Page 48 of 86 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

I thought Stewie Byrne had retired ,its his own perogative if he is going to bohs as player coach. I dont understand where is Pete Mahon is coming from as he is no longer a pats player!

445 Posts
    I thought Stewie Byrne had retired ,its his own perogative if he is going to bohs as player coach. I dont understand where is Pete Mahon is coming from as he is no longer a pats player!
    Just to be clear, Pete never mentioned Stuey Byrne, Bohs fans just THINK thats who he is talking about
    Here on a technicality.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    In what way am I doing this?

Bohs are financially in dire straights, yet seem to be intending to put together a squad of established LoI players that would look like being part of a contending or top-half team (Heary, Oman, Murphy, possibly Byrne et al) and are employing one of the leading managers.

Everyone understands that these players and staff will be on reduced terms from last year (although was Fenlon's deal ever re-negotiated?) but paying anything for such players instead of whatever can be cobbled together for almost nothing gives the impression that Bohs aren't in an incredibly prevarious financial position.

I don't think that's twisting facts or trying to spin a story in a particular way.
    because - you should wait and see what these players are costing us and what the new wage structure the club has implemented is like. It is, with a couple of exceptions, part-time/amateur wages. As Rovers should know it is actually a clubs market at the moment. In other words, the wages that players have been paid across the league have reduced dramatically. The economic implosion has lead to a scenario where these wages have dropped even more. It is possible to sign players like Stu Byrne, Owen Heary and some of the others you listed on what are otherwise considered first div wages. They are no longer premier players and they realise that too.

Where you do possibly have a point is re Fenlon and i have been calling for him to be let go purely from a financial view point. However, he is under contract. It is a large contract. If we break it it is another settlement that has to be made. If we do retain PD status then who better than Fenlon to keep us up with our ragtag assortment of young fellas, a couple of decent players and experienced has beens. He also has sell-on/compensation value and cross-channel clubs have him on their radar. So there is a justification that can be made there too.

Another aspect is that the funds we have raised that are presently tied up are expected to finance the cost of resigning some of the 7 players who we are negotiating a settlement with (as well as the settlement itself) so they are, in essence, paid for and that is based on them re-signing on "drastically reduced terms" - the players words.

All im saying is it is not as black and white as you are painting it to be. Lets see what comes out of the wash over the next few week, thats all.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Just to be clear, Pete never mentioned Stuey Byrne, Bohs fans just THINK thats who he is talking about
    out of interest, have you heard anything different yourself PS?
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    out of interest, have you heard anything different yourself PS?
    Pete was talking about Stuey Byrne at the Patron Saints meeting on Wednesday night, he said that Stuey told him he was retiring and he was surprised to see him go over to the thing in Norway, that was it. I reckon he is talking about more than one player tbh

I have no problem with what Fenlon is doing tho, yous will need players lined up for when all the messy stuff is over
    Here on a technicality.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Pete was talking about Stuey Byrne at the Patron Saints meeting on Wednesday night, he said that Stuey told him he was retiring and he was surprised to see him go over to the thing in Norway, that was it. I reckon he is talking about more than one player tbh

I have no problem with what Fenlon is doing tho, yous will need players lined up for when all the messy stuff is over
    & Stuey was interviewed by The Star AFTER Norway, he said that he is retiring , as at 34 he needs to concentrate on his (non-football) work & that playing part-time hinders that. It would need to be a good offer to keep him from his business for another season & he hasn't had any such offer (by the time of the interview).
    http://trophymanager.com/?c=489688
    Trophy Manager - online football managment game - I like it - I think I'm getting obsessed with it though.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    re Carton House, we are not paying for it. Jicked why dont you get your insider (whats his name - ah yes, the Whistleblower) to log in to the members forum and get the full facts for himself and share them here instead of half the story?

I work with 5 different Unions on a daily basis myself. I also have a pretty good insight into what they are like and what motivates them. I'll ask you again, who's idea do you think it was? Not that it really matters i suppose.

You might think my statement was petty but i find you following me around this forum like a homeless mutt pretty annoying so forgive me if i call you out on it.
    Dont flatter yourself stu, its a forum where you can reply to post made by others same like the way you keep replying to me especially on the Fingal thread.

As who's idea it was , i dont care who it was but it was a dam good idea.
    Last edited by The Lep; 22/01/2011 at 11:29 PM.

2,770 Posts
    Fingal has a forum? Trust me, ive never been on it.

61 Posts
    Read it again .

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0122/bohemians.html

Are we talking about prize money for last place (which has happened before) or something more than that?
    This is the same FAI who would lend Cobh Rambers money not so long ago because of it being an unfair advantage over other teams. What a joke they are.
    They always cheat, they always lie
    **** Delaney and the FAI

185 Posts
    So the FAI are bailing out bohs.
    You can take a loan of the "FAI's Model Club" tag for a month or so if youse like but we'll be needing it back once the season gets underway.

should we pre-empt things and start up a new thread entitled "deadly Zurich bank try to shut down our lovable rogue neighbours bohs" once 2012 comes around?
    bohs are like eastenders!(dont watch fair city as its full o skobies)
    will they/wont they...

as for pete mahon- shut your face you whingin ,begrudgin dubballin spanner.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

38 Posts
    Its not fair its just not fair those chaps are not playing by the rules..

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    What a club. Meanwhile over on GypoWeb they're not bothered by this fact but just giving out about Pete Mahon whinging. Incredible

Also according to that same messageboard, Bohs are training in Carton House, with established pros like Heary, Oman, O'Connor, Barry Murphy and Madden being led by Pat Fenlon and Liam O'Brien.

I guess their logic is that if they just get in to the Europa League group stages this year all their problems are over. How could anyone, even Bohs fans, possibly think badly of Shelley and Grey after this.
    Would they be the players seeking compensation for Bohs not honouring their contracts next year ? Yes. Would the players be attending training to avoid any claim they are not honouring contracts ?Yes (and probobly to maintain fitness in case they get another club). Are any of them currently receiving pay ? No (with possible exception of Madden)

Your ongoing fixation with Bohs message board is no doubt flattering to those running it (personally I would never read the always-ultra site) but if you want to quote then do so in context.
    By the way Jicked people on this site - foot.ie - (including shams supporters) commented on Pete Mahon whinging, is that OK or "incredible" ? opposition manager comments on Bohs results in comments on Bohs message board - WOW, what a shocker
    As has been pointed, out Carton House is not costing Bohs anything so, again, whats the problem ?

No remote connection between the above points and Shelley/Grey issue so hardly likely to influence how Bohs fans feel about them anyway - presumably your position on the two would be the exact same if they were trying to wind up shams via court action ?

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    No remote connection between the above points and Shelley/Grey issue so hardly likely to influence how Bohs fans feel about them anyway - presumably your position on the two would be the exact same if they were trying to wind up shams via court action ?
    Stop with the BS - you should know that is not their objective; they simply want to get paid

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Stop with the BS - you should know that is not their objective; they simply want to get paid
    I am perfectly aware of their aims just as we all are of their actions - what does seeking a winding up order mean to you if not seeking to wind up the club ? its pretty striaghtforward really.

facts are (1) Shelley/Grey Objective = to get paid.(2) Shelley/Grey method = seek winding up order against club. No BS no ambiguity.

3,488 Posts
    A winding up order means they're trying to force the club's hand to pay them, having gotten sick of listening to promises of when they'll get paid. It's really not rocket science, mb.

427 Posts
    A winding up order means they're trying to force the club's hand to pay them, having gotten sick of listening to promises of when they'll get paid. It's really not rocket science, mb.
    there were other options (Industrial relations,payment of wages Act etc) open to the players concerned other than seeking a winding up order (that IS what they have done whatever the reason(s)). The club has consistently said end January was its target date for agreement with all players (what promises of when they will get paid ?????). The fact is that these two players are emigrating and uped the ante to maximise the payoff they get for next seasons contract - currently seeking 26 weeks gross pay - before their position was weakened by not being available to fulfill the contract they are so eager for Bohs to honour.

3,488 Posts
    I'm aware it IS what they've done. The point is that the reason they've done it isn't to wind the company up; it's merely to get paid what they're owed.

427 Posts
    I'm aware it IS what they've done. The point is that the reason they've done it isn't to wind the company up; it's merely to get paid what they're owed.
    Their objective was acknowledged by me 4/5 posts back so whats your point ? Still waiting for some proof of the "promises of when they will get paid" you referred to.

3,488 Posts
    My point is that this -
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs
    I am perfectly aware of their aims just as we all are of their actions - what does seeking a winding up order mean to you if not seeking to wind up the club ? its pretty striaghtforward really.
    - is nonsense.

As to promises of when they'll get paid, I'll direct you to the concept of "pay day" for starters.

Page 48 of 86 FirstFirst ... 38464748495058 ... LastLast