Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Rovers Accounts

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Even if it was, unless they found a big bag of money with their name on it somewhere it wouldn't change much.

I suspect most people to be surprised to hear that the 'model club' with the highest attendances are running with an increasing year-on-year deficit.

It really does show how unsustainable financially things are in the league.
    I would be very surprised Steve, but I'd like a look at the accounts before I believed it.
    MD

82 Posts
    I suspect most people to be surprised to hear that the 'model club' with the highest attendances are running with an increasing year-on-year deficit.
    Au contraire Steve, if you did a regression of attendence to loss over the last two decades, you'd find a very strong correlation between the clubs with the largest attendences and the largest losses.

Its like those steak houses in Texas that let you eat free if you eat a 72oz steak. If you don't eat it you pay a small fortune. Large ego'ed lads generally take up the challenge, and fail, whilst more sensible women realise they could never manage it and have a 6oz girls cut.

That analogy sounded better in my head, but the point stands: there is a very strong link between increased revenue leading to increased losses. LoI clubs almost inevitably grow themselves out of business (until they get bailed out in one shape or form).

the 400k they got for the juventus game would wipe that out wouldn't it?
    If you've nothing good to say, say it.

2,695 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Au contraire Steve, if you did a regression of attendence to loss over the last two decades, you'd find a very strong correlation between the clubs with the largest attendences and the largest losses.

Its like those steak houses in Texas that let you eat free if you eat a 72oz steak. If you don't eat it you pay a small fortune. Large ego'ed lads generally take up the challenge, and fail, whilst more sensible women realise they could never manage it and have a 6oz girls cut.

That analogy sounded better in my head,.
    so youre saying that Rovers are playing for high steaks?

*grabs coat*
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by galwayjames View Post
    the 400k they got for the juventus game would wipe that out wouldn't it?
    Depnds when they get it and whether they've incurred any more "day to day" losses this year. They had the Real Madrid game last year

3,352 Posts
    I suppose technically Platinum 1 had the Madrid game last year; I'd imagine the Juve game was worth much more to Rovers directly than the Real game (plus UEFA bonuses for two rounds in Europe, etc)

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayjames View Post
    the 400k they got for the juventus game
    Don't believe everything you read
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

I suppose technically Platinum 1 had the Madrid game last year; I'd imagine the Juve game was worth much more to Rovers directly than the Real game (plus UEFA bonuses for two rounds in Europe, etc)
    The Juventus game would have incurred a massive amount of costs too; not just for the away leg (arranged at short notice) but at home too (rent, security etc)

I suspect most people to be surprised to hear that the 'model club' with the highest attendances are running with an increasing year-on-year deficit. It really does show how unsustainable financially things are in the league.
    It really does bring into the lime light the administrators of the league and how they operate. Given all that's gone on in this league the last few years to take the eye off the ball now is completely demoralising. Heres the question ... do they know what is actually happening? If they do then i hope they are freaked out over this because couldn't be described as the best way forward. Is anyone answerable for this?

Surely someone in the FAI is culpable for this? Or is 'more of the same' what we have to expect in the future? If so, when can we expect the league to be run correctly?

If this really is the case and i were a member of the 400 club, having entrusted the running of the club to the current board while paying i dont know how much of my money over the last few years, i'd be looking for the people responsible to step aside immediately and without incident and hand the controls over to someone who'll make a better hand of it.

Can we believe anything we've heard from the club over the last while? Seriously, is it all noise and dream with no substance behind it?
    Last edited by A face; 09/08/2010 at 6:07 PM.

205 Posts
    Town made a profit last year.
    Sporting F*ck All!

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    so youre saying that Rovers are playing for high steaks?

*grabs coat*
    It's a "rare" sight when a LOI club makes a profit to be fair but your example is "bull"
    Shed End Invisibles. Where are we??

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    It really does bring into the lime light the administrators of the league and how they operate. Given all that's gone on in this league the last few years to take the eye off the ball now is completely demoralising. Heres the question ... do they know what is actually happening? If they do then i hope they are freaked out over this because couldn't be described as the best way forward. Is anyone answerable for this?

Surely someone in the FAI is culpable for this? Or is 'more of the same' what we have to expect in the future? If so, when can we expect the league to be run correctly?

If this really is the case and i were a member of the 400 club, having entrusted the running of the club to the current board while paying i dont know how much of my money over the last few years, i'd be looking for the people responsible to step aside immediately and without incident and hand the controls over to someone who'll make a better hand of it.

Can we believe anything we've heard from the club over the last while? Seriously, is it all noise and dream with no substance behind it?

Jaysus Face have a sit down man, where's the fire?!

Those figures aren't too shabby at all. *

*I apologise if you were being sarcastic as opposed to hysterical.

Well you haven't heard what the members have heard, and as long as they're told the story, and they're happy with it then I cna't see how anyone else can be angr about it

I'd probably wait to see the actual accounts before demanding the board step down.

Those figures aren't too shabby at all.
    If they spend more than they bring in then they are seriously shabby

*I apologise if you were being sarcastic as opposed to hysterical.
    I know i'm going over the top, but i do want to labour the point i'm making. Dont get me wrong, i loved the rags to riches story, LOI vagrants come good, moses and their little piece of heaven, walt disney stuff, it was up there with Bambi and the rest of them .... i lapped it up, but its a crock. I am ticked off man, i'm not going to hide it but if those figures are real then i'm not going to listen to one more bit of pontificating for Rovers or the FAI

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Well you haven't heard what the members have heard, and as long as they're told the story, and they're happy with it then I can't see how anyone else can be angr about it
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I'd probably wait to see the actual accounts before demanding the board step down.
    I know that lads, i was careful to say 'If the figures are true' (or words to that effect) but are you not ticked off of having to listen to people, mostly the powers that be using 'the model club' as a get out clause, going on about how great Rovers are.

And i geniunely think that if clubs dont go down the route of Rovers (and do not over spend) then the league wont progress.

If they spend more than they bring in then they are seriously shabby

Name me 4 of the 22 clubs that don't consisently spend more than they bring in??

100k on a turnover of what, say, 2 million*, isn't exactly Cork City1 levels of lunacy

I know i'm going over the top, but i do want to labour the point i'm making. Dont get me wrong, i loved the rags to riches story, LOI vagrants come good, moses and their little piece of heaven, walt disney stuff, it was up there with Bambi and the rest of them .... i lapped it up, but its a crock. I am ticked off man,

You're definitely being sarcastic here, or are having some kind of seizure!!

"You don't understand. The League coulda had class. The League coulda been a contender. The League coulda been someone Charley, instead of a bum, which is what The League is , let's face it. The League is a bum. It was you, Charley."

i'm not going to listen to one more bit of pontificating for Rovers or the FAI

The last "Model Club" was Galway United.

I'd be worried for you if you've been listening to any of it to be honest.

*This figure is plucked completely out of my aras and is open to correction.

138 Posts
    We ended last season with an operating profit, 6 figure one at that.

If this really is the case and i were a member of the 400 club, having entrusted the running of the club to the current board while paying i dont know how much of my money over the last few years...
    The 400 club has been subsumed into the Rovers member's club, the 400 club no longer exists.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    We ended last season with an operating profit, 6 figure one at that.
    A few weeks of paying Boco's wages will soon undo that.

I presume you're not paying him two grand a week this time?

3,352 Posts
    Think you want to look at changing your location there, dfx-.

Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast