Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Evening Herald article on Bohs-Rovers

I'm totally confused about de replies to Macy's comment. Having read and re-read it I must admit that I agree with him and do not see where he condones anti-social behaviour or has an anti-police mentality . I've been a Cork City fan for 14 years now and have seen very very little violence in the various grounds that I've attended. I've watched matches amidst opposing fans many a time (even rovers fans ), making no attempt to hide my allegiances. This would be unthinkable in most leagues.
    However I have witnessed violence and have heard second-hand of more. These by-and-large take place outside de grounds and are beyond de clubs' control - ie they are a policing matter. There has been an upsurge in violence throughout society at large and public order issues are under the remit of the guards.
    The UK has largely shed its image of football hooliganism due to effective crowd control outside the grounds alongside with effective stewarding inside - even tho' hooliganism may still happen it happens away from de grounds so matches are a safe place to bring de kids to. To be fair to the guards the upsurge in public disorder has caught everyone by surprise and they are on a steep learning curve but the sad reality of the matter is that certain opposing fans need to be segregated outside the ground and the police should be given all help by the clubs and FAI to do this.
    Violence is an issue in the eL in the same way that it's an issue in every small town and every city in the country. It's a minority, but it grabs attention. "Newspapers" of the quality of the EH blow the issue out of all proportion but as others have said we can't afford to bury our heads in the sand either.
    However, eL games are still extremely safe places to be and to bring your kids too. Indeed, in the City programme Brian Lennox was stating that many parents drop their kids off at the games and collect them afterwards ( which is on the other extreme - clubs are not babysitters either )

I think you're spot on there derm. It seems to me that the guards got it wrong, and while that doesn't excuse these mindless thugs, it does point at a way of stopping it in the future.

If ye want more Gardai outside the grounds then I suggest ye harrass the minister for justice to provide the money required to pay them. If their is no money there then there will be no Gardai there.

yeah and when you think of the amount of garda that were in tullamore last week for the foreign ministers meeting then your loucky there were any at the game at all
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

But there were plenty of guards - they were all inside the ground instead of at Doyles Corner!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Macy
    But there were plenty of guards - they were all inside the ground instead of at Doyles Corner!!!
    and the tax-payer wasnt footing the bill either. The clubs pay for the Gardai present at the stadium.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy

but how could the gardai watch the match if they were on doyles corner?
    most of them only turn to look at the crowd when theres a goal scored
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 22/04/2004 at 4:38 PM.

.................................................. ..............

Quote Originally Posted by derm
    I'm totally confused about de replies to Macy's comment. Having read and re-read it I must admit that I agree with him and do not see where he condones anti-social behaviour or has an anti-police mentality .

Hand held high ... I didn't read your (Macys) posts right .... you other post point that out aswell. We are all on the same page, thats what i was worried about. I see your point about not policing at Doyles corner.

Is there any way clubs can ask the guards to go to potential trouble spots if it means stop incidents happening.

Is there any system in place where Guards can get feeback and then adjust accordingly and that way impliment change to improve their overall operation.

If that system is not in place then there is something seriously wrong with the system.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Is there any way clubs can ask the guards to go to potential trouble spots if it means stop incidents happening.
    No need - the cops have walkie talkies. Anyway, it's not up to the clubs to police the streets.
    Revenge for 2002

Quote Originally Posted by Dr.Nightdub
    No need - the cops have walkie talkies.
    I know ... but just to act as a deterent (spelling?) and not have allow anything to ever start.

Anyway, it's not up to the clubs to police the streets.

But the clubs suffer from the lack of policing ..... directly ..... so while it is not up to them, they should make it their business to put pressure on. If it is in their interest, they should pull out all the stops.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    I know ... but just to act as a deterent (spelling?) and not have allow anything to ever start.

But the clubs suffer from the lack of policing ..... directly ..... so while it is not up to them, they should make it their business to put pressure on. If it is in their interest, they should pull out all the stops.
    In fairness, Phibsboro and Inchicore stations should know the trouble spots at this stage, however it should be pointed out that the FAI insist on taking full control of this fixture. The clubs have absolutely no input, and I think I'm right in saying that's despite the clubs and fan groups trying to sit down and talk about the security arrangements.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123