Something wrong if this piece of filth can just walk out of jail after the crime(s) he committed after such a short time and will be unaccounted for if he has no fixed abode.
Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)
Termonbarry Athletic TID!
Something wrong if this piece of filth can just walk out of jail after the crime(s) he committed after such a short time and will be unaccounted for if he has no fixed abode.
12 th, I'd appreciate less of the "piece of filth" rhetoric. You're able to express yourself without the Star level crap, so do so please.
What else can you call a rapist and a man who tried to kill someone?
10 years is a joke too.
I wouldn't disagree with rhetoric, to be honest.
Him getting out, with very limited accountability (whatever RTE's Garda Reynolds makes out), shows something very wrong with the handling of rape cases. The only move made by the Government in this area has been to pilot a project that gives them even more remission for undergoing treatment (another St. Lenihan of Dublin West "achievement").
There's a great deal of fear over here in East Wicklow (one of the unsolved cases was in Enniskerry) - I can only imagine what it's like across the mountains in West Wicklow, Kildare and Carlow. Whether that should be the case, I'm not sure, but I know there's very little faith in the cops keeping on top of him. Because he's high risk, he's going to be monitored once a month, ffs.
That's where I live Macy (West Wicklow) and nobody wants to see this person again,he stalked the girl for a month before doing what he did so is no opportunist.From all known reports he's walked out the door of the prison the same guy who went in (no rehab/remorse) which is a serious concern.
As a committeed bleeding heart liberal, I'd have no problem with any lynch mob beatings/murder this evening or over the next few weeks. No qualms at all.
Really do despise the media whipping up a frenzy in the way they are, and I do think they instill more fear than awareness, but if it means this filth (justified IMO) doesn't get to rape another woman. So be it. Ridiculous strawman logic if may be, but again, I don't mind what that says about me
Yep, was aware of that. Today there seems to be an attempt to hang the fear being media generated (from RTE who obviously see themselves as not being the media). However, where I work has a fair few from West Wicklow and they've been talking about the release for a long time (long before the media really went to town from what I'm aware of).
Sorry, but I didn't mean to suggest there are peole without genuine fears, particularly in the Wicklow region, but scenes such as those in Coolock are more likely to be a product of a combination of a bad TV3 documentary, some gutter journalism and rumours and hearsay.
And again, if it means he never gets to lay a finger on anyone else. I'll live it with
Well it wasn't actually a response to your post. However, the cops should just say they know where he is and he's under survelliance. They're being over secretive, which is feeding stuff like happened in Coolock. And stuff like "he'll be checked once a month" really doesn't cut it.
I don't care whether ye agree with me or not, this isn't the Star and I don't want to see it become like the Star.
If you can't express yourself without sounding like a rag newspaper, don't express yourself. This isn't really a suggestion.
Seriously, ye're adults, ye can do better. Raise the bar.
Last edited by dahamsta; 13/08/2010 at 1:02 PM.
You cannot be serious?
You've got no fans.
In fairness, I'm on dahamsta's side on this one. There is no need to resort to tabloidese to explain what type of reprehensible individual Murphy is.
Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com
Ivor Callely must wish he had been released two weeks earlier.
+1 on "reprehensible individual"
This is current affairs, can we focus on the current affair in hand please? Seriously, the procedural discussions get a bit tiresome at times. Move on for god's sake.
Interesting piece in the SINDO yesterday. They had a tip off on Friday that Murphy was on the 7am train to Cork from Dub. The reporter in Cork (female and who's name I can't recall) was called and told to tail him. She discovered he was going back to Dublin on another train. After much searching for him through the carraiges she eventually discovered him sleeping. He was at a table by himself and pretty much blended in with the thirty somthing traksiut wearing train customers (so much so she had trouble finding him)
She reckoned on about 6 or 7 plain clothed detectives also on his tail ( at what cost? ) and only when he got off in Dublin did she ask him was he Larry Murphy. He smiled and replied no before running and getting into a waiting car. She and her collegue though long and hard about questioning him on the train but I think to have done that would have led to a lynching and with six or seven garda and maybe a standard issue fire arm or two that would not have ended well!
IMHO..All of this media attention, public anger and comment is going to drive Murphy over the edge and as he doesn't have the balls to top him self I feel it is only a matter of time for him to flip again. I don't know how the probation board works but suffice to say, surley if they thought this through properely a loop hole should have been made so he was not eligible for time off in liue of good beheviour. After all, our legislaters are good at bending rules in other situations.
It's nothing to do with the probation services, its to do with the automatic granting of 25% remission to all persons serving a term of imprisonment of over one month.
The fact is that Murphy was sentenced to 15 years imprisonment with one year suspended so that equals 14 years. 25% of that is three and half years meaning he had to serve ten and a half years. He wasn't released early as most of the media reported and he didn't only serve ten years of a fifteen year sentence.
If remission didn't apply then controlling prisons would be next to impossible. In the UK prisoners are entitled to 50% remission automatically. Prisoners can lose remission through bad behaviour and thus it encourages them to behave well in prison. All judges are aware of the proportion of remission that will apply to each sentence when they are passing sentence.
I have the utmost sympathy for people who are in fear because of his release but the furore and frenzy surrounding it has been created by the media to make the public afraid and to sell more newspapers.
The only way he can be sent back to prison at this point would be if he breached the terms of his suspended sentence (which is normally to keep the peace and be of good behaviour) or if he breaches the conditions of being on the sex offenders register.