...and why not?

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Xile View Post
    Sorry guys, but can't make this one.
    Oh sure, you're at all the glamour matches away to Salthill and Wexford, but when tiny little Derry come to town, you couldn't be bothered. Tut tut tut.

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    For friday night people, arrive early. If you can get out to Knockalisheen or to ticketmaster and buy your tickets early.
    Can I buy them in town tomorrow afternoon or will I have to wait til the van opens outside Jackman

Quote Originally Posted by Monkfish View Post
    ...and why not?
    Have to support a few friends of mine
    "Ask not what your club can do for you, but what you can do for your club"

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    Can I buy them in town tomorrow afternoon or will I have to wait til the van opens outside Jackman
    Can buy em in Ticketmaster in town but i think there is a charge.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Can buy em in Ticketmaster in town but i think there is a charge.
    Cheers where in town is that?

Quote Originally Posted by harpin View Post
    Cheers where in town is that?
    In where empire music used to be. In the discount store.

Jackman Park

Arrangements for Limerick FC v Derry City, Friday 20th August

Wednesday 18th August 2010

The following arrangements will be in place for Limerick FC's match against Derry City on Friday 20th August:

•No parking in the ground. Supervised parking will be provided at Value Centre, Carey's Road.
    •Purchase Tickets Early. Tickets are available from Limerick FC's office at Knockalisheen House, from Ticketmaster outlets and online at www.ticketmaster.ie
    •Ticket Box will be located on the green area opposite the entrance to Jackman Park.
    Ticket Box will open at 6:45pm.
    •Gates Open 7:00pm
    •Please comply with any instructions from stewards or other authorised personnel.
    Thank you for your co-operation.
    LTID

have to say that was brutal tonight. Every big game at home this year Limerick have bottled it.We'll be back to the same couple of hundred heads for the rest of the season. They gave Derry far to much respect.Another year in Div1 i'm afraid.
    "We've had a lot of good times, but you don't know how good they are until you have the bad ones" Tony Adams

Ya absolutely ****e. Limerick set up to be defensive at home. ****ing ridiculous setting up like that. Limerick hadn't got to second in the league by sitting back and defending. Never ever looked like scoring. A couple of chances that Derry defended well. We let them have all the ball and paid the price. Much deserved win. Derry celebrated big time at the final whistle and rightly so. I said in another thread if they win tonight they will go on to beat Waterford next week and win the league handy in the end. Looks like this will be the case.

Waterford 1pt
    Cork 3pts
    Monaghan 1pt
    Derry 6pts

Thats 11 pts given up at home to teams at the top. That is way too high a tally if you ask me and Cork are yet to come to Jackman Park again.

Tonights match was nearly a carbon copy of the game against them earlier in the season. The tactic didn't work then and it didn't work tonight. G

I get the feeling even if we make the playoffs we will bottle it in those big games.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by LK37oldskool View Post
    have to say that was brutal tonight. Every big game at home this year Limerick have bottled it.We'll be back to the same couple of hundred heads for the rest of the season. They gave Derry far to much respect.Another year in Div1 i'm afraid.

spot on. yet again when the big games arrives limerick and the manager bottle it and to be honest limerick GAA footballers are the same winning line in sight and bottle it same with hurling. it runs through limerick city sporting capital my arse. o sullivan in the middle of the field was the best player on show and scully takes him off everyone around me could not believe it. sean kelly right full your better off havin sean kelly the cyclist a RF shocking headless chicken. clarke did not do a tap should of been hooked at half time. bobby ryan might aswell go to pike now harmless all he wants is his money and the end of the week.

limerick writing on newspapers begging to come down and support them when they get the crowd they yet again fail to turn up how do they expect to get support

Agree with you Thomas, O Sullivan was one of only two players actually playing well. Purcell was the other. Heary couldn't handle the pace of the game at all. I think White could have done a much better job than him had he been on since the start.

