Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: We're all a Hoop tonight

89 Posts
    I'd imagine it will depend on the result tonight, as buying the rights would be reasonably expensive. It'll be live on Italian TV though, so will be dozens of good quality feeds online. And not sure how many fans we'll bring yet, but it will be way over 500 anyway. One of the unofficial charter planes is an Aer Lingus 737 and it's booked full, so that's 300+ before you start talking about people travelling with the official club charter and those travelling independently (which would probably be the majority). Modena won't know what hit it.

89 Posts

Ian O'Doherty: Now there's an unlikely ally
    As someone who was brought up to despise Shamrock Rovers -- let's face it, anyone who supports another Irish club will always list Rovers as the team they love to hate -- it's only fair to commend them for their recent turn around.

Owned by the fans; these same fans were quick to warn any potential pro-Palestinian supporter that they would receive harsh terrace justice if they tried to disrupt the home leg against Israeli Bnei Yehuda, while a hundred of them went over to Tel Aviv for the return leg of the match. Those who went were witness to a special moment in the club's history when they qualified for tonight's dream match against Juve.

But what many people won't know is that one of the club's supporters, Herald hack George Byrne, got an interesting nixer when he was in Tel Aviv.

A familiar voice on Irish radio, he picked up another gig when he appeared on Israeli Armed Forces Radio to give his verdict on the match.

It was a strange development, becoming a contributor for IDF radio, for a man not exactly known as an Israeli-lover.

After all, he's the guy who once asked a flabbergasted press officer from the Israeli embassy how come IDF snipers can shoot a Palestinian child from a mile away yet when Ireland last played in Tel Aviv the television crew couldn't even point their camera at the penalty spot.

The look on the hapless press officer's face when he tried to process that?

As the TV commercial says: priceless.
    http://www.independent.ie/opinion/co...y-2275633.html

Quote Originally Posted by Ian O'Doherty
    [url]let's face it, anyone who supports another Irish club will always list Rovers as the team they love to hate
    Yer man must think we're all still back in the 1980's !

I doubt many City fans would list Rovers in even the Top 3 of the teams they "hate".

Best of luck tonight lads, the haters can go fudge themselves. As a club you's really do deserve this, it'd benefit the whole league, and football in the country, for you to progress.

Like it or not they are the model club. Fan owned, financially prudent clubs is the pathway for the rest of us. Also love the way barstoolers aren't getting a look in. Only members and season ticket holders, good stuff.

186 Posts
    Many Juve fans expected for this. There might not be many flying in from Italy? but theres probably a few living in Ireland that might go.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

I read somewhere that 400 Juve fans are gonna be present tonight. Seems too little for me.

3,488 Posts
    Presumably they only get a 10% allocation or something.

Intereting game if you're a Juve fan. Do you go to this one for a new experience or save your holidays for the group and knock out games?

If it's 10% then they should be getting 600 tickets. It's probably that then.

This thread is mortifying.

"Tonight we are all Rovers fans", "Model Club", "The Co-Efficient", "The League of Ireland family", "Barstoolers lol"

It's like being trapped in a circle jerk, cliche machine.

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Now, I'm off to find an Italian forum with a "Tonight we are all Juventus fans" thread started by a Roma fan.

106 Posts
    Good to see Dan Murray and Danny Murphy enjoying their loan spell, it seems "You reap what you sow" after all.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitman View Post
    Good to see Dan Murray and Danny Murphy enjoying their loan spell, it seems "You reap what you sow" after all.
    I don't think there'd be too many tears shed if both went back to Cork. A lot of people would offer to drive Dan Murray back.

Juve got 300 tickets as far as I know, all were distributed through their fans travel group so there shouldn't be any Italian students/chip shop owners in the away end.

70 Posts
    In fairness - and not to have a dig at Rovers at all - but I'd say it wouldn't be too hard to sell an away European game against Juventus; it's pretty much the definition of a dream tie. I'd be very surprised if a club like Rovers couldn't get 1000 at it, even if it is in Modena.
    Yeah I thought that at first too but a return tickets average €300-400. I'd say we'll get the 1,000 mark alright but its very expensive.

3,488 Posts
    Ah, they joys of not having enough fans to jerk up air fares.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Yer man must think we're all still back in the 1980's !

I doubt many City fans would list Rovers in even the Top 3 of the teams they "hate".

Maybe it is an age thing. However back in the 70's and 80's and well before that (according to my Dad) they
    were always the team you most wanted to beat.

Still always want them to win in Europe. Best of luck tonight.
    Limerick FC Més que un club

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Given there's no geographical or historical reason for it, is the animosity from Sligo fans towards Shamrock Rovers fans (and yes - it does seems pretty much one way) purely because they don't like the fact that the Dublin club is known as 'Rovers' rather than them ?
    This whole Rovers and Shams thing is embaressing on this site.
    Yes petty remarks are made by Rovers fans after the last few games which were fairly eventfull between both sides.
    But thats football, its only then that Shams fans state its about some pathetic 'obsession' or what not.
    And yes I think MON is an all round rat, not because of some inane statement he said or was supposed to have said in an interview but the way in which he conducted himself in the showgies the last time they were down, some people know what ****e he was up to and some dont.
    I dislike Shams in the whole, I like to beat them but they certainly arent 'rivals' or any such absurdity.
    But tonight I will be hopeing to god they beat Juve, not because of some fabricatated LOI 'fraternity' or to see an Irish team doing well or such minnowism but purely for the fact that what ever dislike I have for Shams it doesnt even come near to my hatred for barstoolers and nothing would please me more than shams wipeing their smirk away and destroy the hard on they have for Irish teams getting humiliated in Europe.

Ah, a couple of league titles will bring all the hatred back.

Very excited about the match tonight, though my expectations are low.

70 Posts

"Tonight we are all Rovers fans", "Model Club", "The Co-Efficient", "The League of Ireland family", "Barstoolers lol"

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Now, I'm off to find an Italian forum with a "Tonight we are all Juventus fans" thread started by a Roma fan.
    And they said Raul Moat shot himself!
    Champions 2010
    Champions 2011
    Dick Brush 1 Sligo 0
    Bohs are going bust.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    No matter the result tonight (or next week) Shamrock Rovers have already won....over €400,000.

Be afraid 2011 title contenters (& Bohs) be very afraid.

21. Thanks From:

473 Posts
    Rovers doing well could only be good for the league. Nobody is going to stop supporting St. Pat's, Dundalk, or Finn Harps if they manage to get a result, but there's a good chance a fair few people might decide to check out their local LOI side if they do well. In a league so starved of support as ours, that's something you can't scoff at because of some petty animosity

F*** Rovers

And F*** Juventus

Time of the month?

I don't think I've ever read a positive post from Ltid. Maybe Pete upping the ante this week has increased the pressure.
    Last edited by dfx-; 29/07/2010 at 3:46 PM.
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

24. Thanks From:

Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast