Page 35 of 72 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion

Is the carling nations cup a UEFA/FIFA recognised compeition i.e. if we beat macedonia/scotland and NI would it make any difference to getting into top 18? How would we have looked had we beaten Uruguay?

84 Posts
    Yes friendlies count so it makes the NI, Scotland, Macedonia and potential friendly in New York against Italy absolutely crucial. Had we beaten Uruguay we probably would have climbed substantially considering they are 7th in the world. I know not many people pay attention to FIFA rankings but they are vitally important when it comes to seedings for qualification.

They are now, thats not how it used to be. I think it should go on qualification on previous tournaments like it used to. That said we would still probably be 3rd seeds this time around, but assuming we finish 2nd again this year then we would have been 2nd for 2016.

I'm pretty sure any friendly in the US will not be FIFA recognised.

1,928 Posts
    The seeding for the 2010 WC qualification draw was based on the FIFA rankings for the first time, afaiaa.
    All official international friendlies are counted in the FIFA rankings.
    The Carling/Celtic cup games are not FIFA/UEFA competitions but have the same status in regards to points in the FIFA rankings, as our friendlies in the USA, no more - no less.

1,825 Posts
    Correct me if I'm wrong but were the wc2010 qualifiers drawn in January 2008?
    If that's the case why are these qualifiers for 2014 being drawn so early?
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

1,928 Posts
    Has there been some change? Usually the draw for the WC qualifiers happens a few months after the Euro qualifiers are finished and vice versa.

1,825 Posts
    Echo... yeah what he said... maybe its to ensure we're Defo in the 3rd pot, you know how Sep loves us, the cwiss sunt.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

84 Posts
    Yes it is crazy that the draw is being made before the outcome of the Euro qualifiers is even known but the reasoning behind it is that this world cup will be in South America and the South American qualification having 18 games during the qualifiers is much longer than the European qualification procedure and thus always starts much earlier in advance of the tournament, thus why all the other federations draws are being made so early.

I agree with you paul o shea, the old system would have benefited us more but in saying that the current system would have benefitted us much more in the Brian Kerr era, in that he left when we were 14th in the world (primarily due to an impecable record in friendlies and always playing our strongest XI in them and not treating them for the desired purpose of experimentation).

Like for example Norway have not done anything for years, all of a sudden, they are doing well half way through their campaign and are now top seeds. But in fairness its good to see little old Montenegro getting reward for their efforts so early in their existence as a footballing nation. I think I might be right in saying Croatia beat their seeding to qualify for their first tournament ever as an independent nation in Euro 96, so it would be equally impressive if Montenegro could almost emulate such an achievement.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Well lads this is probably the wrong thread for this but the World Cup 2014 qualification draw takes place on July 30th 2011. The seeding will be decided purely on the latest FIFA rankings immediately before the draw. There will be 9 groups. 9 winners qualify automatically. 8 best runners up go into play offs. As it currently stands Ireland are ranked 22nd in Europe and will be a third seed. If we can get into the the top 18 by the time of the draw, we will be second seeds.

As it stands the seedings would be as such:
    Pot 1:
    Spain
    Holland
    Germany
    England
    Portugal
    Italy
    Croatia
    Norway
    Greece

Pot 2:
    Serbia
    Slovenia
    Russia
    France
    Montenegro
    Switzerland
    Slovakia
    Denmark
    Sweden

Pot 3:
    Turkey
    Czech Republic
    Israel
    IRELAND
    Ukraine
    Belgium
    Romania
    Bosnia *** (May be disqualified)
    Bulgaria

Pot 4:
    Lithuania
    Albania
    Hungary
    Belerus
    Georgia
    Armenia
    Northern Ireland
    Scotland
    Poland

Pot 5:
    Austria
    Estonia
    Latvia
    Finland
    Macedonia
    Moldova
    Cyprus
    Azerbaijan
    Wales

Pot 6:
    Iceland
    Luxembourg
    Faroe Islands
    Kazakhstan
    Liechtenstein
    Malta
    Andorra
    San Marino

Heres hoping we can sneak our way into the second seeds but if it were to stay as it is now, probably the worst case scenario would be to get would be Spain from the first pot and a rejuvinated France under Blanc from the second. A combination of Norway and Slovenia would be just lovely.
    Why might Bosnia be disqualified?

2,284 Posts
    They were suspended from competition on the 1st of April over their football association failing to appoint a single president in place of its three-man set-up where a Serb, Croat and Bosniak-Muslim all shared power. FIFA have since imposed a "normalisation committee" of their own to govern the association, however, enabling Bosnia to compete once again, so I don't know how likely disqualification is at this current moment in time. Probably not very.

3,489 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    I don't know how likely disqualification is at this current moment in time. Probably not very.
    Think you're right there. I don't recall a European nation ever being disqualified (for reasons other than out and out war). Some (Greece most recently) have been suspended and have fairly quickly done what UEFA wanted, and so were let back in. I'd imagine Bosnia will do the same (and I think I saw somewhere that they already have taken steps).

Draw time again though; love that time!

2,796 Posts
    Vladimir Weiss out for the season. Who do Slovakia play in June?

3,489 Posts
    Lazy!

Andorra at home.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Vladimir Weiss out for the season. Who do Slovakia play in June?
    Andorra, in Slovakia. So all in all, it matters little. He is a decent player though, so if it means that his pre-season is only a recuperation and he's under-par for the start of next season, when we play them, then happy days. Not that I'd wish ill-will on him, or them, karma etc....
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Quote Originally Posted by French Toasht View Post
    Heres hoping we can sneak our way into the second seeds but if it were to stay as it is now, probably the worst case scenario would be to get would be Spain from the first pot and a rejuvinated France under Blanc from the second. A combination of Norway and Slovenia would be just lovely.
    I have you with 0.03% chance of landing in the second pot

2014 FIFA World Cup seeding (UEFA): 10000 simulations

What other friendlies besides the Nations Cup do you have planned? I know Italy canceled their USA tour.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Edgar View Post
    I have you with 0.03% chance of landing in the second pot
    so you're saying there's a chance...

I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

19. Thanks From:

I love that moive, thats exactly what i thought when i read the 0.03%. Brilliant.

You mean, not good like one out of a hundred? I'd say more like one out of a million.

Big Gulps huh? Well see ye later guys.

2,771 Posts
    Oh check out the funbags on that hosehound
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

675 Posts
    What's the soup de jour?

It's the soup of the day.

Sounds nice, I'll have that.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

610 Posts