Page 47 of 86 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    You again...

yeah, i forgot that Shelley was an expert in company law and Grey a well known labour law professional.

Out of interest, whose idea do you think it was?
    You post on a football board that it was McGuinness' idea. But the truth is you only assume it was his idea. Have you forgotten that they have a solicitor ?
    Dont be posting things you cant prove to be true.

Whats with the "You again"?
    Last edited by The Lep; 21/01/2011 at 9:41 PM.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    You post on a football board that it was McGuinness' idea. But the truth is you only assume it was his idea. Have you forgotten that they have a solicitor ?

Whoever came up with the idea doesn't really matter, the fact that the PFAI/McGuinness pulled the strings to allow it be hosted in Abbotstown shows that he was more than happy to agree with it.

The whole idea of a union having their offices with the FAI is a whole other thing which needs looked at.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

A deal agreed by then Union chief Fran Gavin, who's now...

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post

The whole idea of a union having their offices with the FAI is a whole other thing which needs looked at.

I've been saying that since we first got the tour at the first fans forum out there in Abbottstown.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

2,770 Posts

Gilhooley is the PFAI solicitor. McGuinness is the Union rep. Unions like to go legal. Between the two of them they figured this out. My main point was it was not the players. Its really not that difficult.

The "you again" reference is also pretty straightforward.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    I imagine that the most likely scenario is that the tactic of the court action was suggested by the PFAI (Gilhooley / McGuinness) but was obviously agreed to by the players involved. In that sense it is really irrelevant who actually suggested it.

While it would certainly be preferable not to take an action with such potentially drastic consequences, the reality of it is that the action required to ensure an avoidence of a winding up order is in the hands of the Bohs board.

I certainly would not like to see Bohs wound up, but I have a grudging admiration for the tatic employed by the players/PFAI, which I believe significantly increases their prospects of getting paid sooner rather then later.

89 Posts
    What a club. Meanwhile over on GypoWeb they're not bothered by this fact but just giving out about Pete Mahon whinging. Incredible

Dispute to rumble on into next week

Irish Times

The dispute between Bohemians and their remaining senior players will rumble on into next week after a day of talks yesterday, overseen by FAI chief executive John Delaney and League director Fran Gavin, failed to produce a settlement between the two sides.

Despite a lack of face-to-face meetings between the two sides, club officials described the process as having been “positive” and suggested progress had been made.

They said they were available to re-enter talks whenever required, but in a brief statement issued last night, the PFAI said they did not expect any further announcements to be made before Monday.

The dispute, over the terms in which nine players can agree to forfeit the remainder of their contracts with the club, has been going since the end of last season and a number of the players affected have been angered by the terms that have been on the table – equivalent to 13 weeks’ net pay – as well as the club’s inability to pay what they were offering until the past week or so.

Two players, Steven Gray and Brian Shelley, have initiated legal action aimed at having the club wound up in an attempt to secure some of their back pay, but the club have insisted any such payment must count towards the final severance settlement.

The ongoing problems have prevented Pat Fenlon from assembling a squad for the coming season and the Bohemians boss has been working for the past few weeks with a squad comprised mainly of last year’s under-21 squad along with a handful of senior players, who, it seems, will most likely not be around come the start of the season.

At Richmond Park, however, Pete Mahon says he has been angered by reports Bohemians have been approaching players about joining for the coming campaign before the current situation is resolved.

“I’m going by what I’m reading in the papers here,” he said. “But if it’s true it seems wrong to me that they can be looking to sign players before they have sorted out the lads who are already at the club.

“Having said that I hope that Pat does manage to put a good squad together in the end because the league needs a strong Bohemians.”

Mahon confirmed the signing of midfielder Paul Crowley yesterday along with the re-signing of Dave Mulcahy.

The deals bring to 17 the number of senior players at the club for the new season, with Daryl Kavanagh, Brian Shorthall and the McMillan brothers, David and Evan, the other new recruits.

The Dubliners are now looking at signing two players from England, although two of the three possible targets are currently on trials with other clubs.

“We feel that we’ve done fairly well in the close season and these lads would probably be the end of it if we got them. If we did, we’d have a strong squad and while Shamrock Rovers and Sligo Rovers (who have been linked with a move for Bohemians winger Killian Brennan) are most people’s favourites for the league, we’d certainly like to feel we can improve on the fifth we managed last year.”
    Also according to that same messageboard, Bohs are training in Carton House, with established pros like Heary, Oman, O'Connor, Barry Murphy and Madden being led by Pat Fenlon and Liam O'Brien.

I guess their logic is that if they just get in to the Europa League group stages this year all their problems are over. How could anyone, even Bohs fans, possibly think badly of Shelley and Grey after this.
    Last edited by Jicked; 22/01/2011 at 10:54 AM.

1,025 Posts
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2011/0122/bohemians.html

FAI could lend Bohemians money

The FAI could lend Bohemians money to pay their players and help the Dalymount Park club secure a future in the League of Ireland.
    The Irish Independent claims the FAI could now pay the players the money they are owed and the footballing body would then deduct any future prize money Bohemians win to claim back the cash.
    Are we talking about prize money for last place (which has happened before) or something more than that?

its on their forum that they are training at Carton House, nice.
    Everyone deserves a bit of luxury now and again.

22 Posts
    If is just a general loan then the whole thing has stooped even lower imo, no way should the FAI bail out bohs.It would be a huge two fingers from the FAI to every club who did their business right last season and open a can of worms.

61 Posts
    Gilhooley is the PFAI solicitor. McGuinness is the Union rep. Unions like to go legal. Between the two of them they figured this out. My main point was it was not the players. Its really not that difficult.

The "you again" reference is also petty .
    Fixed that for you. You have no proof to say 100% that it was the idea of Mcguinness. You now say that your point was that it wasnt the idea of the players yet you have been out about them in taking the action they did. Make your mind up stu.
    I know enough about unions from my own work to understand how they work.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    its on their forum that they are training at Carton House, nice.
    Everyone deserves a bit of luxury now and again.
    If it was good enough for real madrid it must be good for Bohs.

220 Posts
    I have to say when I heard Bohs were in huge financial difficulties I had a wee chuckle to myself. I remember all them years ago when the deal was mentioned about Dalymount been purchased and Bohs matching Man City in the bank satements! They played us in Flancare that weekend and all their supporters were in the stand waving euro notes and singing Abba's 'money, money, money'. Instead of claiming they had lots of it I think now they were actually looking for some money!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Played the Bohs fans team today in the UCL, I reckon it was good prep for their step up to the A League
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

2,770 Posts
    re Carton House, we are not paying for it. Jicked why dont you get your insider (whats his name - ah yes, the Whistleblower) to log in to the members forum and get the full facts for himself and share them here instead of half the story?

Fixed that for you. You have no proof to say 100% that it was the idea of Mcguinness. You now say that your point was that it wasnt the idea of the players yet you have been out about them in taking the action they did. Make your mind up stu.
    I know enough about unions from my own work to understand how they work.
    I work with 5 different Unions on a daily basis myself. I also have a pretty good insight into what they are like and what motivates them. I'll ask you again, who's idea do you think it was? Not that it really matters i suppose.

You might think my statement was petty but i find you following me around this forum like a homeless mutt pretty annoying so forgive me if i call you out on it.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

re Carton House, we are not paying for it.
    How can Bohs get a place like Carton for free!?

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    At Richmond Park, however, Pete Mahon says he has been angered by reports Bohemians have been approaching players about joining for the coming campaign before the current situation is resolved.

“I’m going by what I’m reading in the papers here,” he said. “But if it’s true it seems wrong to me that they can be looking to sign players before they have sorted out the lads who are already at the club.

again - the player he is talking about is Stuey Byrne and looking to sign him on amateur/part-time terms. Not everything is a screw up. We have to have players to put on the pitch next year and if we can get Byrne for cheap then wheres the problem?

89 Posts
    again - the player he is talking about is Stuey Byrne and looking to sign him on amateur/part-time terms. Not everything is a screw up. We have to have players to put on the pitch next year and if we can get Byrne for cheap then wheres the problem?
    After everything that has gone on at Bohs, when people hear from that they "have to put out eleven players of some description, so why not Heary, Stuey Byrne, Barry Murphy, Ken Oman, Paddy Madden and coached by Pat Fenlon and Liam O'Brien" it gives the impression that the mentality at Bohs hasn't really changed at all. Replace that lot with available underage, A Championship or First Division players and spare everyone another Johnny Logan fundraising gig.

2,770 Posts
    again, your twisting things and omitting facts to give yourself and others that impression whilst ignoring the other aspects of the story. It suits your agenda so, fair play, i do the same myself with Rovers. Hopefully it is as transparent to most as i think it is.

24. Thanks From:

89 Posts
    In what way am I doing this?

Bohs are financially in dire straights, yet seem to be intending to put together a squad of established LoI players that would look like being part of a contending or top-half team (Heary, Oman, Murphy, possibly Byrne et al) and are employing one of the leading managers.

Everyone understands that these players and staff will be on reduced terms from last year (although was Fenlon's deal ever re-negotiated?) but paying anything for such players instead of whatever can be cobbled together for almost nothing gives the impression that Bohs aren't in an incredibly prevarious financial position.

I don't think that's twisting facts or trying to spin a story in a particular way.

Page 47 of 86 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast