cals can play there b players, the ldmc cant do anything as long as no objection is put in, corbally were put out of the touhy last year over same thing but only cause balla objected, as far as im concerned if u play b players its not as if you are strenghtening your team, it actually makes u weaker. if i was on cals committee i would play cup (b players or not) and worry about an objection if ye win. if ye dont play and for some reason have to give a walkover later in the season the club will be thrown out and have to re-apply
I'd be the same as gk, i'd prefer to play with my mates and try win something than play with a load of lads i don't know. Find it more enjoyable. Out in Coonagh we have a different set up to most teams I would think. The A and B teams train together all the time. We don't consider the B team as a feeder team for the A's. We have tried to have two teams that are competitive rather than totally strip the B team for the sake of the A team and have them struggle for numbers as a result. There would be no enjoyment for the players if we did. If the B players are available and are needed they will play for the A team but if the B team have a game as well they will play B not A. What would be the point in training and going out every Sunday if the A team just stripped your team week in week out.
[QUOTE=gk10;1450728]everyones different id rather play with a b team to play for a certain manager or with my friends than an a team where you dont feel happy[/QUOTE
I think this business of playing with your friends is grand to a certain extent, like when you're younger and new to Junior soccer, it's nice to know a few people, but personally I feel if you're good enough to play in a higher division then you should do it, instead of walking around teams in 3B and 4A etc. Then when you get really old you can go back down the divisions again and mess around!
murroe 1 caherconlish 3 caherconlish scored all three goals in the first half and had a penalty well saved but should have had double that score at ht murroe came right back into the game after the break and were awarded a penalty which they converted good result for caherconlish and they will be happy with the 3 points
Last edited by stevieg; 13/02/2011 at 8:12 PM. Reason: spelling
Cappamore 2 - Dromore 1.
Cappamore up 1 - 0 @ half time... probably deservedly so as they had just about been the more dangerous side in the first half. Goal came from a indirect free kick awarded on the six yard box. It was rifled into the top corner, great finish.
Dromore came much more into the game in the second half, dominated possession and got a deserved leveller after missing a few chances from set-pieces, most noticably corners.
Cappamore responded quite well, with both teams searching for a winner. It became a great game, decided by a 25 yard screamer into the top corner which gave the keeper no chance.
I must say the pitch just outside Cappamore, Bilbao or whatever it is known as, is a fantastic pitch, one of the best in Limerick.
pike 3 hospital 1
great win for pike as they were down to 10 men after 35 mins for an accidental hand ball on the line a yellow card would have been sufficant, pike keeper saved the penalty but hospital scored the rebound, this made it one all as pike scored a free kick before that. pike were awarded a penalty in the second half 2-1. hospital put on the pressure but never really tested the pike keeper great win for pike.
bar the sending off which was harsh the ref had a fairly good game.
Pike B 3 Hospital 1
Good game, very end to end with Pike just edging it. Pike scored from a F.Hogan free kick. About 10 minutes before half time D.Duffy handled the ball on the line leaving the ref no choice but to send him off. K.Steward saved the penalty but Hospital scored from the rebound. Second half Pike got a dubious penalty in which M.Phelan was taken down. F.Hogan stepped up and scored.Can't give account of the third Pike goal.
herbertstown 0-1 knockainey
great win for the away team in a tough and physical local derby..
herbertstown number six should have been sent off twice but yet he ended the game without even being booked..
O'Neill's Div 1B P W D L F A Pts
Cappamore 12 9 1 2 28 20 28
Caherconlish 13 8 3 2 29 16 27
Knockainey 11 8 1 2 36 16 25
Athlunkard Villa 12 7 3 2 27 19 24
Pike Rvs B 11 7 1 3 23 17 22
Hospital 9 4 2 3 17 16 14
Bruff Utd 11 3 2 6 21 24 11
Murroe 11 3 1 7 17 19 10
Dromore Celtic 11 1 3 7 13 28 6
Herbertstown 11 1 2 8 13 25 5
Caledonians 12 1 1 10 19 43 4
Results
Sun 13/02/11
Pike Rvs B 3-1 Hospital,
Herbertstown 0-1 Knockainey,
Cappamore 2-1 Dromore Celtic,
Murroe 1-3 Caherconlish,
Fixtures
20/02/11
Knockainey v Pike Rvs B, 11.00, O Hayes
Hospital v Murroe, 11.00, M Kirby
Bruff Utd v Athlunkard Villa, 11.00, T Mazur
Caledonians v Herbertstown, 11.00, R Hennessy
68, 99, 08
Cappamore 2 Dromore 1
Good result for us against a tough Dromore side. Was a though and physical game and the ref did a very good job, that was the second time we had him in two weeks and was very good two weeks ago aswell. Game was end to end and although we lost our ever reliable centre half 'fitz' after 15 mins 'madden' proved up to the challenge. We opened the scoring in the first half when we got an indirect free for a kick in the head on 'mcloughlin' who went to header the ball. Not sure about the rules but was told an indirect free kick instead of a penalty was the correct decision. With 11 Dromore players on the line 'mcloughlin' blasted to the roof of the net. Half Time Cappamore 1 Dromore 0. Second half started with few half chances for both sides. Dromore only looked dangerous from set plays and they got the equaliser 15mins into the second half with a header at the back post. We swaped goalie's after this as we needed the win and brought out our regular striker 'Bubbles'. 10 minutes later 'Bubbles' grabed a screamer when 25 yeads out and he shot off the post and in. The rest of the game proved Dromore on attack wanting an equaliser but we held out. Good result that keeps us top of the table. Fair play to Dromore for good, physical game.
knockainey v pike looks a cracker ,both clubs in a good position in the league,which way will it go?
Predictions
Knockainey 1 Pike Rvs B,
Hospital 1 Murroe,
Bruff Utd 2 Athlunkard Villa,
Caledonians 1 Herbertstown,
68, 99, 08
Knockainey 2 Pike Rvs B,
Hospital 2 Murroe,
Bruff Utd 2 Athlunkard Villa,
Caledonians 2 Herbertstown
Personally I think pike have the better squad at the moment and will beat knockainey at the weekend. A friend of mine saw them play 2 weeks again and told me they didn't look any bit impressive. Murroe to cause an upset this weekend, they were missing alot of first team players last weekend. Athlunkard will prove too good for bruff. Good game expected against caledonians and herbertstown as both are fighting relegation. Herberstown to shade it.
Predictions
Knockainey Pike Rvs B, away win
Hospital Murroe, home win
Bruff Utd Athlunkard Villa, draw
Caledonians Herbertstown, away win
"A friend of mine saw them play 2 weeks again and told me they didn't look any bit impressive."
who you talkin about knockainey is it?
Last edited by rooney10; 18/02/2011 at 4:18 PM.