The PFAI have been damaged beyond belief by their inconsistency and lack of truth telling. Clubs are the same, even players and coaches are in the same boat. So all in all the LOI gets what it deserves and it allows disgruntled/misguided/passionate (all the same) supporters to debate endlessly what is right and wrong. So long as all clubs who finished last year start this year, that's the most important.
Is the interview going to be on RTE live or do I need to read the drivel on the Bohs message board about what gets said?
Jaysus fellah, they barely cover games live never mind press conferences
You never know, with all the pessimism in the Dail and the state of the economy, it would be an entertaining change in the news!
Press conference cancelled on the specific request of John Delaney who's getting involved in the situation personally.
I would be inclined to agree with Spudulika.Credibility is very important to any union.They have lost theirs.That said i don't think if I was a pro footballer I would want someone of Stephen McGuinness's calibre representing me.He is a very weak union official.
On your other point of players being happy with the PFAI, I wonder should the "wind up 2" be successful in their endeavour (lets hope not) will the remaining players at Bohs be happy that the PFAI have essentially supported the winding up of their employer.In essence ensured they are out of a job.
Bohs Will Be Back!!!
Press conference called off after John Delaney personally intervenes in the matter. Was it last season Bohs fans were claiming it was a FAI conspiracy to shaft them? I see a few weeks ago that had changed to Shamrock Rovers "orchestrating" events to screw over Bohs, so perhaps that will become the party line now they may be saved by the FAI.
Why do you keep pretending that the 2 players actually want to wind up the club when it's obvious that they just want their money and see this as a way of forcing Bohs to pay them?
For them, being 'successful in their endeavour' means getting the money they're legally entitled to. nothing else.
And you know that to be 100% accurate do you Stu?
The latest suggestion from Dan McDonnell is that the FAI are promising "future prize money" to go the players to get them to call off their action. Negotiations are apparently ongoing.
MEDIA NOTICE
PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALLERS’ ASSOCIATION OF IRELAND
Friday 21 January 2011
NEGOTIATIONS ON-GOING
Due to on-going negotiations between the parties there will be no further announcement until Monday 24 January 2011.
Stephen McGuinness
General Secretary
Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
skstu, as mkev said, gray has been there, done that, as have a few of the other players involved in the whole mess, specifically the previous players signed from Derry. You only have to look at what happened to Wellvan and the number of people who got shafted on that; once bitten twice shy and all that. agree with the lads taking a tough stance, but (not knowing whats been going on behind the scenes!) i do think that they may have been premature in petitioning for a winding up order.
on a side note, what would have been the reaction of boh's fans (or even just the ones on here) if it was a supplier of many years loyalty to the club that pushed for the order over non-payment? would there be the same level of vitriol that has noticeably been directed at gray and shelley? to me, a player is an employee of the club, they're paid to provide a service to the club (and yes, i know gray was injured for most of the season; hardly through choice though), and they have by and large done that. players arent fans, acting as if they are is pointless in the extreme.
hopefully youse can get your house in order and not go the way of the dodo. always enjoyed the trips to dalymount that i managed to make.
i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.
ALWAYS ON TOUR!