Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Airtricity League Latest: Friday July 30th

238 Posts
    Harps were very unfortunate not to win the match tonight, dominated the second half and only for Doherty in the Derry goal it could have been 3 or 4 (I know, we weren't that much better but on chances we could have had 4), he made a fine save from McLaughlin to tip it over the bar, then a one on one with Tony Shields he also picked the ball out of the net when Davitt Walsh was adjudged to be offside (50/50 to be fair).
    Only 1750 at the game, one of the worst Derby crowds in recent memory to be honest, but a fantastic atmosphere in the second half with both teams really going for it.
    Some Derry fans actually stole our groundsmans ladder for the scoreboard, I mean seriously, a ladder????????????

Harps were class in second half tonight, if it wasnt for such bad defending for the Derry goal it would have been a lovely win over da auld rivals. The crowd was pretty good, I didnt expect half as many as we dont really have anything to play for only to build on a team for next year and the cup.
    Last edited by cestlavie; 30/07/2010 at 11:18 PM. Reason: spelling

445 Posts
    Unbelievable last night, Still hoarse from shouting after the goal, I say Bohs fans are sick(hahaha), Nusty Fenlon showing the preasure is getting to him, Having a go at some of our fans after the game calling them Junkies, just makes it all better tbh
    Here on a technicality.

89 Posts
    Is it true that Fenlon gave the junkie arm slap gesture to the Pats fans after the game?

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Is it true that Fenlon gave the junkie arm slap gesture to the Pats fans after the game?
    hopefully.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

445 Posts
    He did indeed and called some of our fans junkies, Not very professional from him but makes it all the more fun
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    He did indeed and called some of our fans junkies, Not very professional from him but makes it all the more fun
    I saw the pictures partysaint in the star of yer game. I loved yer banners at the game especially the one for TNS!

21 Posts
    Salthill 1-1 City , about 15 mins to go .

21 Posts
    Salthill 1-2 Cork City,
    Cummins with his 2nd of the night.

Cork 2:1 or 3:1 TF?

Edit: Okay it's 3:1.
    Last edited by robertob; 31/07/2010 at 8:16 PM.

38 Posts
    Yep, he did it alright. And it's hilarious that the Pat's fans wound him up so easily. He's cracking up. Calling us junkies, calling his own fans gobsh!tes. I'm absolutely loving this season.

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by monkey9 View Post
    Yep, he did it alright. And it's hilarious that the Pat's fans wound him up so easily. He's cracking up. Calling us junkies, calling his own fans gobsh!tes. I'm absolutely loving this season.
    Yeh, i have to agree.
    nutsy and big-nose byrne tried to do the same against Rovers in the last game there, in that graveyard of irish football.
    sad to see the double league champions redued to pi$$-poor toy-throwing tactics, especially in their own ground.
    probably feel the walls closing in on them.
    good enuff for em.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    Yeh, i have to agree.
    nutsy and big-nose byrne tried to do the same against Rovers in the last game there, in that graveyard of irish football.
    sad to see the double league champions redued to pi$$-poor toy-throwing tactics, especially in their own ground.
    probably feel the walls closing in on them.
    good enuff for em.
    Oh Byrne was in on it aswell, One fan was giving him a bit of stick and Byrne was giving it back just as good all banter really, then the fan went to walk away and Byrne went right over to the fence to keep the abuse going, thats when everyone else got involved
    Here on a technicality.

sligo 1-0 dundalk

mc cabe

38 Posts
    This is a post from the Pat's forum of some of the verbal exchanges...................

Pats fan: ha ha lads there,ll be some Que down at hatch 6 on Monday morn...........

Jay byrne: you fat your fat your fat

Pats fan : did it take your one junior cert pass paper to figure that out ...............

Jay Byrne : your fat your fat your fat your fat

Pats fan : well tell your misses to Stop bringing me left overs from work

Jay Byrne: your fat your fat your fat

Pats fan: well jay what's it like that the main bread winner in the house serves at the drive thru in maccers

Jay Byrne: your fat your fat your fat

Pats fan : ha ha ha ha ha ha what's it like to get raped by a sheep shagar

Chris o connor: me and u outside for a straitener now

Pats fan: sorry mate if you think I'm gona make a show of meself by rolling around in muck with u ......ye clown

Jay Byrne : your fat your fat your fat your fat

Nutsy : yis ****ing junkies yis ****ing junkies wers your shooters weres your shooters

Pats fan: tt tns tt tns tt tns

Pats fans : nanananana nutsy goin nuts goin nuts nutsy goin nuts..............

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    Just setting the standard for next season really. Getting them ready, if you will.

I loved the chant 'Say hello to, say hello to, say hello to Shels for us. Say hello to Shels for us.'

Dundalk were very poor. Don't think Gibson had a proper save to make all night. Should have won by more than the one.

46 Posts
    Fantastic performance by a young, fearless Harps side for Derry City's first visit to Ballybofey. We were carved open early but never looked out of it and I was confident saying we would win 2-1. Mailey's header was excellent for the equaliser and but for a great save from Ger Doherty meant a share of the spoils. This Harps side has pace and its nice to see it all over the pitch. I'm confident about the future. Jamsie has this side playing a good brand of football and I think youth is the basis for this fearlessness.

Sligo Rovers deserved the points tonight as Dundalk, as Sligoman said above, were poor throughout. Sligo were wasteful in front of goal and would have been bitterly disappointed had they not taken all 3 points. The atmosphere was terrible though. The Dundalk fans never let up from start to finish, well briefly after conceding, but there was little or nothing from the home support.

Derry City may be a new club but their support can never be questioned. The plastic sheep, dressed in blue and white, made the customary appearance as did one fan with a wooden ladder. Presumably he didn't come in to the ground with it and perhaps picked it up at the now derelict River End of the ground but he held onto it, parked it again the fence and used it to gain a better vantage point of the game.

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    . The atmosphere was terrible though. but there was little or nothing from the home support.
    Ironic coming from a Harps fan. Anyways, atmosphere was ****e from us for a number of reasons. I'm guessing you were the fella I seen in the harps jacket?

Ya atmosphere was a bit disapointing, but i think we've become a bit spoilt over the last while.
    We've a great home record and unless were beating around us teams heavily, or those above us the home fans get restless.
    I was talking to a few lads before the game who commented on E Hands remarks on MNS saying we play good football as opposed to Pats direct play,
    but Pats will more than likely finish above us in the league
    All agreed we would rather play football rather than Graham Taylor tactics.
    We expect good football above all else, probably naive buts thats just the way we are.

Also Leonard Cohen Concert tonight 10,000/12,000 and the same tomorrow
    And last night Westlife 10,000/12,000, so that might have affected the attendance as there is only so much money going around

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast