Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: LOI fans

LOI fans

Alri lads, i was just wondering how long all of yous have been going to the league of ireland matches and do Yous go to every game, including cup, friendly and european games ?
    Ahhh

This is my first season and I get to all the home games I can.
    (I've 2 small kids, so can't really commit to away games yet.)

Not been to any of the friendlies or European games but the LSL semi & final.

First game ever around 30 years ago.

Have been going to Cork City games since 1984. Have a season ticket and try to go to most home games and at least one away game a year.
    I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?

This is my second season and i have only missed 6 games(including cup, friendly and european games) due to family reason and holidays, ive only been to 4 away games but all of them have been in the last 4 months and i am planning on going to as many as possible from now on.
    Ahhh

999 Posts
    My first season supporting Limerick was either 1987-88 or 1988-89. Would have been to pretty much every home game for the whole of the 90's, then left Ireland and saw only one game in seven years. Have never made it to more than a handful of away games a season though, due to school and family.

After all that time, I still haven't been to Richmond Park, the Brandywell, Finn Park, the Showgrounds, Tallaght and CHP in Monaghan (and previously Gortakeegan).

In all that time I've never missed a game with Limerick in Europe though, which I'm proud of.
    Last edited by osarusan; 15/08/2010 at 10:31 PM. Reason: including Richmond Park

Was brought to my first Pats game by my grandad who was club secretary at the time. It was Shels v Pats in tolka in about 1996, would of been about 5 at the time.

Been going to games consistantly for the last 3/4 years. Go to every home game and since last season the majority of away games too. Away trips are better craic

32 Posts
    I just went in to use the toilet, and they havn't let me leave since.

473 Posts
    My dad started bringing me to games towards the end of 2003. He's not from the area, he's English, but he reckoned going to see your local team was just something you did.

I've been pretty sporadic in my attendance, for the first few seasons we'd make maybe 5 or 6 home games a year, then the season before last, I started going whenever I could, with or without my dad. I've made a few away trips in my time, but never further away than Dublin.

Every home and away game! Cup, Legaue, EA, MSC, Friendly! (Except for one stupid trip to longford that i missed BUT Longford doesnt count )

Fair play to you frosty !
    Ahhh

Always kept an eye out for them in the paper, properly went to games from 2007 onwards.

Don't go as much anymore though. Nobody in my area really does, they used to though. Ah, those were the days.

Who do you support Riddickcule ?
    Ahhh

447 Posts
    first game in 98 against CSKA Kiev, these days I try and get to as many games as I can, regardless of the competition

The Wanderers

48 Posts
    Sept '85 for me

I've missed 11 home games including friendlies since because of holidays.Was an ever present at away games up until two years ago very rarely missing any.Decided to only pick my away games since though.

I've only missed two (I think) European games since '97.Still paying for my '06 three away games
    Last edited by Candystripe; 16/08/2010 at 3:48 AM.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

3,215 Posts
    First ever LoI game was the 1991 Cup Final (technically, it wasn't a LoI game, but anyway...)

First UCD game was 1998 I think; UCD v Waterford. Been going to most games since then. First away game outside Dublin was April 2000 against Drogheda, the 5-0 that got us into Europe. Thought all away games would be like that.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    First games would have been in Bray around the 01/02 season, I think I saw them play Bohs twice and Longford once, I remember being very impressed by a young Gary O'Neil coming off the bench for Bohs in both games. It was probably 2006 before I went to more games, I went to see Bohs 3 or 4 times that year and then Wexford Youths came along and I headed to all their games in Dublin as well as taking in a few more Bohs and Pat's games. I moved to Tallaght around the same time as Rovers so I've had a season ticket to Tallaght the last couple of years and only missed about 4 games in all competitions, as well as going to a few Pat's games and the Bohs v Salzburg game. I don't really see myself as a Rovers fan though and I haven't been to any Rovers away games, I just love live football and the League of Ireland and I think it'd be a terrible waste not to go and watch the team that's 5 minutes walk away. I'll admit I'm getting more and more into the games now and maybe eventually I'll be converted.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Try to get to every game. Have a few complete seasons in there but gets harder with more responsibilities (and summer football bringing clashes with weddings and the like). I always complain to friends who schedule weddings etc that clash with Pats games.

Been to 6 away games in europe. Only missed Russia and Bucharest due to pregnant wife. And yeah I moaned to her too

PI, do you go to the ultra or family stand ?
    Ahhh

185 Posts
    Brought along by my dad when I was about 5 or 6. 14 years later and I'm still dragging myself out to the Flansiro as often as I can manage, and to the few away games that I can afford to get to. Student budgets ain't easy to manage. Our last season in the Premier was the closest I came to getting to every game, only missed 5 or 6 I think. Only been to one of our 3 away European games....that famous night in Wales. Couldn't afford Bulgaria and was on holidays for Vaduz. Best moment supporting the Town would be Shane Barrett rolling in the 2nd goal v Pats in the 2003 Cup Final. Closely followed by Paul Keegan doing the same 12 months later. Promotion in Cobh comes a close 3rd. Worst moment would definitely be Carmarthen, although the night we got relegated would give it a run for it's money.

We'll be back up...some day.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast