Page 34 of 72 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast

Thread: Euro 2012 Qualifying Group B - General Discussion

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    There was all this talk about the Russians being under supreme pressure and going backwards when they played in Lansdowne. I don't buy it that much. We have no idea what will happen between now and then. Let's just get to Moscow and worry about it then. We have more pressing issues like beating Macedonia and Slovakia. If we don't win them the Russia game will be academic.
    Absolutely but we should take heart in whatever problems are rivals are facing. Plus Russia are struggling for results and need to win games as much as us.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Absolutely but we should take heart in whatever problems are rivals are facing. Plus Russia are struggling for results and need to win games as much as us.

You're right we should take heart from others' problems. I think that Slovakia's woes are of more interest right now to me.
    Between now and Moscow we need to ensure we cement our superiority in the Nation's Cup. In those games and the games in America we need to develop a plan B (which will hopefully morph into plan A); something like tonight with a back 4 that works. If we had played like we did tonight in attack I might add, we wouldn't have been so easily routed in Dublin. This is what we should be trying to guard against.

Let's not bank on other's woes, but let's capitalise on them by going about our plan effectively and taking it one game at a time.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

675 Posts
    You're right we should take heart from others' problems. I think that Slovakia's woes are of more interest right now to me.
    Between now and Moscow we need to ensure we cement our superiority in the Nation's Cup. In those games and the games in America we need to develop a plan B (which will hopefully morph into plan A); something like tonight with a back 4 that works. If we had played like we did tonight in attack I might add, we wouldn't have been so easily routed in Dublin. This is what we should be trying to guard against.

Let's not bank on other's woes, but let's capitalise on them by going about our plan effectively and taking it one game at a time.
    Big time - let's take advantage and not allow for luck to play any part in this process again. With some forward planning, some extra edge and passion, we can win this group.

I think it's interesting - and timely - we're arranging so many games. Trap may be a cautious selector but at least he's giving the players the opportunities. And, as has been said, it's great we have genuine options for the first time in ages. The Nations Cup games are virtually an audition for who starts in Skopje - Given or Westwood; Fahey, Gibson, Whelan, McCarthy, Green or Andrews; Kilbane or Clark; Kelly or Foley; Keane or Long (if Doyle's fit). Opportunities for the likes of O'Dea, Best, Walters et al to put their hands up too. Really heartening.

2,796 Posts
    I can almost hear Barack Obama or John F. Kennedy addressing the masses...

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I can almost hear Barack Obama or John F. Kennedy addressing the masses...
    I'm about as rousing as Gloria Hunniford eating cake in Grimsby.
    Despite their European provenance I reckon I could take them tactically.
    I'm feeling oratorical tonight.

Swanny, its funny you should mention that about Trap. If you go back to the last campaign we seemed to kick on around the summertime and look where that got us. Maybe the auld bastid knows what he's doing after all.

Big time - let's take advantage and not allow for luck to play any part in this process again. With some forward planning, some extra edge and passion, we can win this group.

I think it's interesting - and timely - we're arranging so many games. Trap may be a cautious selector but at least he's giving the players the opportunities. And, as has been said, it's great we have genuine options for the first time in ages. The Nations Cup games are virtually an audition for who starts in Skopje - Given or Westwood; Fahey, Gibson, Whelan, McCarthy, Green or Andrews; Kilbane or Clark; Kelly or Foley; Keane or Long (if Doyle's fit). Opportunities for the likes of O'Dea, Best, Walters et al to put their hands up too. Really heartening.
    I don't think he would change it for that game so quickly after playing those friendlies(more like after the whole summer he has with them).

1,928 Posts
    I don't subscribe to the view that we have benefited from what you would call our due breaks, in this campaign. Playing an away game on neutral ground, saving a last minute penalty or getting a last gasp winner, is a break.
    IMO, getting a soft goal early on, losing Doyle and working hard for 60 minutes does not qualify as a break.

I don't know how these breaks are calculated in the grand scheme of things. But after reading an interview with Trap I calculate that we have bolstered our case for a huge qualification size break, just by association with Trap.

The reference is to that dodgy World Cup ref
    After what was effectively an unsuccessful time as Italian national team manager, which he puts down to a variety of factors including questionable decisions by a referee who was arrested last year for drug smuggling, Trapattoni admitted to having a certain sense of unfinished business in the international game.
    “I think I achieved good results with a strong team but sure, I am also in credit with Uefa and Fifa a little after some of the things that happened. I’m due something back in international football.”

