Thread: I.w.o.t.o.

firstly i've nothing to do with it either - i know N of the L was being tongue in cheek but just in case there are any misunderstandings: dunno these fellas.

secondly the more i think about the name, the more it grows on me :
    1 confused punter asks what IWOTO stands for
    2 confused punter becomes more confused and asks what it means
    3 punter is now enlightened
    4 punter feels superior to barstoolers
    5 punter makes mental note to be never butt of this or any other secret codes
    6 punter consoles himself with new 'newsletter'(?) after yet another home defeat

Had a read off it and I can't say I was too impressed. I'll be honest when I say I don't see the need for it or understand the motivation behind it. I was very annoyed at the article written by the english fan which listed a number of the things he found at the cross which he missed in english football- among those things was "fighting between the rival fans inside the ground." What kind of image is that going to give for fuks sake. Proof read the thing at least will ye
    Last edited by Éanna; 26/04/2004 at 3:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by xtreme rebel
    Why don't you see the need for it?
    I haven't seen it but I'd imagine the reason is that all the bases are already covered between the matchday mag and 451. Anyone who's interested enough to buy a third city based publication would probably be the type that'll seek out any extra info on the net as it is.

144 Posts

P.s. I have nothing to do with this. Am just curious.
    You make me laugh, You really do.

Why didn't you like it? I suppose it was only a 4 page start and I say fair play to the lads who are doing this. I'm all for City fans doing stuff like this and if everyone did their bit then we would be alot better. IWOTO have said it'll get bigger and one article doesn't make it a bad idea/bad thing.

P.s. I have nothing to do with this. Am just curious.
    I didn't like it for a number of reasons:
    1) I just don't see the need for it. WE have the best programme AND the best fanzine in the country already.
    2) If these guys have something to say can't they send into one of the above.
    3) That article said there was violence in the ground at the Cross- no intellgient human being would have allowed that to slip through knowing it to be untrue AND dmaging to our club

Got a copy, wasn't particularly impressed. I suppose it was only issue one though.

One question for those involved. If and when ye start charging will the money go back into supporting the club, like the 451 lads do?

The answer to this would certainly influence whether I'd be prepared to part with money for the thing. And I believe that trying to create an atmosphere in the ground shouldn't just be left to the 451 lads.
    "Allow children to learn by making their own mistakes, laughing at their stupidity often helps."

I agree with point 3 totally if that's what was printed. With regard the other two, I can't see it affecting the programme or how you can contribute such stuff to the programme. IWOTO have said that it will be out in between 451 issues so I Can't see any effect there either. Perhaps any of the lads involved may have a specific reason for doing this?

Fair play to them anyway is what i say!
    ]

fighting between the rival fans inside the ground.
    is a quote from the article, which you have linked to on your own site.

They could send articles to the fanzine or the programme if they wanted, I'm sure if they were good enough they'd be printed.

Its good to see people making the effort, but I just don't see the need for it when 451 has done such a great job.

I agree that that quote doesn't do any huge favours for the image of the club etc! I only put that up as a request/sampler from the IWOTO guys. I'd support anyone putting in the effort. 451 have done a fantastic job but if it's they guys opinion that they want to do this, then let them give it a go. At the end of they day, it'll come down to choice really. I mean why do City fans reside on different City forums via the internet?? The answer being choice. I would like to think however that any money made would be pumped back into City in some way.
    thats fair enough, I wasn't having a go at you over it at all. I agree its down to choice, and I've made mine. I'm not gonna tell anyonw what they should or shouldn't do, just what I think

Quote Originally Posted by SuperKev
    I sell for 451 and I thinks its a great idea to have some competition in the market. Eanna your fairly harsh on the review no matter how bad it was considering it was their first issue. While i can never see it competing with 451 i can see it doing fairly well and also keep 451 on its toes. I dont like a lot of 451 articles myself as i feel the articles are too alike to the opinions of the lads involved and dont offer enough scope and direction in terms of a balanced read. I have said to the lads in 451 that i think its lost a lot of its wittyness and maybe the lads in I.W.O.T.O could focus on that PERSPECTIVE as it would really offer an alternative to whats already on show. Good luck anyway.
    I might be being harsh, but thats just my opinion. One of my main points is that if people think 451 could do with a breath of fresh air (and i think it could) they should send their own articles in to it. I wrote a lot of articles for 451 before and haven't written one in a long time and the main reason is because i felt i had nothing new to say and i didn't want to keep repeating myself.

When is Eye-What-Oh out next ??

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    When is i.w.o.t.o. out next ??

And what about Eye-What-Oh ???

When is this coming out?, (or has it been brought out already?)

The First issue came out for the drogs game!

I would never bother sending in an article to 451 because i know a lot of my views contradict with member views therefore i know it has no chance of being published
    Bull****!

Youre just a lazy ****!

I would never bother sending in an article to 451 because i know a lot of my views contradict with member views therefore i know it has no chance of being published.
    I don't think that's true. There are always lots of opposing opinions in FourFiveOne.... for example the new 'mass debate' feature, in the last issue it was the case for and against the Rebel Army concept. I must say that I thought the case for it was very convincing and very well written!

Seriously, if you write a good article and provided you're views aren't totally weird (which I know they're not) then I'd say they'd probably print it.
    Champions!

Well Eanna certain people believe its pointless to post in articles cause the only things that appear on the fanzine is stuff that the lads find acceptable to their opinion.

Totally wrong and unfounded ..... the lads never print anything that they dont find "acceptable in their opinion" .... that is just crap ....... if you/anyone who questions it think so, you should read through the fanzine and find that some articles totally at either ends of an argument, no matter what the topic.

And 451 have had meetings for anyone that wanted to get involved in anything they are doing. It also says so on their website and in every fanzine the print. It has been on here every issue before handed asking people if they want to send something, then to do so, by post, email or text.

in short ..... you are totally wrong.

Remember its a small group running it so it only really represents a grouping of Citys fans.

Correct .... but the same can be said for any other thing that make it to print.

Actually .... you point isn't valid .... A fanzine is compiled with articles/news/etc from fans .... it is up to fans to send it in. It is as broad as anyone wants it to be. If you have a point or concern about something, you can send it in. If you dont .... surely you cant blame 451 for this (or are you)

Anyway ... i am rambling ..... you are totally wrong on that point aswell.

IWOTO are bound to have different ideas thus again opening to another City grouping.

Exactly ..... It is good for a club of our size, more of it. And if you wanted to write something into them .... i'd read it (or will you be ársed then either).

Your last two points will apply for them also, you know this i take it.

Some of my friends wont buy the fanzine cause they think its the same stuff and the same opinions all the time.

If they did anything about it, it would change .... again, they can blame 451 because they cant be ársed to put pen to paper, or do they not have any opinions.

While i dont believe this to be true , i do believe they have a point in relation to certain aspects of it.

Ah ... c'mon ... you either do or you dont, also what aspects of it are in question.

I have often thought of setting up my own grouping for a fanzine but i know i am too lacksadasical to take on such a responsibility and i'm glad someone has done so.

Just as well people weren't waiting on you ..... they'd have nothing to read at half time.

I would never bother sending in an article to 451 because i know a lot of my views contradict with member views therefore i know it has no chance of being published and i know i'm not the only one involved who thinks this. I'm just the one who came out and said it.

Again ... you are wrong ..... and you can prove it ..... just follow these steps .......

1. Ask yourself "Have i ever sent anything into 451 ?"

2. If the answer to step 1 is "Yes" then go to step 4.

3. If the answer to step 1 is "No" then go to step 5.

4. Ask yourself "Has it ever been published ?"

5. That is the reason, you didn't send it in, simple really isn't it !!

And just to let you know if your answer to step four was no then, you'd have to ask yourself, was it good enough (are you able to actually write something that people can read) and what it true (if it was complete bullsh!t then 451 cant print it) also ... if something didn't get printed in one issue, you'd find it in the next, space is the problem there.

Man ..... if you or anyone has an issue with 451, then making up reasons for your dislike is not a great solution to be honest. Maybe a better approach would be to approach 451 and let them know you feel that way or you didn't like this or whatever. If they dont know ... then they cant do anything about it.

Or are you just slating them for the sake of it and couldn't be ársed. It isvery easy to sling the shít alright, i'll give you that.

144 Posts
    AFAIK it's out on June 4th for the Pats game.
    And how would you know that ?

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    And how would you know that ?

because it said it in the 1st issue AFAIK......

Well Eanna certain people believe its pointless to post in articles cause the only things that appear on the fanzine is stuff that the lads find acceptable to their opinion.
    I wouldn't agree at all. I've sent things in before that were printed despite the fact that I know some of the lads didn't agree. the simple fact is if the article is good enough: valid, well written and isn't going to get them sued; they'll print it.
    Remember its a small group running it so it only really represents a grouping of Citys fans.
    what's the alternative, make everyone who's ever been in the cross a member of the editorial comittee?

It is a great production though but it has changed since we have had a change of manager for some reason. Alot of anti-Gunther articles have appeared but Dolan doesn't seem to get any harsh treatment. He doesn't deserve it of course but why the inconsistency?
    One of the main things repeated over and over again was that nobody sent in an article defending Murphy at any stage. As for Dolan not getting the same treatment-you've just asnwered your own question by saying he doesn't deserve it!