the past.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ONE BRIAN KERR
    Roy Keane has pulled out of the squad
    YAY!

God is on our side! (well, if RMK is to be believed....which I don't really)

As someone said a while back it'll all end in tears. Never mind his injury the guy is a way past his best (of 1998/99) can't see him being at United much longer. Good riddance

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor
    Sky News said he was upset about it and wanted to travel, but Kerr said no as he didn't see the point in it. Which makes sense. He has been injured recently, and played within himself on saturday , so I don't think there's anything suspect about this.

Keane going on the trip injured would have really got Fergie's blood boiling, so thats why Kerr vetoed it i'd say.
    My fat a**e Once a traitor, always a judas
    As for Fergie...always too much say on the matter. Should have left keane alone to his own devices in the first place
    Never eat yellow snow!!

There are some very bitter people on this board. Forget about it, Keane is here to play for Ireland cause he wants to. Its unfortunate that he's got injured, but he'll be here for the next game.
    It was great to see him in Lansdowne yesterday supporting Munster. I was in a pub in London and there was a big cheer when he appeared on the screen. I think all you outspoken people with chips on your shoulders (Just like Mick) are in the minority.

Quote Originally Posted by finlma
    Forget about it, Keane is here to play for Ireland cause he wants to. Its unfortunate that he's got injured, but he'll be here for the next game.
    Can't agree - Next game is a friendly too, what will his excuse be for that?

Bet any money he will be fit on the eve of the French game - the only game he is interested in.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    YAY!

God is on our side!
    Better than that he's manager....

Seems like the anti-Keane brigade are out in force, some with very few posts under their belts, mostikely the same person.

I'm in Poland and half the bloody squad has pulled out, anyway the scenery is good and the beer is cheap.

Great place 5zlotys or one euro for a pint of beer.

I believe Roy, Kerr and Hughton that he is carrying a knock. And from the sounds of things he did desperately want to travel.

On the eve of the FA Cup Final it's not worth it. Kerr is treating Roy like any other player. For example, say Damien Duff was carrying a knock and the FA Cup Final was a couple of days away of course he would be sent home rather than risked in a meaningless friendly in Poland.

And it's not like Roy is the only player to pull out, half the orginal squad are injured.

ElSieteSecretos
    It means that possibly 10 players from the original squad are missing
    This is a stupid time for a friendly, with all the teams in important games and so much injuries this time of year!! It sounds like the Ireland B Team will be really going over !

What a bunch..

I dont know which of you lads are more bitter?..maybe Eanna?..maybe micheal declan micheal or whatever you call yourself or maybe that NORTHERN IRELAND MOANER brendy..

AGAIN..welcome back Roy