Thread: Evening Herald article on Bohs-Rovers

Evening Herald article on Bohs-Rovers

IRISH SOCCER HOOLIGANS PLAN RIOTS ON THE NET

Irish soccer hooligans are using the net to organise pre-match violence and forge links with European neo-nazi groups

Am Evening Herald investigation folowing recent shocking scenes involving shamrock rovers fans, has found the problem of of football holiganism is spiralling out of control.

Last weekend Rovers fans clashed with Bohemians supporters in broad daylight ina pre-arranged mellee outside Dalymount Park in Dublin
    A group of around 80 supporters from Bohs and Shamrock Rovers were involved in Fridays riot at Doyles corner before their teams eircom league fixture

Bottels, coins and rockswere thrown during the incident which lasted 10 minutes

Gardai eventually seperated both parties but a number of innocent families and children were caught up in the ugly scenes

During the match members of the notorious Shamrock Rovers Ultras a hooligan wing linked to the club , produced a pig's head and pig's feet and threw them onto the pitch, in scenes that shocked football observers

the evening herald has learned that the ugly pre-match riot was a planned event with holligan elements from both clubs using the internet to arrange a time and venue for the arranged fight

so called Bohemians "casuals" were based ina phibsboro pub while Rovers "ultras" drank ina pub close to the city centre.

sources have confirmed to the EH thatat around 7pm leaders from both groups made contact using mobile fones to confirm that violence would take place. as shamrock rovers fans made tehir way to Dalymount bohemians "potters" watched them and phoned ahead to warn the casuals of their approach.

gardai appeared unprepared for the street violence with most of the 50 uniformed officers on duty, aswell as a team of riot police, based inside teh stadium. As punches and missiles were exchanged between rival fans 4 helpless gardai looked on phoned for back-up.

police reinforcements eventually seperated the young thugs but a number of frightened children were caught up in the violence.

pre-planned violence is now common place in the eircom leage. there is a hardcore hooligan element attached toa number of mainly dublin teams , whose sole aim is to cause viuolence.

last september shamrock rovers were evicted from richmond parkfollowing violent scens before and after amatch with bohemians.

mindless thugs associated with the shamrock rovers ultras have been bragging about fridays violence outside dalymount on a website dedicated to the group

the homepage of the site declares "just f**k them all. Everyone is the enemy, we are on our own lads"

One ultra declares, "we weren't hiding, we stood and didnt run, youse were let down big toime when onlya quarter of the lads you had went for it big time. Fair play to the rovers lads. i enjoyed it".

Another thug taunts bohemians fans saying "bottom line is bohs got slapped on their own patch, we backed off even before teh cops got it sorted. hope there's no CCTV on that corner" while another jeeringly claims"you were all rolled over on your own patch you s****bags"

tovers ultras have forged links with right wing neo-nazis from other europena countries including Greece, Sweden and Germany.

Links to other hooligan websites dedicated to violence show football supporters rioting all over europe.

the ultras call these groups"green and white brothers" nd they include europs most fanatical and dangerous hooligans

in a sinister development hooligans have downloaded pictures of gardai and stewards who were on duty at dalymount asking if anyoneknows who they are. identification numbers of some gardaiand stewards are published on the website, alongside the photo of a garda filming supporters is the caption "you've been framed Pig"

one source close to the ultras told the evening herald "these lds model themselves on English hooligans in the 1980s"

a spokesman for the FAI said that the association was "awaiting a number of reports on teh game" before deciding what action, if any, it will take.

these scenes were localised incidents and are not common in the league. We do not condon any public disorder activity and it has no place in the game, he said

the association stressed that it was not responsible for what fans do poutside football stadiums, saying it was amatter for the gardai. if the clubs are found to have not controlled their fans they could be forced to adopt earlier kick off times or have to play their fixtures behind closed dorrs.

gardai have confirmed that they are aware of Fridays incident "we are also concerned about pictures of members of the force appearing on these websites which is illegal"

[article was typed up on the Rovers Ultras board by green-blood]
    Quote Originally Posted by Éanna
    pre-planned violence is now common place in the eircom leage. there is a hardcore hooligan element attached toa number of mainly dublin teams , whose sole aim is to cause violence.

The article is an absolute disgrace. the above quote damages every club in the league and can't be left go. there has been talk about suing the Herald and IMO that should be the least that is done. It is absolutely reprehensible that this kind of slander be published. The Herald should be banned from all eircom League grounds and all other FAI related activity until a front page apology is published

Enna a lot of that is true, certain bohs and rovers fans only turn up for those games, i was on my way over to tolka on friday night and i saw the rovers fans walking up towards dalymount, these guys only want trouble...i live in inchicore and i saw the violence outside richmond last year with my own eyes, there was a car set alight outside my apartment....

they are trouble and bohs fans have caused trouble in longford as well, and not to forget rovers fans throwing a bottle at bray last season OR a bottle thrown from a cork fan at the recent shels game.....just a few examples of mindless violence, and it is violence and it the premier division of our soccer league it is a disgrace, how are we to get fathers bringing their kids to games when this is what confronts them ????

cop on and realise that is it a problem and what was written has a lot of truth in it, or are yee all law loveing saints down in the "wanna be capital "..

nuff said.....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Fcuk

Slow news day in the EH. Story might just be about Bohs and Rovers but if you read that would you be inclinded to bring your children to any eL match?

Half of it is fiction, the other half un-informed. Didnt expect much more from the classy Hearld though. Notice how the part about the Rovers fan getting the crap kicked out of him is ommitted. Also one quote which they attributed to a ultra is actually from a Bohs fan.

It's about time Rovers and Bohs met (club officals and decent fans) and sorted their problem out. Some honest and decent fans know who started the shíte which the EH then goes on to make a Godfry Jones/Rock Bottom style report on(Sweet Sweet Can)

Everybody knew there was going to be trouble at this match, why was it allowed develop? I though the FAI took over handling of these games to make it safer but all the major incidents have happened since they took over.
    Oh no not them again

That article is total over hyped nonsence. Are you seriously saying that article isn't way over the top Max? If they think that's anything bad, they wouldn't want to go to pratically any match in England. However they will still be running their competitions for United Liverpool and Arsenal Spurs where something like that would barely warrant a mention.

If the police had been doing their job properly there would be no trouble at these games (how many years running has there been incidents at Doyles corner now, and last year in Inchicore, the Rovers fans were supposed to be kept in and weren't). IMO this is all a big cover up of the fact the Guards can't police matches effectively and efficiently, and to cover up the fact that a Rovers fan was assualted in front of them (hence the pictures on the Ultras board).

To call the ultra's a hooligan group is ridiculous IMO.

Who wrote that article btw?

I can't see how any eL fan can support that piece of rubbish, and the damage it does to our league. Every minor incident is blown out of all proportion by a domestic media keen to see the end of our league, yet even our own are all too willing to believe it.

macy as i said, some of what they say is true....it is pre planned, it is out of control with these two teams ( every game there is some sort of a problem ).....and if its not stoped now it will get worse and it "family attitude the clubs are trying to promote will be gone...

but i do agree that they need to see an english or worse italian game to see real ultras.......

but there is a problem that needs to highlighted and there is no point burying our heads in the sand, its a problem for the league as a whole...
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    , how are we to get fathers bringing their kids to games when this is what confronts them ????

i am in this positition right now, and while it wont stop me bringing him (them)
    as i have 2 boys, to matches i am certainly selective about the matches i would bring them to.

like, there was no way i was bringing them to the rovers match which is a fcucking disgrace in this day and age.

cop on and realise that is it a problem and what was written has a lot of truth in it, or are yee all law loveing saints down in the "wanna be capital "..
    are you a total idiot or can you just not read? If you had any intelligence you would know that i and others have condemned this behaviour regularly on this site, but that article with comments like
    pre-planned violence is now common place in the eircom leage. there is a hardcore hooligan element attached toa number of mainly dublin teams , whose sole aim is to cause violence.
    is an absolute fabrication and will drive fans away from this league. I never said there wasn't a problem, but that article is bull**** from start to finish

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    i am in this positition right now, and while it wont stop me bringing him (them)
    as i have 2 boys, to matches i am certainly selective about the matches i would bring them to.

like, there was no way i was bringing them to the rovers match which is a fcucking disgrace in this day and age.
    In all fairness 12th, if you're talking about not bringing the kids to a Rovers Town match that is totally ridiculous. Only mither was Rovers fans jibbing into the stand (and if the club are to be believed Town fans try that every game).

The only reason I wouldn't bring a kid to a Rovers Bohs match is that I've seen how clueless the Guards are, nothing to do with the fans of either club. Doyles corner has been a flash point for years, yet still the Guards let Bohs congregate waiting Rovers rather than clearing the area. There also don't give a proper escort to the Rovers fans - whats the point in having hundreds of guards in the ground, when the real problem is Doyles corner? The policing is a joke in this country, and no amount of sensational crap from the Herald should distract attention from that...

250 Posts
    macy,
    i was at the match and totally agree on the night there was no crowd problems,only the usual verbal crap.

what put me off were a lot of people posting about their security worries at
    richmond when rovers play there so i thought it better not to bring a child to the match.granted some of the trouble is caused by gurriers who live local (inchicore) and dont follow rovers.

But that's exactly the point.... The vast majority of matches in the eL pass off without any incident. In a way, that's why any incidents are blown out of all proportion. I can't think of anytime that it's threatened to kick off with Rovers at a Town game between the two sets of fans. IMO you being scared to bring the nippers is exactly the reason that the media over hypes the incidents - they don't want to be arsed covering our league, so try and poison it at every opportunity...

Thumbs down

Herald is a rag & would expect little else.

So many lies in the article can't take any of it serious.

btw anyone got a link...?

From the Herald 02/01/04

"Bohs, Bray, Dundalk, Galway and Kildare have some of the best official sites around while the Shamrock Rovers' Ultras have probably the best unofficial one"

What?? The Herald inconsistant?

Quote Originally Posted by Éanna

pre-planned violence is now common place in the eircom leage.

That is a lie, pure and simple. I'm never going to buy that paper.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student
    From the Herald 02/01/04

"Bohs, Bray, Dundalk, Galway and Kildare have some of the best official sites around while the Shamrock Rovers' Ultras have probably the best unofficial one"

What?? The Herald inconsistant?
    Cheers Bald Student, I'd forgotten about that.

As ever Macy is spot on about the hysteria and nonsense that is spouted in the media and on sites like this and elsewhere. All you have to do is read Max Power's post to see that Radio Phone-in gob****ery is alive and well, even among el fans.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Lads I brought my girlfriend to the Rovers Bohs game last year (I can'#t bring her to pats games...) and she's afraid of everything.

After the game we stood about 10 yards from both the Rovers "mob" throwing crap at the buses and from the buses themselves. If she wasn't afraid then, no man should.

Honest to god. Seriously some people...

well all i had to do was look out my window and see a burniing car ??? can everyone here say there is no problem at all at any game all season.......no, that is what i'm saying, we need revenue and familes bring that and the behaviour on certain "fans" isn't doing us any good, we just go from one bohs/rovers game to the next without anything changing.

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    Lads I brought my girlfriend to the Rovers Bohs game last year (I can'#t bring her to pats games...) and she's afraid of everything.

After the game we stood about 10 yards from both the Rovers "mob" throwing crap at the buses and from the buses themselves. If she wasn't afraid then, no man should.

Honest to god. Seriously some people...

in fairness dodge,i was replying to max powers comment about encouraging people to bring kids to e/l matches.lets face it no kids at matches /no future

well all i had to do was look out my window and see a burniing car ??? can everyone here say there is no problem at all at any game all season.......no, that is what i'm saying, we need revenue and familes bring that and the behaviour on certain "fans" isn't doing us any good, we just go from one bohs/rovers game to the next without anything changing.
    No, we need people to stop talking/writing/posting crap about trouble. That kind of scaremongering puts people off. And you my friend are getting very close to Evening Herald territory.

Read Dodge's post about about his missus standing beside the Rovers "mob" for Gods sake! Mind you, the poor girl goes out with Dodge so she obviously doesn't easily scare.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care

Far be it for me to defend Rovers but that article is a disgrace. It says
    pre-planned violence is now common place in the eircom league
    but only mentions two incidents at Bohs-Rovers matches. I'm unaware of anything that could be described as even close to pre-planned violence at any other fixture and even then there's worse in town most weekends.

mindless thugs associated with the shamrock rovers ultras have been bragging about fridays violence outside dalymount on a website dedicated to the group.
    the homepage of the site declares 'just f**k them all. Everyone is the enemy, we are on our own lads'
    What the **** has that got to do with violence?

I particularly liked this:
    One ultra declares, 'we weren't hiding, we stood and didnt run, youse were let down big time when onlya quarter of the lads you had went for it big time. Fair play to the rovers lads. i enjoyed it'.
    Sound like a Rovers fan? Not to me!

But
    During the match members of the notorious Shamrock Rovers Ultras, a hooligan wing linked to the club, produced a pig's head and pig's feet and threw them onto the pitch in scenes that shocked football observers
    has to take the biscuit. Firstly the Ultras aren't a hooligan group to my knowledge. And who the **** was shocked by a pig's head being thrown onto the pitch.
    Last edited by Schumi; 20/04/2004 at 3:44 PM. Reason: Adding quote yokes