Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: One of the strangest bannings ever?

89 Posts

One of the strangest bannings ever?

Got a big game coming up? Bring a few plastic bottles!

According to today's Star and Mirror, Gary Twigg will be banned for two games for his celebration in this video

Twigg is already moving towards the Bohs fans after taking his shot, but stops himself 20 yards away and makes no specific or unsporting/crude gestures to the away fans.

Bohs will be fined €150 for throwing the bottles.

So, if true (which I still find very hard to believe), I'd recommend any fans who want to see a particular player banned for an upcoming game to bring a few empty plastic bottles in to the grounds tonight. At Rovers we've had particular trouble dealing with Greg Bolger in recent games against UCD so I'd appreciate any Fingal fans being able to help us out on that front tonight.

Seriously though, if this is true, one of the strangest disciplinary actions taken by the FAI?

I've seen Rovers players do far worse this season alone, and I've seen opposition players do even worse (that's before getting in to what Fenlon supposedly got up to with the Pats fans a few weeks back). I presume other fans have seen worse cases of antagonism in other games this season?

It really does seem that the ban has been issued because he had a load of bottles fecked at him. There's no way this could be upheld, right?

3,231 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    At Rovers we've had particular trouble dealing with Greg Bolger in recent games against UCD so I'd appreciate any Fingal fans being able to help us out on that front tonight.
    Can't; he's suspended for slapping a Bray player a few weeks ago.

Unless he gets bottles thrown at him in the stand, which would be really wierd.

After he gets up off the ground he is obscured on the video, and then he's off the video for a few seconds.

It does look from the bit when he's obscured that he's making some for of gesture, but you just can't tell from that footage.

57 Posts
    We should all know by now that video is inadmissible for ANY disciplinary matters within the League of Ireland - for fear of it having been tampered with.
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Delighted for him. If it means he doesn't do it again, then the punishment has worked. If jucked can trya nd explain away the example above, there's absolutely no doubt twigg has gone out of his way to celebrate in front of other fans in the past.

(and until its announced I won't believe it)

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Delighted for him. If it means he doesn't do it again, then the punishment has worked. If jucked can trya nd explain away the example above, there's absolutely no doubt twigg has gone out of his way to celebrate in front of other fans in the past.

Or it could well be some poor attempt at a retaliatory windup in response to the "Pipe Laying" episode...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

89 Posts
    We should all know by now that video is inadmissible for ANY disciplinary matters within the League of Ireland
    So, am I right in saying that the referee would have had to be the one who saw the incident and reported it? Even though he gave a yellow card to Twigg at the time? And also, does the rule that applies in English football (that once punishment has been given out by a referee on the pitch, the same offence can't be retroactively punished) apply in the LoI?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

He has. As have dozens of players in this league. As do players in leagues across the world. The punishment for that is usually a yellow card, and not a 2 game ban, especially when it's suddenly introduced 3/4 through a season. Like yourself though I'm extremely bemused by the decision and won't believe it until the FAI announce it.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    Or it could well be some poor attempt at a retaliatory windup in response to the "Pipe Laying" episode...
    Pick up a copy of today's Star or Daily Mirror, both reporting that the FAI Disciplinary Committee met on Wednesday and decided this. If it is a wind-up, it'll have broken in the national press, so is probably not that 'poor'.

178 Posts
    As decent a player as Twigg is, he seems to be a mouthy, finger pointing whingebag when things arent going his way.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

819 Posts
    If he does get suspended for his celebration then I think he is extremely unlucky but like someone said above the camera just moved away for a split second and it looks like he may have made some type of gesture but the bottles were been tossed at that stage but 2 wrongs dont make a right so im really not sure whats going to happen but 150 euro of a fine for throwing tones and tones of bottles onto the pitch is simply not enough.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

67 Posts
    Delighted, this is far from the first time Twigg has gone out of his way to celebrate in front of opposition fans, and there's absolutely no doubt he gestured towards the Bohs fans just as the camera went away from him. Hopefully he'll get some cop on now, doubt it though

89 Posts
    How is there absolutely no doubt that he gestured to them? And if he did, which let's face it wasn't more than a clenched fist, if he took his lad out it might just have been mentioned, then a yellow card is according to the rules the correct punishment.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    So, am I right in saying that the referee would have had to be the one who saw the incident and reported it? Even though he gave a yellow card to Twigg at the time? And also, does the rule that applies in English football (that once punishment has been given out by a referee on the pitch, the same offence can't be retroactively punished) apply in the LoI?

He has. As have dozens of players in this league. As do players in leagues across the world. The punishment for that is usually a yellow card, and not a 2 game ban, especially when it's suddenly introduced 3/4 through a season. Like yourself though I'm extremely bemused by the decision and won't believe it until the FAI announce it.
    Our refs and FAi have their own rules, make them up as they go along.

Honestly some of the decisions you see week in week out are baffling.

Sligo lads 2 footed tackle on Kenna tonight didnt get a free, Byrnes brilliant 1 footed tackle on Ryan gets a yellow.
    5-0

very dangerous road for the fai to go down here. 2 game bans for celebrating within 10 yards of the opposing fans, and €150 fines for throwing 12 bottles at a player.
    i know rovers have the appeal in, and hopefully it will contain video evidence of any player we have on film, in our catalogue of games, who has done similar and got away with it.
    the interesting part will be whether the referee has retrospectively put the incident in his match report, or whether the fai acted on a complaint from a steward or fan. if its the former, surely the ref has dealt with the issue on the spot with the yellow card he issued. if it's the latter, let rovers see the evidence, or as i said already, a very dangerous precedent will be set.

445 Posts
    Ridiculous decision if true (i will believe it when i see it) He has done nothing wrong, Its all part of the rivalry, Fans give opposition players abuse and if they score they should be allowed celebrate how they like as long as they are not asaulting fans
    Here on a technicality.

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Ridiculous decision if true (i will believe it when i see it) He has done nothing wrong, Its all part of the rivalry, Fans give opposition players abuse and if they score they should be allowed celebrate how they like as long as they are not asaulting fans
    Think the players have a responsibility to not incite fans, we are not allowed show the never relegated banned in tallaght as it "incites" rovers fans, why should players be allowed incite fans in the same stadium.

If i was a rovers player scoring vs Bohs i would be all up in their faces tho
    5-0

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Think the players have a responsibility to not incite fans, we are not allowed show the never relegated banned in tallaght as it "incites" rovers fans, why should players be allowed incite fans in the same stadium.

If i was a rovers player scoring vs Bohs i would be all up in their faces tho
    Thats just the Gaurds being idiots, It should be allowed aswell
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Well that should be left up too. Most of the thicks that cause trouble at our games are probably too stupid to remember when we were relegated anyway.

I assume that, if Twigg was indeed banned for an offensive gesture, that the FAI has video footage or some other corroborating evidence. I can't see how a straightforward celebration would warrant a two-game ban.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Exactly, Twigg did nothing wrong. Hate when fans give it large all game, cursing and swearing at players and then start moaning when a players celebrates "near them". Fickle

67 Posts
    Thats just the Gaurds being idiots, It should be allowed aswell

No, the Garda were taking the banner down because Shamrock complained about it

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast