Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast

Thread: Marathon

Howya lads, haven't posted here in a while. I'm doing the Longford Marathon on 30th August in aid of Pieta House. Any donations greatly appreciated.

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/longfordmarathon/

Did a marathon last year in Germany and got 3:51:51 so hoping to beat that this year.

Thanks
    Come On You Saints!!!

399 Posts
    I know it's not marathon but I couldn't find a track thread...bolt gets hit by chinaman on segue segway? I laughed.

http://espn.go.com/olympics/trackand...-sprint-double
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

399 Posts
    So what do you guys think about the suzy favor hamilton hooker thing? What. A. Nutjob.

http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment...sorder-led-to/

2,680 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by robbieos88 View Post
    Howya lads, haven't posted here in a while. I'm doing the Longford Marathon on 30th August in aid of Pieta House. Any donations greatly appreciated.

http://www.mycharity.ie/event/longfordmarathon/

Did a marathon last year in Germany and got 3:51:51 so hoping to beat that this year.

Thanks
    Go on then. How did you do?

2,680 Posts
    Good two weeks for me. 36:02 10k two weeks ago, 2:58 Amsterdam Marathon today. Season's goals achieved though the 5-zero-zero Mile still grinds a bit.

399 Posts
    You run like Forest Gump stutts.

399 Posts
    Four Irish brothers from Co Tyrone returning to run NYC marathon 30 years later......funny article. I'll have the defibrillator ready.

http://www.runnersworld.com/new-york...-city-marathon

2,680 Posts
    Speaking of defibrillators, judging from the twittersphere our own Dodge has joined the ranks of foot.ie athletes.

Time for Dodge to post his blogs here too, methinks.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    423 Posts
    Back doing a little bit here and there. Taking it slowly at the moment. Foot is not 100% but it's holding up OK. Plan is to build up gradually and all going well tackle Dublin marathon 2016. Sub 20min 5k in the spring would be target number one if I don't end up in a heap!

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Speaking of defibrillators, judging from the twittersphere our own Dodge has joined the ranks of foot.ie athletes.

Time for Dodge to post his blogs here too, methinks.
    Hmmm not quite an athlete. More a less fat *******

772 Posts
    Everytime I see this thread I think Snickers is changing the name back. Mmmm snickers.

2,680 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RedBench View Post
    Has anyone here joined a really big marathon? Something as big as Boston marathon.
    I did Amsterdam, one of Europe's bigger ones. 12,000 runners. I haven't done any of the "big 5": NY, Boston, London, Berlin, Chicago. Frankfurt is pretty big too.

423 Posts
    Fair play Dodge. The routine is the most important part, the speed in particular will improve surprisingly quickly if you just keep getting out regularly.

Tallaght Stadium Regular

399 Posts
    Looks like you finally got Will Dunne off the couch.

423 Posts
    2 years later finally went back to physio with the foot pain. Sent me straight for an MRI, suspected Morton's neuroma (which is what I had expected), MRI results came in today and it not Morton's, it looks like something called Freiberg's disease, so referring me to an orthopaedic surgeon to discuss treatment options. Hopefully still at the stage where it can be treated with rest, possibly in a boot/cast for 4-6 weeks, but given I've left it so long it may be at the stage where surgical intervention is required. Now is when health insurance would have come in handy!

Tallaght Stadium Regular

Can't really remember why I am following this thread, as I only decided to do a marathon last week, but signed up for Manchester next spring. Looking at following something along the lines of Run Less Run Faster mentioned on page 1 by stuttgart, mainly so can carry on the swims and runs (started triathlon this season). Thinking of doing it with LSR though, and keep a bit on intensity in the turbo sessions! Had ITB issues this year, so not sure how the body will hold up, but been working hard on the glutes, so sure we'll see...

2,680 Posts
    I hear Manchester is quite a quick course and it's at a good time of year, unlikely for temperatures to rise.

That Run Less Run Faster programme is controversial, not least because of the lack of a regular LSR. The criticism of RLRF is that as marathon running is so much about using your aerobic energy system then that’s the system you should be taxing most in training. The RLRF programme prefers a faster-paced long run. I don’t have as big a cycle commute any more so I’m going to follow a more conventional training plan involving higher mileage, a lot of it at easy to moderate pace.

I qualified for London in April 2017 by way of my Amsterdam time in 2015, getting a Good For Age place. I’ve not yet got back into regular LSRs but I’ll frequently whack out 12-15 miles just as general training anyway.

As Sonia O’Sullivan said in her Irish Times column recently, there’s no one best way that works for everyone. My personal preference (as a 49 year old) is to do more LSR rather than the faster paced long runs that book recommends. However, I’d still recommend reading the book because once you’ve read it you’re absolutely clear on the merits of mixing your training and why. You’ll learn why short bouts of fast intervals are important, why a few miles per week run at lactate threshold are important and why the LSR is important.

Joining a club is a great idea, especially one that does cross-country leagues during the winter. Our cross country season has started and I’d really recommend it as it really strengthens your running. Through my club I now have a group of pals who are of the same standard and we’ll do a lot of training together. One just ran a PB of 2:51 (2:57 2015 time) in Budapest while another blew up spectacularly at Abingdon last weekend (Oxfordshire) and came in at 3:25, while aiming for just under 3:00. My intermediate distances predict low 2:50s for me so I’ll aim for 2:51~2:52 and see how I fare. I ran the Great South Run (10 miles) on Sunday in 61 mins, a PB by 5 seconds but at the start of the year my goal was to do sub-60 so I must be a bit more focused.

This website has a great calculator / race time predictor:

http://www.runningforfitness.org/cal...bmit=Calculate

It was written by a club-mate here in London. The whole site is very useful.

82 Posts
    Shalane Flanigan...there's an Irish girl for ya. She's gone through injuries and hasn't ran in a while. Seems like a nice girl, here's to hoping it's all natural. I've never heard that first name before, is it common at all? The announcers were going between "Shalene" like "Eileen" "She-Lane" and "She-Lann."

423 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    2 years later finally went back to physio with the foot pain. Sent me straight for an MRI, suspected Morton's neuroma (which is what I had expected), MRI results came in today and it not Morton's, it looks like something called Freiberg's disease, so referring me to an orthopaedic surgeon to discuss treatment options. Hopefully still at the stage where it can be treated with rest, possibly in a boot/cast for 4-6 weeks, but given I've left it so long it may be at the stage where surgical intervention is required. Now is when health insurance would have come in handy!
    It took another couple of years to finally figure out I have psoriatic arthritis in a couple of metatarsal heads. With injections and medication I got it under control about a year ago and signed up for another Dublin marathon. Came home in 3.59.08 on Sunday and delighted with life.

26. Thanks From:

Page 10 of 11 FirstFirst ... 891011 LastLast