Page 46 of 86 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast

Thread: Bohs in financial trouble - FAI Licencing called into question again?

398 Posts
    The PFAI have been damaged beyond belief by their inconsistency and lack of truth telling. Clubs are the same, even players and coaches are in the same boat. So all in all the LOI gets what it deserves and it allows disgruntled/misguided/passionate (all the same) supporters to debate endlessly what is right and wrong. So long as all clubs who finished last year start this year, that's the most important.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    The PFAI have been damaged beyond belief by their inconsistency and lack of truth telling.
    damaged in the eyes of who? Fans who have no dealings with them, clubs who always hated them?

Players are obviously more than happy with their recent work, otherwise they wouldn't be putting up with it

398 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    damaged in the eyes of who? Fans who have no dealings with them, clubs who always hated them?

Players are obviously more than happy with their recent work, otherwise they wouldn't be putting up with it
    Fair point, I'd clarify it by saying a little of all, but more the middle bunch. They're a necessary evil, but lack credibility.

63 Posts
    Is the interview going to be on RTE live or do I need to read the drivel on the Bohs message board about what gets said?

Jaysus fellah, they barely cover games live never mind press conferences

63 Posts
    You never know, with all the pessimism in the Dail and the state of the economy, it would be an entertaining change in the news!

1,103 Posts
    Press conference cancelled on the specific request of John Delaney who's getting involved in the situation personally.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

I would be inclined to agree with Spudulika.Credibility is very important to any union.They have lost theirs.That said i don't think if I was a pro footballer I would want someone of Stephen McGuinness's calibre representing me.He is a very weak union official.

On your other point of players being happy with the PFAI, I wonder should the "wind up 2" be successful in their endeavour (lets hope not) will the remaining players at Bohs be happy that the PFAI have essentially supported the winding up of their employer.In essence ensured they are out of a job.
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

89 Posts
    Press conference called off after John Delaney personally intervenes in the matter. Was it last season Bohs fans were claiming it was a FAI conspiracy to shaft them? I see a few weeks ago that had changed to Shamrock Rovers "orchestrating" events to screw over Bohs, so perhaps that will become the party line now they may be saved by the FAI.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    On your other point of players being happy with the PFAI, I wonder should the "wind up 2" be successful in their endeavour (lets hope not) will the remaining players at Bohs be happy that the PFAI have essentially supported the winding up of their employer.In essence ensured they are out of a job.
    Why do you keep pretending that the 2 players actually want to wind up the club when it's obvious that they just want their money and see this as a way of forcing Bohs to pay them?

For them, being 'successful in their endeavour' means getting the money they're legally entitled to. nothing else.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    now they may be saved by the FAI.
    get real Jicked. We're hardly being saved by the FAI.

Yet.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    Why do you keep pretending that the 2 players actually want to wind up the club
    true enough. It was McGuinness' idea.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

61 Posts
    And you know that to be 100% accurate do you Stu?

1,103 Posts
    The latest suggestion from Dan McDonnell is that the FAI are promising "future prize money" to go the players to get them to call off their action. Negotiations are apparently ongoing.

61 Posts
    MEDIA NOTICE

PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALLERS’ ASSOCIATION OF IRELAND

Friday 21 January 2011

NEGOTIATIONS ON-GOING

Due to on-going negotiations between the parties there will be no further announcement until Monday 24 January 2011.

Stephen McGuinness

General Secretary

Professional Footballers' Association of Ireland

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    The latest suggestion from Dan McDonnell is that the FAI are promising "future prize money" to go the players to get them to call off their action. Negotiations are apparently ongoing.
    The only prize money they can give is the money for last place in the premier or whatever division they start in which wouldnt be enough anyway. Didnt they get money last year in the same way?

2,770 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    And you know that to be 100% accurate do you Stu?
    You again...

yeah, i forgot that Shelley was an expert in company law and Grey a well known labour law professional.

Out of interest, whose idea do you think it was?

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post

It's the most wonderful time of the year.

22 Posts
    skstu, as mkev said, gray has been there, done that, as have a few of the other players involved in the whole mess, specifically the previous players signed from Derry. You only have to look at what happened to Wellvan and the number of people who got shafted on that; once bitten twice shy and all that. agree with the lads taking a tough stance, but (not knowing whats been going on behind the scenes!) i do think that they may have been premature in petitioning for a winding up order.

on a side note, what would have been the reaction of boh's fans (or even just the ones on here) if it was a supplier of many years loyalty to the club that pushed for the order over non-payment? would there be the same level of vitriol that has noticeably been directed at gray and shelley? to me, a player is an employee of the club, they're paid to provide a service to the club (and yes, i know gray was injured for most of the season; hardly through choice though), and they have by and large done that. players arent fans, acting as if they are is pointless in the extreme.

hopefully youse can get your house in order and not go the way of the dodo. always enjoyed the trips to dalymount that i managed to make.
    i believe in one man, one vote. i should be that one man with that one vote.

ALWAYS ON TOUR!

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Yeah they'd get pretty miffed at the PFAI alright, what with their circumstances changing from 'not getting paid' to 'not getting paid'.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Page 46 of 86 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast