Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Accounts

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    A few weeks of paying Boco's wages will soon undo that.

I presume you're not paying him two grand a week this time?
    2 grand a week in this day and age? I wouldn't think so. I doubt if he was ever earning that to be honest. Where did you pluck that figure from?
    Whatever amount he was on, you lot in your former guise were doing your best to lure him with even higher wages, until the wheels came off.

When you say "new business model", did you actually mean "the same business model Shels and Bohs used"?

Edit: Beaten to it by SMorgan.
    Jaysus lads, how did you miss that one so badly?

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    2 grand a week in this day and age? I wouldn't think so. I doubt if he was ever earning that to be honest. Where did you pluck that figure from?
    It was nowhere near 2k, really don't know who came up with that rumour, and would love to know.

Am I the only one who thought hoops1 was making a joke based on exactly that point?
    No.

Now I'm wondering if the other two are joking too but it's a bit of a stretch.

A few weeks of paying Boco's wages will soon undo that.

I presume you're not paying him two grand a week this time?
    I know exactly what Boco was getting paid last year and it was less than half that. As well making a profit last year we are now debt free.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

We pretty much are The Model Club.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    I know exactly what Boco was getting paid last year and it was less than half that. .
    Perhaps you'd want to ask people in your own club who were touting him about for sale/loan and offering to pay a % of his wages, quoting what he was on.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    Perhaps you'd want to ask people in your own club who were touting him about for sale/loan and offering to pay a % of his wages, quoting what he was on.
    Seeing his pay slip is enough proof for me.
    "Even if the sun ceases to rise, Even if the sea ceases to flow, Even if the wind stops to blow, The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning, glinting star in the sky."

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    Seeing his pay slip is enough proof for me.
    You put his full earnings on a payslip? How quaint.

It'll never catch on....

Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    Whatever amount he was on, you lot in your former guise were doing your best to lure him with even higher wages, until the wheels came off.
    "wheels coming off"? I'd like to view it as the wheels being re-attached, as previously we didn't have wheels, but we thought we had a magic carpet.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 10/08/2010 at 3:52 PM.

2,657 Posts
    You put his full earnings on a payslip? How quaint.

It'll never catch on.....
    it certainly didnt in Derry!!

3,267 Posts
    Yeah, see - again, I think that was his point...

2,657 Posts
    ah, i see... this thread is full of either rank sarcasm or rank stupidity...

Nightmare day for people missing jokes around here. Shameful stuff. Boco was telling anyone who'd listen that he's on 80k a year last year. Fairly open about it too.

2,657 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Nightmare day for people missing jokes around here. Shameful stuff. Boco was telling anyone who'd listen that he's on 80k a year last year. Fairly open about it too.
    you're joking, right?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Nah, not a hope. More fool you to believe it. No player ever earned 80k at Rovers.

I didn't say I believed it. I said its what he was telling people he was earning.

Good man.

Funny that this thread is titled "Rovers Accounts", and we've ended up at Rovers accounts.

Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    We ended last season with an operating profit, 6 figure one at that.
    You're not supposed to count the digits after the decimal point...

82 Posts
    This thread is like one of those awkward first date conversations that goes horribly wrong..

25. Thanks From:

Page 4 of 9 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast