Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Shamrock Rovers fans held after rampage in rivals' pub

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran W View Post
    i watched them for the rest of the game and neither of them looked at the game once they just stood there stoned out of their faces.
    So that made 3 of yous not watching the game
    Here on a technicality.

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    this incident has nothing to do with football/LOI fans here or anywhere else. I would expect shams will ban anyone convicted but what the hell else can any club do about a few scumbags acting the ******** miles from the club and hours after the match ?
    Find this post interesting, considering your post on your own forum.

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtop...=280694#280694
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

You got me there but obviously i wasnt watchin them the whole time but you know what i mean
    Ahhh

141 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Having said that, even though these guys were obviously morons, i dont know why it was necessary to identify that these were "Shamrock Rovers fans". Its just another public order offence that probably wouldnt have been put in the papers if there wasnt a LOI twist to it. Its pretty disappointing but to be expected at this stage.
    It's the Turbine, what do you expect? Though the fact they are redesigning the paper AGAIN suggests it may be on its last legs, so we won;t have to put up with it from them for much longer
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

175 Posts
    Eight Shamrock Rovers fans were arrested last Sunday after causing extensive damage to a Dublin pub following a fixture against rival club Bohemians.

After the match, which took place in Tallaght Stadium, Rovers' home ground, about 20 fans travelled by bus from Tallaght to the Phibsborough House pub on the northside of the city
    There is no direct bus from Tallaght to over there.

Not doubting there were arrests, but there's no proof nor quotes in the article stating it was our fans either.
    Last edited by mypost; 17/08/2010 at 7:59 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

2,657 Posts
    the article doesnt claim there was a direct bus at all.

what constitutes proof then?

Assuming this story is indeed true, a "minority" of at least 30 fans left Tallaght and went about traveling 17 kilometers across the city to cause a fight in what is a quiet local pub. Regardless of the status, relationship or otherwise that these people's links to SRFC are, there is no way that the SRFC club or board can not be in control of 30 fans like this. However, it's utterly unlikely that said same bunch would go to this much effort to cause havoc without any SRFC club officials or fans being aware of who they are and any inaction by them is unacceptable.
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

175 Posts
    There's nothing our club can do to stop free people smashing up pubs, but seriously nobody is going to travel an hour and a half by bus from one end of Dublin to the other, via two buses, just to smash up a pub, never mind 20 such people. If it was our fans involved, we'd have found out inside 24 hours.

The story is a week late and so off the wall, to be taken seriously.
    Last edited by mypost; 16/08/2010 at 8:55 PM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

It's believable.

It's those propah nawty football factories mongs innit.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Nobody is going to travel an hour and a half by bus from one end of Dublin to the other, via two buses, just to smash up a pub. Never mind 20 such people. The story is a week late and so off the wall, to be believable.
    A taxi man told me about this last Wednesday, To be honest i took no notice when he was saying it
    Here on a technicality.

105 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl View Post
    Assuming this story is indeed true, a "minority" of at least 30 fans left Tallaght and went about traveling 17 kilometers across the city to cause a fight in what is a quiet local pub. Regardless of the status, relationship or otherwise that these people's links to SRFC are, there is no way that the SRFC club or board can not be in control of 30 fans like this. However, it's utterly unlikely that said same bunch would go to this much effort to cause havoc without any SRFC club officials or fans being aware of who they are and any inaction by them is unacceptable.
    It might be a surprise to you but not all Shams supporters live in Tallaght!!! And if you're looking for a dance after/before football with all Guardians of the peace around the ground it wouldn't be uncommon for incidents like this to happen in a place some what similar to the location in the article.

It's a nothing story really, if it was 8 GAA fans arrested it wouldn't be printed.

305 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    It might be a surprise to you but not all Shams supporters live in Tallaght!!! And if you're looking for a dance after/before football with all Guardians of the peace around the ground it wouldn't be uncommon for incidents like this to happen in a place some what similar to the location in the article.

It's a nothing story really, if it was 8 GAA fans arrested it wouldn't be printed.
    100%.
    Happens more often than the Gaaliban or the media would ever admit,right down to parish club level.

473 Posts
    And incidentally, a few thrown glasses, and a broken window or two, all contained within the one public house?

WORST

RAMPAGE

EVER!

There's nothing our club can do to stop free people smashing up pubs, but seriously nobody is going to travel an hour and a half by bus from one end of Dublin to the other, via two buses, just to smash up a pub, never mind 20 such people. If it was our fans involved, we'd have found out inside 24 hours.

When Bohs fans smashed up a pub we were quick to condemn it, paid for the damages and barred those responsible. I read a couple of posts around the internet since the match saying that there was an article coming - see the press thread on the ultras forum.

Jesus mypost, do you think every negative story about rovers is a lie? Who else do you think is going to go into a well known Bohs pub and smash it up on the evening of derby day? Pats fans trying to give rovers a bad name? Coked up journalists? Bohs players out to kick the fans in the teeth yet again?
    They were Rovers casuals. End of. They travelled all the way accross town almost five hours after the game ended to smash up a pub they knew was Bohs. Several of them were caught on CCTV and there were witnesses.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post

It might be a surprise to you too but SRFC fans do travel to and from Tallaght on match days; where they live has nothing to do with this at all. The mere fact, however, that such a large group went to such effort to pull off this stunt in the afternoon not long after a derby match in Tallaght sure tells you a lot but if you wish to consider 30, yes, 30 people going across town to thrash a pub a non incident then shame on you.
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

43 Posts
    Strange article, surprised the first mention of the incident was in a Sunday newspaper a full week after the event. I would have expected if "rovers scum" had smashed up a pub full of bohs fans it would have been on gypoweb that night or the next morning but not a word about it. How does the reporter know they travelled by bus? How does the reporter know they were Rovers fans? No quotes in the article at all. It's a story that wouldn't have got past the editor unless the words Shamrock Rovers were attached.

It seems all 8 were teenagers 5 of which were underage in the pub. This sounds like a few bebo schooligans arranged "a meet" with their counterparts in phibsboro. I bet if you had a look at their bebo/facebook pages you'd see them threatening each other all week prior to the game. Fuc*ing eejits. I'd expect the club to ban them if/when they are convicted but theres shag all we can do to stop public order offences happening on the other side of the city 5 hours after a match.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shedendinvisibl View Post
    It might be a surprise to you too but SRFC fans do travel to and from Tallaght on match days; where they live has nothing to do with this at all. The mere fact, however, that such a large group went to such effort to pull off this stunt in the afternoon not long after a derby match in Tallaght sure tells you a lot but if you wish to consider 30, yes, 30 people going across town to thrash a pub a non incident then shame on you.
    The article says 20 which is a nice round number but then again the article says a lot of things that can't be established as fact like how they got there for starters. The Garda spokesman says there were 3 arrests and 5 questioned which makes that 8 to me. But lets say it was 20, there was a crowd of over 5200 at the match. 20 out of 5200 = 0.4% of the overall crowd which cannot be considered "such a large group" as you allege. We can't even be sure these gobsh1tes were at the match never mind do anything to stop them having a fight in a bar hours after a match had taken place.
    Last edited by HulaHoop; 17/08/2010 at 9:50 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Why can no one ever accept responsibilty? other than say what others have done. the old phrase get your own house in order etc springs to mind.

There has to be less blame culture and more responsibility and acceptance. One family, which is what I often hear on these threads about the LOI community.
    What can any club do about an incident on the other side of a city, hours after a match? What are you looking for "anyone" to take responsibility for? Responsibility for policing is with the Gardai. Do we have legislation for banning orders, which is what clubs actually need to ban people (effectively) for football related trouble? Has Ahern moved to bring any in since the last incident that the media went to town on?

Also, who the fook has ever used "one family"? Maybe some marketing knob in the FAI (I'm not sure even they are that naff), but I've never heard a fan use it.

As ever, the Irish media highlight this issue with regard to the LoI, and no doubt it will be used as a stick to beat the league with. How many incidents happened in the UK after matches over the weekend, never mind a season. Does that stop pages of coverage of the actual matches, supplements etc? Does it even get a bloody mention?

3,268 Posts
    "Football family" is a favourite of the FAI. It basically means "We all are in this together, so don't rock the boat and do exactly what we tell you"

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast