Thread: Dundalk game

3,223 Posts

Dundalk game

The battle of the two completely out of form sides - three wins, one draw and nine defeats between us in the last six weeks. We'd move ahead of Dundalk if we win.

I'm told we've signed a new forward who's spent the last four years at Man City. don't know if he's match fit or available to play on Friday, but if he's as good as our last British import (Corry), he could be a great addition.

62 Posts
    Many fo ye coming down? Are ye only missing the three lads, Harding, McMillan and Shorthall?

3,223 Posts
    Dunno who's going up; hope to beat Galway anyway.

Yeah, it seems like it's just those three missing alright. Bolger's back from suspension for the moment; hopefully Corry gets a start too. Rusky's back as well, but I don't know if he'll start.

305 Posts
    Amazingly brazen by your lot not to go back out to the terraces after h/t??
    Or were yous enjoying some of that great DFC hospitality that got yous bumped to the stand,save yer little heads from getting wet and your claret ruined :-D

20 Posts
    I wasn't there but (a) if there's a view from the bar, sure why not and (b) um maybe they moved to a different part of the ground.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Amazingly brazen by your lot not to go back out to the terraces after h/t??
    Or were yous enjoying some of that great DFC hospitality that got yous bumped to the stand,save yer little heads from getting wet and your claret ruined :-D
    There's nothing diluted about the whine from Oriel Park.
    But any port in a storm, it was a champagne moment for me watching Greg Boger's performance, he had the Dundalk midfield for Buckfast. Sherry he was UCD's the man of the match.
    I never knew there was a second lounge in the Main Stand, does two drinking dens put Dundalk over the LoI limit?

Thanks for looking after us. The reason we didn;t return, it may be a groundhopping rule, if a fan watches a match from one part of the Stadium for nearly an entire half, then that part of the ground can be listed as 'seen a match from'.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

305 Posts
    I never knew there was a second lounge in the Main Stand, does two drinking dens put Dundalk over the LoI limit?
    Nice one Harpo.
    Yes, the plebs must drink down stairs,my ambition is that someday i will make it up to the top "den" :-D

305 Posts

3,223 Posts
    You could tell they were two very out-of-form sides for most of it, although in fairness, it picked up in the second half and ended up as a decent game of ball. We were on the back foot for much of it, but can still consider ourselves disappointed with the draw given the goal we conceded - all Ev had to do was launch it upfield and it was half-time, and instead he slipped and scuffed the clearance.

Bolger was poor first-half but was immense second half. Going to miss him when he gets suspended again. Didn't see what happened to Corry exactly - elbow to the face, but no idea if it was deliberate or accidental; got four stitches and may be out for a week or two, especially if there's any hint of concussion.

Thought Ger had a good game too. One world class save from a deflected shot which was going top corner, but generally looked more confident under the high ball than he usually does.

Terry wasn't there for whatever reason, so no highlights on our side unfortunately.

Edit - also, we moved into the stand once it started raining. Despite the rather pervading smell of gas, we were too lazy to move back after it stopped.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 08/08/2010 at 7:04 PM.