I think Clarke really messed his chances up of starting again for the next couple of games. Every time Clarke seems to get a few starts he gets very lazy. He was excellent when he came on against Athlone, wasn't up to too much against Mervue but worked hard and was non existent tonight. Same goes for O Flynn. The one thing i will say in their defense is that they seemed to be asked to play very defensive and anytime either of them got any bit of ball they where totally isolated.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Agree with you Thomas, O Sullivan was one of only two players actually playing well. Purcell was the other. Heary couldn't handle the pace of the game at all. I think White could have done a much better job than him had he been on since the start.

I think Clarke really messed his chances up of starting again for the next couple of games. Every time Clarke seems to get a few starts he gets very lazy. He was excellent when he came on against Athlone, wasn't up to too much against Mervue but worked hard and was non existent tonight. Same goes for O Flynn. The one thing i will say in their defense is that they seemed to be asked to play very defensive and anytime either of them got any bit of ball they where totally isolated.

just thinking there scullys interviews over the last month saying he reckons limerick are the best team in the league is he mad iv seen derry twice now and there far superior to limerick

Yes far far far superior. Wouldn't say the same about the other teams but definitely Derry are way ahead of Limerick.

Gutted, awful performance. Derry deserved the win, even if it appeared we were asleep for their goalscorer to race through. Every big game, every big crowd, we don't show up...that's too much of a pattern now lads, that's a Scully problem. I was hoping O'Flynn would be out for JT & Clarke to start up front. Stevo is a big name but he has been awful the last few games (tonight, Mervue, Athlone). I was happy enough to see the 3 changes being made so early but its always a risk and they wouldn't have been needed if the starting 11 hadn't been so wrong or the team had been prepared properly or a decent gameplan was used.

Derry were in the Savoy Thursday night....obviously took the prep very seriously and have the money to spend. (I'm assuming perhaps incorrectly that a 2 night stay is not normal for a 1st division game).

Great crowd...and unlike the 1400 against Cork on Good Friday it was heavily a home crowd, makes the performance even more disappointing. Feck it, playoffs are still a possibility, lets hope we finish 3rd and have to play away.

hi Lads, I was at the game tonight and thought Kelly did ok against there lad as he was a really good player...one of the bst wingers i have seen in Loi, Did not see anything special in sullivan to be honest , he passed it well when it came to him but did not win any tackles and looked to be strolling . i would have brought Judge on earlier for Heary and maybe Kiely and JT FOR THE pace, Btw the shed was unusually quiet tonight

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Daydreamer View Post
    hi Lads, I was at the game tonight and thought Kelly did ok against there lad as he was a really good player...one of the bst wingers i have seen in Loi, Did not see anything special in sullivan to be honest , he passed it well when it came to him but did not win any tackles and looked to be strolling . i would have brought Judge on earlier for Heary and maybe Kiely and JT FOR THE pace, Btw the shed was unusually quiet tonight
    Thats because we are sick of the same old s**t every year .

We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? Doesn't look to me like he gives a f**k.

Any junior 3b teams want Sean Kelly?

Wont get promoted will fold under any kind of pressure.

Thats because we are sick of the same old s**t every year .

We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? Doesn't look to me like he gives a f**k.

Any junior 3b teams want Sean Kelly?

Wont get promoted will fold under any kind of pressure.
    I agree i think O'flynn thinks his a big time charlie never wants to put in work...Limerick were lacking a play maker i thought Ryan would be that type of player but doesnt look so hopefully i am wrong...Why all doom and gloom ye lost but ye still have a great chance for promotion..this has been the best season in years for limerick
    Last edited by Boroman; 20/08/2010 at 11:07 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by fieldofmarkets View Post
    Every big game, every big crowd, we don't show up...that's too much of a pattern now lads, that's a Scully problem.
    Been happening long before Scully took over.

1,025 Posts
    We were crap absolute crap Stevo too comfortable with his 2 year contract maybe? .
    Quote Originally Posted by Boroman View Post
    I agree i think O'flynn thinks his a big time charlie never wants to put in work.
    In fairness, Dave Ryan smashes the ball up in the air, and by the time it gets to him, he had a Derry defender behind him and one either side of him, and no Limerick player within 20 yards. There's not much he could do tonight with the way he was marked.