Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Liam Boyce

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Who knows, in time he may become eligible for German citizenship and opt to play for them. The IFA would then be forced to take the DFB to the CAS, surely?!
    Ha ha. You're a bad man, Pred. No reply yet from our mutual friend at IFA HQ, btw.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post
    Yes he is giving it serious consideration and flew out to meet them yesterday. Reports indicate that this is one of the best clubs for developing talent in Germany. Boyce has brians coming out of his ears so I can't see picking up the language being an issue for him tbh
    Viel gluck to the lad. Greuther Furth (a merger between a village outfit with a millionaire fan and their previously bankrupt big city neighbor) are playing at a higher standard than most of the Scottish Premier League, I suspect. He'll not find it easy to slalom past six men before scoring.

GF had, and may still have, a portrait of celebrity fan Hank Kissinger displayed in the stadium foyer.
    Last edited by Gather round; 17/08/2010 at 1:41 PM.

228 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Ha ha. You're a bad man, Pred. No reply yet from our mutual friend at IFA HQ, btw.
    Ha, I should stop now, shouldn't I? My weak gags are getting rather old.
    I wonder why there is still no reply? If I remember correctly, your queries were simple and straightforward enough. Would it be possible that the IFA is waiting for the CAS to publish the full arbitral details before commenting further?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Predator View Post
    Would it be possible that the IFA is waiting for the CAS to publish the full arbitral details before commenting further?
    This is likely, although, according to CAS it will be within the coming weeks that the grounds are published, which, unfortunately, sounds later rather than sooner in comparison to their original statement.

503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Parker View Post

Yes he is giving it serious consideration and flew out to meet them yesterday. Reports indicate that this is one of the best clubs for developing talent in Germany. BGoyce has brians coming out of his ears so I can't see picking up the language being an issue for him tbh.

Hmmm, a bright kid playing for Cliftonville. St. Malachy's lad by any chance? (my alma mater)

If so we should definitely approach him. I never met anyone in my time there who didn't consider ROI their national team. Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

72 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    Hmmm, a bright kid playing for Cliftonville. St. Malachy's lad by any chance? (my alma mater)

If so we should definitely approach him. I never met anyone in my time there who didn't consider ROI their national team. Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.
    My alma mater also

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    Sure some of the lads played for IFA teams, but it was only ever a means to an end.
    A means to, exactly, what end?
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    A means to, exactly, what end?
    A means to being noticed by a scout from across the water. A means to playing in the milk cup. A means to having something to put on a UCAS form. A means to a whole lot of things.

EDIT: He's a Westie. Played for CBS St. Mary's in the NI Schools Cup Final in 07. Definitely worth asking him the question

http://www.stmaryscbgs.com/news/view...cle.asp?id=968
    Last edited by backstothewall; 18/08/2010 at 9:03 PM.

2,284 Posts

228 Posts
    Fair play to the kid. Can't imagine many would be keen on a move to Germany. He must have a strong sense of self-belief. Good luck!

170 Posts
    Surely almost any teenage Irish League footballer would be keen on a move to BL2? Even if it's only a one year contract, it should benefit him in getting another club on return, as well as his CV generally if he's looking for a day job or to go to college, etc.

228 Posts
    I know of players playing currently playing for Derry that turned down 1 year and 6 month contracts at Premiership, Championship and SPL clubs, so who knows? I would think that the average young Irish player would prefer playing in England or Scotland over Germany, purely because it's relatively close, the language spoken is the same and the culture is very similar, which is why I'm slightly surprised by Boyce's move to Germany.

503 Posts
    Its a great move though. Fair play to the kid for having the balls to make it. Even if it doesn't work out he will leave being able to speak German, meaning he has the chance to make a career for himself in Germany, Austria or Switzerland in addition to England and Scotland. Great move to make, especially at his age.

He's a lucky kid. Nuremberg's a lovely city surrounded by beautiful countryside. The people are great and they've got the best beer in Germany round there. Viel Spass!

199 Posts
    German football is on the up, great move for him. I reckon more Irish youngsters should be looking to move to leagues other than the SPL & EPL.

285 Posts
    Liam Boyce's proposed transfer appears to be doomed.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/foot...sh/8947841.stm
    "We lost because we didn't win"- Ronaldo

What an odd conclusion. Why would a club just not confirm a transfer they'd already agreed?

503 Posts
    Hmmm. That explains why the previous deal fell through. Lets hope he gets called up to the U21s ASAP

170 Posts
    He's already in the U-21s.

446 Posts
    He means for Ireland....