161 Posts
    Trapatonni could teach Ferguson and Mourinho a few tricks in the "messing around with your head" stakes. Big away game coming up and the last thing we want in Macedonia is a "homer". And he will amplify his concerns come Moscow.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I don't think he would change it for that game so quickly after playing those friendlies(more like after the whole summer he has with them).
    Don't see why not? This is the first time in a while (possibly ever under Trap) there's been genuine debate over 4-6 team places. With two games just beforehand, he can look at two players, such as Kelly/Foley and Gibson/Fahey, and see who's most up to the job. Great chance to see exactly how these players are responding after a long season or who can do the job required in Skopje.

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Trapatonni could teach Ferguson and Mourinho a few tricks in the "messing around with your head" stakes. Big away game coming up and the last thing we want in Macedonia is a "homer". And he will amplify his concerns come Moscow.
    Agreed. Hope he does too. Don't care how it comes our way, don't even care if we or Trap deserve it or not - I'll take a lucky, flukey, referee assisted win in Moscow every day.

Don't see why not? This is the first time in a while (possibly ever under Trap) there's been genuine debate over 4-6 team places. With two games just beforehand, he can look at two players, such as Kelly/Foley and Gibson/Fahey, and see who's most up to the job. Great chance to see exactly how these players are responding after a long season or who can do the job required in Skopje.
    Foley has already played, kelly has been around long enough and has played often enough, with Dunne gone we know that at least one of those is going to start anyway... I don't think we are talking about him as have gibson and fahey, i agree there is a chance fahey could play in midfield, im talking the likes of newer players(already selected for the squad) to come in.

634 Posts
    I'd say if JOSH and St Ledger are fit for the Nations Cup, they will start at centre back against Macedonia. I'd say he's going to try and get the back 4 as close to selection as early as possible in the 3 game period around Macedonia. The nightmare scenario is that the centre back partnership of the other night takes the field again.
    For me anyway ideally it would be OShea and Ledger, or OShea and O'Dea, followed by Ledger and O'Dea.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

1,928 Posts
    Paul Green out for the rest of the season.

I don't know who to nominate as the replacement fall guy.

634 Posts
    never wish injury on a player, but it's one less limited player to compete for a spot in the middle. (also gives the other options a run out in the friendlies too)

1,928 Posts
    Yeah sure Kingdom, when you heard the news you probably hit your head off the ceiling and then thought it better to express a morsel of compassion (crocodile tears) in the first 6 words.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    never wish injury on a player, but it's one less limited player to compete for a spot in the middle. (also gives the other options a run out in the friendlies too)
    Biggest but this side of JLO.

Funny though he gets injured now after not performing so badly in the last game.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Yeah sure Kingdom, when you heard the news you probably hit your head off the ceiling and then thought it better to express a morsel of compassion (crocodile tears) in the first 6 words.
    I immediately smiled, then I heard that David Moran is out for the year. What you gain on the swings....

Sorry that's an off-topic gaa reference. I know you Monaghan boys aren't too hot at Gaa.

1,928 Posts
    You know when a Kerryman's moral tank is empty when they try and reclaim the high ground with sly references to GAA superiority.
    Anyway, the force is with Cork these days

634 Posts
    Form, class, temporary, permanent etc etc. Anyway, I'd be quite happy if Mr Green made a full recovery for the start of the new season.

84 Posts
    Well lads this is probably the wrong thread for this but the World Cup 2014 qualification draw takes place on July 30th 2011. The seeding will be decided purely on the latest FIFA rankings immediately before the draw. There will be 9 groups. 9 winners qualify automatically. 8 best runners up go into play offs. As it currently stands Ireland are ranked 22nd in Europe and will be a third seed. If we can get into the the top 18 by the time of the draw, we will be second seeds.

As it stands the seedings would be as such:
    Pot 1:
    Spain
    Holland
    Germany
    England
    Portugal
    Italy
    Croatia
    Norway
    Greece

Pot 2:
    Serbia
    Slovenia
    Russia
    France
    Montenegro
    Switzerland
    Slovakia
    Denmark
    Sweden

Pot 3:
    Turkey
    Czech Republic
    Israel
    IRELAND
    Ukraine
    Belgium
    Romania
    Bosnia *** (May be disqualified)
    Bulgaria

Pot 4:
    Lithuania
    Albania
    Hungary
    Belerus
    Georgia
    Armenia
    Northern Ireland
    Scotland
    Poland

Pot 5:
    Austria
    Estonia
    Latvia
    Finland
    Macedonia
    Moldova
    Cyprus
    Azerbaijan
    Wales

Pot 6:
    Iceland
    Luxembourg
    Faroe Islands
    Kazakhstan
    Liechtenstein
    Malta
    Andorra
    San Marino

Heres hoping we can sneak our way into the second seeds but if it were to stay as it is now, probably the worst case scenario would be to get would be Spain from the first pot and a rejuvinated France under Blanc from the second. A combination of Norway and Slovenia would be just lovely.

Page 34 of 72 FirstFirst ... 24323334353644 ... LastLast