Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: We're all a Hoop tonight

36 Posts
    didnt think juve got outta 1st gear, amouri scored a beautiful header.

rovers chant was class about del piero
    the european dream is already over

400k will be ****ed against the wind on higher rent players wages etc........

There's not one but TWO fairly light hearted ones off the top of my head in the last 24 hours. I couldn't be anused looking for more.
    I didn't say you hadn't posted light heartedly, just that I hadn't seen any. I don't keep notes

Amauri was by far the best player on the pitch for me. Great to see (especially del Piero), but there's enough there to be happy going further into the season.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint View Post
    didnt think juve got outta 1st gear, amouri scored a beautiful header.

rovers chant was class about del piero
    the european dream is already over

Our European dream was going away to a better ranked side, with a bigger budget, in harsh conditions and winning away from home to set up a tie with one of the biggest clubs in the world. It was ****ing brilliant.

You can be extremely sure that Rovers aren't about to change their wage structure on the back of one match. That game will live long in the memory, and the bank account.
    Last edited by Jicked; 30/07/2010 at 1:48 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by RoversHead View Post
    eh no that would involve a big drum and the term randy brandywell.Great nights entertainment,met some Juve lads for scoops after,they loved the atmosphere and spirit on and off the park,particularly Del Pieros standing ovation followed by" youl never play for Rovers"
    The atmosphere at the game was definitely very friendly - for all the (occasionally) unsavoury elements of the Rovers, they outdid themselves tonight. With the economy in the state it is, wouldn't hurt to have 300 Torinesi who are impressed enough to come back on holiday.

Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint View Post
    Why do you think that? Despite having probably the most sustainable business model in the league, the board resisted the temptation to go full-time this year. I reckon they'll be ****-scared for a few more years of anything that could be considered big spending.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Amauri was by far the best player on the pitch for me. Great to see (especially del Piero), but there's enough there to be happy going further into the season.
    I thought Diego was a class above everyone, despite Amauri getting the goals. Pepe played well, too, despite being well short of what you'd consider Juventus class.
    Last edited by Charlie Darwin; 30/07/2010 at 2:50 AM.

305 Posts
    "Why do you think that? Despite having probably the most sustainable business model in the league, the board resisted the temptation to go full-time this year. I reckon they'll be ****-scared for a few more years of anything that could be considered big spending."

Right,wake me up soon
    Last edited by bullit; 30/07/2010 at 3:29 AM.

48 Posts
    I thought Rovers did quite well and the early goal fecked them up.The way they played in the 2nd half was great and at times played great football,keeping possesion with decent passes and holding on to the ball.

It was more or less Juve's full side so they obviously took it serious!

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    I remember flicking between TV channels a few years ago watching Shels and Pat's in Europe. I hated Pat's for taking a bunch of Galway natives to the Club and i hated Shels for their cheque book method of building a Club. Yet still, I cheered when Shels went 3 goals up against Rangers and roared encouragement at the Saints as they held Celtic scoreless at Parkhead. Same when Cork beat Gothernburg and Sligo beat the Maltesers.

Tonight, my dislike for Rovers will not be forgotten but I really would love to see them thrash Juve 10 - 0.

It's a bit f**ked up, I know.

Come on Rovers, ye dirty freeloading Dubs.
    It was Derry City that beat Gothenborg home and away,beat Gretna 5-1 away and drew with PSG before going down 2-0 in the Parc De Prince's when over 2,500 Derry fans attended.

I had to get that in guys.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by danthesaint
    The return will be spent prudently. Like the stadium choice for the game, and the distribution of ticket sales. The wellbeing of the club comes before any financial benefit.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

398 Posts
    The most important thing now for Rovers is to finally get their name on a piece of paper with SDCC. As soon as they are made leaseholders they can move to the next level and not be held fugitive to the idiocy and red tape of the SDCC and civil service unions!

Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post

Just shows you that paddyfield doesn't care enough about Derry to hate them

49 Posts
    great occasion, dont really think the result matters all that much last night. the crowd were brilliant and sounded brilliant on tv! on a playing side i thought shams gave them way to much room in midfield and were afraid to go forward it seems. pity because if they went at them like they did in the start of the second half you never know. i thought dan murray had a shocker, he was doddling around the back like a 90 yr old. how many times did he put the ball accross the backline only for amauri to almost get onto it. he gave the ball away every time. overall though great night and nice to see brady giving his thoughts on the game. knew a bit about the players and seemed happy to be there as he said, nice to hear he followed rovers as a kid also.

Well done Rovers, done the league very proud and it looked like a terrific occassion.
    Great to see the crowd on TV rocking.

No shame at all to lose 2 zip to the italian giants.

Some of the comments on this thread are very very bitter and very sad to be honest.

222 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by srfc1928 View Post
    have to agree most Sligo Rovers fans dislike of Shamrock Rovers goes back generations.
    And in fairness its a one sided thing on our part.
    I think it stems from the fact they were the main team from the capital and we were out on our own for years with no rivals around us.
    When you go back through the years as far as the 30's we were practically the only regional team consistently on the go.
    Ahem! [inserts wagging finger smiley here] And by 'consistently on the go' I presume you mean 'only dropped out of the league twice'!

Anyway... good show from Rovers last night. When they didn't show Juve too much respect they did very well.

74 Posts
    O' Neil got them going at half time and it was an excitng start to the second half yes it would have been nice to have seen Rovers go at them a bit more throughout but I'm sure they would have come undone if they had tried to. A thrashing would just have confirmed for many watching on TV their low opinion of LOI teams.
    As it stands I'm sure that plenty of teams coming up against Juve this season will go down by more than 2-0.
    That early goal was a killer though and did my eyes play tricks on me or was that ball heading for the post until a bump on the ground diverted it into the net?

Rovers kept it reasonably tight and any fair minded bar stooler watching must have been impressed with the whole package of the game/crowd/ground. Brady seemed to genuinely enjoy himself and the crowd were obviously having fun, it should bring a few extra bums back to Tallaght and that can't be bad.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    I thought Diego was a class above everyone, despite Amauri getting the goals. Pepe played well, too, despite being well short of what you'd consider Juventus class.
    I thought Sissoko was the best player on the pitch. I can only recall one occasion where he gave the ball away. I think Rovers should have pressed Juve higher up the pitch. They made the same mistake Germany made against Spain, allowing them to play their way out and trying to crowd midfield. The hoof up the pitch to the one striker was never going to work either. Much better start to the second half where they got the ball down and played.

First time to Tallaght. Spent 20 years going to Milltown and joined the "F**k Tolka brigade". Never got back in to the habit. One thing hasn't changed since my days of going to Milltown: The way "The Rovers" is said with an English accent when being chanted. I remember one chant in particular from those days "I-i-ira, f**k the Queen and the UDA. The Rayo-vers". The irony of that I think was lost on the chanters - still is. Lovely ground. Great support. Still would prefer Milltown though
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Sissoko and Diego were the key player for Juve and controlled the game so well, Rover were frozen for the first 25 minutes as the occasion seemed to get to them but the end of the first half and start of the second were fantastic. Dan Murray unfortunately had an absolute nightmare, made at least 4 awful errors at the back and missed Rovers best 2 chances. When Rice went off Rovers were always likely to concede a second but you couldn't blame O'Neill for giving the 4-4-2 a shot and trying to give the crowd a goal, I think eardrums would have been burst had that happened.

The atmosphere and occasion were something special, I think I said last year it's not often you get to see world class players like Ronaldo on your doorstep, and to have that surpassed by witnessing a legend like Del Piero enter the fray in a competitive game in Tallaght was something that will live long in the memory.

Hopefully the Champions League draw next year will throw up some more superstars.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

138 Posts
    I take back everything I said yesterday.
    The delight in seeing Juve score over shadowed everything, was beautifull.
    But all in all Shams produced a good package last night and a good advertisement for the league.
    On a side note, Dan Murray, what a joke of a footballer, never rated him and he made a show of himself last night.
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    First time to Tallaght. Spent 20 years going to Milltown and joined the "F**k Tolka brigade". Never got back in to the habit. One thing hasn't changed since my days of going to Milltown: The way "The Rovers" is said with an English accent when being chanted. I remember one chant in particular from those days "I-i-ira, f**k the Queen and the UDA. The Rayo-vers". The irony of that I think was lost on the chanters - still is. Lovely ground. Great support. Still would prefer Milltown though
    Yaaaa almost as ironic as someone from Dublin supporting a team from Sheffield.
    Anyway when Shams chant "Rovers" it doesnt sound like it is in some English accent, it just sounds Dub.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    if he had defended like he should have it would have been a different game.
    d'ywannim back?
    very much so!

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jicked View Post
    Did Murray score many for Cork in Europe?
    he has 4 or 5, hes our top European Scorer, one ahead of Skippy

49 Posts
    amauri could have had 5-6 if he latched onto any pf the balls murray was putting across the backline last night. crazy passes.

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Candystripe View Post
    It was Derry City that beat Gothenborg home and away,beat Gretna 5-1 away and drew with PSG before going down 2-0 in the Parc De Prince's when over 2,500 Derry fans attended.

Actually, Cork City did beat Gothenburg 1-0 back in 2000 or 2001, however we'd lost the away leg 3-0 I think
    We've also gotten some other great results in Sweden including beating Malmo home and away

Page 6 of 11 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast