Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: We're all a Hoop tonight

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Time of the month?

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid. Maybe Pete upping the ante this week has increased the pressure.
    LTID will tell you he's fan of Limerick and not the LOI, while I agree with a lot of what he says I do however wish Rovers the best of Luck, as I would any Irish team playing in Europe.

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    No matter the result tonight (or next week) Shamrock Rovers have already won....over €400,000.

Be afraid 2011 title contenters (& Bohs) be very afraid.
    I reckon the club will probably put the financial gain down as a windfall and invest it in grassroots/infrastructure/promotion rather than factoring it into the playing budget.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve
    Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?
    There is a historical reason. It goes back to 1978, when a disputed penalty was given in one of the games. We've never heard the end of it since.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

136 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peadar1987 View Post
    Rovers doing well could only be good for the league. Nobody is going to stop supporting St. Pat's, Dundalk, or Finn Harps if they manage to get a result, but there's a good chance a fair few people might decide to check out their local LOI side if they do well. In a league so starved of support as ours, that's something you can't scoff at because of some petty animosity
    Good stuff. Hope Rovers do well tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by hoops1 View Post
    And they said Raul Moat shot himself!
    He did.

Driven to it by a hugely inflated ego and the woman he loved. Twould have been near Shakesperean had Gazza not arrived.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Time of the month?
    I'm a bloke though.

The FACTS of life.

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid.
    http://foot.ie/threads/137533-July-T...=1#post1381593

http://foot.ie/threads/138622-Oh-My-...=1#post1381688

There's not one but TWO fairly light hearted ones off the top of my head in the last 24 hours. I couldn't be anused looking for more.

"Oh noes, someones doesn't luv da rovers, dey must be mentals."

I just opined on an opinion forum that I genuinely couldn't give one and that I struggle to understand the mentality of anyone who could unless they have a connection with the club or a bet on. Judging by the reaction to the post I'm not the only one. (not that I'd care if I was mind.)

I really, really, wouldn't worry about it too much if I was one of ye.

Quote Originally Posted by Rasputin View Post
    But tonight I will be hopeing to god they beat Juve, not because of some fabricatated LOI 'fraternity' or to see an Irish team doing well or such minnowism but purely for the fact that what ever dislike I have for Shams it doesnt even come near to my hatred for barstoolers and nothing would please me more than shams wipeing their smirk away and destroy the hard on they have for Irish teams getting humiliated in Europe.
    You need to get over yourself man. Speaking as someone who has always followed an English club, and attends a handful of LOI matches every season, I don't know of anyone that would love to see Rovers getting beaten, never mind hammered. Granted there's always a few that'll smirk if things turn out that way but it's certainly not the prevailing mood AFAIK. I remember a chap in work racing around the corner to Buswell's Hotel in 2004 or so to hand over his £2k to keep the club going. It'll be him I'm thinking of while watching the match. Best of luck to them.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    I don't know of anyone that would love to see Rovers getting beaten, never mind hammered.

Possibly 4 or 5 of these lads.

Overall, fair comment tho.

I'm up for Juve.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

37 Posts
    I remember flicking between TV channels a few years ago watching Shels and Pat's in Europe. I hated Pat's for taking a bunch of Galway natives to the Club and i hated Shels for their cheque book method of building a Club. Yet still, I cheered when Shels went 3 goals up against Rangers and roared encouragement at the Saints as they held Celtic scoreless at Parkhead. Same when Cork beat Gothernburg and Sligo beat the Maltesers.

Tonight, my dislike for Rovers will not be forgotten but I really would love to see them thrash Juve 10 - 0.

It's a bit f**ked up, I know.

Come on Rovers, ye dirty freeloading Dubs.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

105 Posts

Forza la vecchia signora

se saltelli, muore Michael O'Neill.

Shamrock merda

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    There is a historical reason. It goes back to 1978, when a disputed penalty was given in one of the games. We've never heard the end of it since.
    Probably goes back further that mypost. Its more that its been handed down from generation to generation imo.

Historically it goes way back to when Dublin teams would be given the rub of the green by referees, who travelled to Sligo on the team bus. Or further back to a time when Dublin teams who be subsidised when travelling to playing a team outside The Pale, while we got nothin when we trvelled.
    The fact that Shams were probably the team to beat those days made them easier to 'hate', and its just continued from there id say. Football fans can be a fickle old bunch.
    That some Shams supporters think that they have a monopoly on the word 'Rovers' dosent add to it either.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

2,770 Posts
    I hope Rovers lose. (edited to acceptable foot.ie standards)

Predictable but brilliantly simple. (how can anyone say they hate them but want them to win - ridiculous).
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

108 Posts
    Any other streams?

rte's is a bit... meh!

205 Posts
    Fuuck it anyway!
    Sporting F*ck All!

2,770 Posts
    yes Rovers fans, we were watching.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Very poor goal to give away. Your man Amauri couldn't have been any slower getting to the ball and still had acres.

Why is Cissokho being booed?
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    yes Rovers fans, we were watching.
    Had a laugh at that one myself

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post