Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tonight's latest 03/09/2010

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tippex View Post
    Get in All over in oriel 2-0 to bray. Seriously squeeky bum time now.... Can we do the seemingly impossible?
    On that showing YES.Won every 50/50 ball on the deck and slauhtered us in the air,Bray had a hunger and a belief.Our lot were PATHETIC.
    Bray well worth the 3 points.

56 Posts
    Decent result for Limerick tonight, hopefully we can get another three points in Ballybofey next week.

33 Posts
    UCD 1:1 Drogheda Utd.
    Coulda, woulda, shoulda. The most eventful match of the season at the UCD Bowl, Killer Kilduff scores his 12th league goal of the season (fourth against Drogheda) and had chances either side to score, UCD lost full-back Ciaran Nangle early on to injury, Killer hits the post, lovely goal from Killer, Drogheda raised their game before a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box. Fitzpatrick buried it past the returned Billy Brennan. Karl Moore was great for UCD on the wing.

Drogheda won the physical battle and UCD have been second place in those battles all season.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

399 Posts
    Get in All over in oriel 2-0 to bray. Seriously squeeky bum time now.... Can we do the seemingly impossible?
    And a very well deserved win also. Devlin had you organised perfectly, we were a disgrace, and in complete freefall now, but take nothing away..........
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

61 Posts
    Bohs up to their old tricks again tonight plus the ref was clearly a bohs fan.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    UCD 1:1 Drogheda Utd.
    Coulda, woulda, shoulda. The most eventful match of the season at the UCD Bowl, Killer Kilduff scores his 12th league goal of the season (fourth against Drogheda) and had chances either side to score, UCD lost full-back Ciaran Nangle early on to injury, Killer hits the post, lovely goal from Killer, Drogheda raised their game before a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box. Fitzpatrick buried it past the returned Billy Brennan. Karl Moore was great for UCD on the wing.

Drogheda won the physical battle and UCD have been second place in those battles all season.
    Entertaining game and a draw was a fair result tbh .Good chances missed for both sides . We need to start putting them away if we are to avoid the automatic drop !

147 Posts
    Poxed to get a point tonight, we were woeful in first half and Pats should have had game wrapped up at half time. We were much better in second half, deserved a point for second half performance but if that game was played 100 more times, Pats would win by a comfortable margin every time, they hit the post and peppered our goal in second half. Still, 5 unbeaten now (including Cup) and overtake Dundalk on goal difference. Big game with Bray next weekend
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Strange sort of game in tallaght, We absolutely bossed the 1st half with doyle and blinkhorn both having good chances inside the 1st 20 mins and we had a big shout for a peno turned down. In saying that shams had probably the 2 best chances with Peers(i think) making one of the best clearances off the line ive ever seen. Second half we were still on top without creating too much but with shams coming more into the game and they were dominanting for bout 10 mins before they scored. After that i dont think we ever looked like scoring with Shams looking dangerous on the break. I think if we could have taken the lead in the 1st half we mite have gone on to win but we definitely could have done with Podge to pull a goal out of nothing and with the way other results went tonight looks like the defining nite in the title race for them.

Great results for Rovers

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Poxed to get a point tonight, we were woeful in first half and Pats should have had game wrapped up at half time. We were much better in second half, deserved a point for second half performance but if that game was played 100 more times, Pats would win by a comfortable margin every time, they hit the post and peppered our goal in second half. Still, 5 unbeaten now (including Cup) and overtake Dundalk on goal difference. Big game with Bray next weekend
    Yep thats spot on, Cant believe we didnt win that game, One of our best performances this season up until the Galway goal
    Here on a technicality.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    yeah agree with all that lad, also agree with party saint saying it was one of our best performances all season, should of had a sligo fan there to watch imo
    it was a bad result considering the renters won

ps barry ryan was fookin super tonight, was funny with him and the steward, legend.
    Last edited by danthesaint; 04/09/2010 at 12:41 AM.

This may come back to bite me but.........

No. Dundak are in freefall. We were incredibly sh1t. how many points between youse and 9th now?
    Bray will not get 3 points as easy as they did tonight - even if they drop to the a league. they also looked sh1t,despite winning 2-0.
    Last edited by bholg; 04/09/2010 at 12:58 AM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 1st time post View Post
    Strange sort of game in tallaght, We absolutely bossed the 1st half with doyle and blinkhorn both having good chances inside the 1st 20 mins and we had a big shout for a peno turned down. In saying that shams had probably the 2 best chances with Peers(i think) making one of the best clearances off the line ive ever seen. Second half we were still on top without creating too much but with shams coming more into the game and they were dominanting for bout 10 mins before they scored. After that i dont think we ever looked like scoring with Shams looking dangerous on the break. I think if we could have taken the lead in the 1st half we mite have gone on to win but we definitely could have done with Podge to pull a goal out of nothing and with the way other results went tonight looks like the defining nite in the title race for them.
    I agree Sligo were certainly the better team in the first half, and Doyle (I think it was him) missed a great one on one with Mannus that should have put you one up. In saying that, for all your good possession, Doyle's chance aside, we created the better chances of the first half despite not being the better side. In the second half I thought Shamrock Rovers played very well, certainly created the better chances and deserved to win, though to win by (an albeit fantastic) set-piece seemed a fair way to end the game. In my opinion the two best teams in the league at the moment, glad we wont have to play them again for points this season (then again in 8 league games under MON they've never beaten us, something for the Sligo fans "hilariously" calling Dan Murray a 'hoofer' to think about) and with a seven point advantage I'm starting to get excited. Beat Pats in Richmond next week and I'll be positively giddy.

Ye improved in th second half because Alan Kelly kept giving ye cheap free kicks, allowing Murray to bombard our box, eventually leading to your goal, which was a stunnig strike in fairness. I thought ye either dragged us down to yer level or we were getting desperate in the second half and played far too much route one football. Think a draw would have been a fair result and if we had Podge, I think we would have got at least a point.
    Having said all that, this was our toughest game of the run in on paper. Other results went for us tonight and two wins from our next 2 games will put us back in the hunt for a European spot. Best of luck to Shams, the league is theirs to loose now. They have great support and their fans made a big difference last night.

43 Posts
    Like others have said, thought Sligo were unlucky to go home with nothing. Rovers were very poor especially in midfield, we really missed Price, Rice and Bradley the latter two being our first choice central midfield duo the last few weeks. Dare I say it but it's a sign of champions to play poorly and still win tough games like that. Important now that we keep our feet on the ground and not become complacent, it's 16 league games unbeaten now taking 28 points from the last 30, we have to keep that kind of form going, no slip ups.

With thanks to Soylent Green on the Ultras forum Dennehy's superb free kick:

Quote Originally Posted by bholg View Post
    This may come back to bite me but.........

No. Dundak are in freefall. We were incredibly sh1t. how many points between youse and 9th now?
    Bray will not get 3 points as easy as they did tonight - even if they drop to the a league. they also looked sh1t,despite winning 2-0.
    You could well be right, but with home games against Galway, UCD, Drogheda and Dundalk, i think our lads will be quitely confident of picking up enough points to over take Drogheda

Bray's first goal was excellent I have to concede. but apart from that we just gave them the ball again and again. It was mind boggling. loss of melligan & F*nn seems to have reduced us to long ball

we certainly would be winning no play offs by current form -can only hope that miller & maher coming back may help somewhat.

You never know.... yis might do it.

415 Posts
    I certainly don't think Shams deserved to win (although I know Dodge will come on and say they scored more then us so they did) but they did improve in the second half and it was an even enough game in that half. I just don't know what Blinkhorn was at giving away the free kick for the goal. He had done the same thing a minute ago from another free from the half way from the half way line. Always got the impression that the only way Shams were going to score was from a set piece.

Agree with the sign of champions line. League is all over now.

Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    a harsh sending off of Robbie Creevy for handball in the box.
    It was a second yellow, he got the first a minute or two before. I didn't see what happened for the penalty, I just saw two guys on the ground and was expecting a free out, hand ball didn't even cross my mind.

Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    , something for the Sligo fans "hilariously" calling Dan Murray a 'hoofer' to think about) and with a seven point advantage I'm starting to get excited. Beat Pats in Richmond next week and I'll be positively giddy.
    I'm being totally serious here Jicked. I don't understand how Shams can do so well (and fair play for doing so) with Murray in the team. He's been very dodgy every game I've seen him this year, apart from the LC Semi. Always seems to panic anytime he has possession of the ball and if we had a quick striker last night against him we could have been two up at half time. As for his "hoofing", yes he's guilty of it 100% of the time, as is Sives and Murphy. Although maybe that's MO'N's tactics. I've had that opinion of Murray since his Cork days, I really don't understand how he gets his place every game.

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast