Thread: Limerick Division 1B 2010/11

Quote Originally Posted by mogus View Post
    the lish boys will probably try to get it cancelled
    And Pike will be in the Pub an hour before them getting locked..........

Predictions

Hospital 1-3 Pike
    Cals 0 - 2 Knock
    Cappamore 2-2 Bruff
    murroe 1 - 0 herb

thats if the matches finally go ahead

Predictions

Hospital 1 - 2 Pike
    Cals 0 - 4 Knock
    Cappamore 1 - 2 Bruff
    murroe 2 - 0 herb

Lots of rain last night and today lads, what do we reckon to games going ahead, none of the pitches are great where the games are being played!

Hospital 3 - 3 Pike
    Cals 0 - 6 Knock
    Cappamore 4 - 2 Bruff
    murroe 3 - 0 herb

cals 1-5 knockainey.

suprised al matches went ahead.. bruff came back from 2-0 down to get it back level but then conceded straight away then had a player sent off good fast paced match the sending off def contributed to final score taking nothing away from cappa they took there chances well..and ref had a great game wouldnt mind getting him for all our remaining matches

any other matches go ahead

Quote Originally Posted by bruffunited View Post
    suprised al matches went ahead.. bruff came back from 2-0 down to get it back level but then conceded straight away then had a player sent off good fast paced match the sending off def contributed to final score taking nothing away from cappa they took there chances well..and ref had a great game wouldnt mind getting him for all our remaining matches
    Good game and the pitch kept up very well down there in Bilboa. We started the game good and after 2mins 'fitz' was played through but keeper saved and it fell to 'duggy' to tap in. 5 mins later a 'mcloughlin' cross found 'lane' to fire home to the roof of the net. Fair play to bruff they fought back and they got a goal when a cross escaped both keeper and full back for a tap in. Half Time cappa 2 bruff 1. Second half started and bruff got a goal after 10 mins. This goal was very scrappy but well taken by the visiting team. It hit one post came out, kepper saved next shot, another shot came off the post before it found the back of the net. Game now at 2-2 and all to play for. We responded and got a deserved penalty when 'fitz' was taken down. 'Mcloughlin' stepped up and put the keeper the wrong way. 3-2 now but bruff came at us again and played some nice football but this meant they were getting numbers up and a break from 'ryan' put 'duggy' through and he found the back of the net to bag his brace. The ref had a good game and issued the bruff lad with his second yellow 15 mins to go. As 'bruffunited' said I would like to get this ref again for the rest of the season.....but everyone make sure to get back when a free kick is given and not to hit away the ball as he will have no problem issueing a yellow as he did many times to day. Credit to bruff for good clean fast match. Hopefully that will see us at the top of the table for the weekend.

Any other scores from other matches?

cals 1-5 knockainy any other scores

Cals in big trouble......Knock could have scored 9 or 10 today, must have missed 3 or 4 open goals. Was watching game and although Cals lads put in effort, totally out of their depth. Showed nothing up front, back 4 ran ragged and goalkeeper not up to much either. Can't see them picking up many more points. I know that most of their team is their current B team, but couldn't believe it when I heard Cals Manager say, "Never mind lads, we are only a division 4 team, we have big games in our own league ahead." Are these lads playing division 4 games as well on a Sunday? If so, surely the priority is to try to keep the club in 1b and not worry about getting promotion from Division 4??

Quote Originally Posted by Pegleg5 View Post
    Cals in big trouble......Knock could have scored 9 or 10 today, must have missed 3 or 4 open goals. Was watching game and although Cals lads put in effort, totally out of their depth. Showed nothing up front, back 4 ran ragged and goalkeeper not up to much either. Can't see them picking up many more points. I know that most of their team is their current B team, but couldn't believe it when I heard Cals Manager say, "Never mind lads, we are only a division 4 team, we have big games in our own league ahead." Are these lads playing division 4 games as well on a Sunday? If so, surely the priority is to try to keep the club in 1b and not worry about getting promotion from Division 4??
    Why would staying in 1B be any more important than getting promoted? Those lads with the B team worked hard to challenge in division 4 and are well on course to try get promoted so i think that should be their priority, not trying to make up for players walking out on the club in 1B.

how many and who exactly have cals lost from the Bteam?? when they had their full team all year they werent up to much either. did they have any players good enough in the first place? it looks as tho they are certs to go down...surely the clubs priority is to compete in the highest division possible so i think it is more important to avoid the drop rather than get promoted from div 4!!

Surely staying 1b is a greater priority than getting promoted to Division 3. As far as I am aware, (I might be wrong) there are only 3 of the original A team left. Ger Thompson up front, Ralph Marsh at centre back and the keeper who I think is an actual centre back.

Fair enough it may be more important to the "club" to stay up in 1B but the B players themselves have a good chance at winning a cup or getting promoted from division 4 so i don't see why they should have to give this up for the sake of the A team. I don't want to talk too much for the Cals B players because i don't know how they look at it but i'm sure they started the season with the B team and i'm sure they had goals themselves of what they wanted to try achieve in Division 4 and now they have to sacrifice that because players have walked out on the A team for whatever reason. Harsh on them if you ask me.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    O'Neill's Div 1B P W D L F A Pts
    Cappamore 11 8 1 2 26 19 25
    Caherconlish 12 7 3 2 26 15 24
    Athlunkard Villa 12 7 3 2 27 19 24
    Knockainey 10 7 1 2 35 16 22
    Pike Rvs B 10 6 1 3 20 16 19
    Hospital 8 4 2 2 16 13 14
    Bruff Utd 11 3 2 6 21 24 11
    Murroe 10 3 1 6 16 16 10
    Dromore Celtic 10 1 3 6 12 26 6
    Herbertstown 10 1 2 7 13 24 5
    Caledonians 12 1 1 10 19 43 4

Sun 13/02/11
    Pike Rvs B v Hospital, 2.15, R Hennessy
    Herbertstown v Knockainey, 11.00, P O’Brien
    Cappamore v Dromore Celtic, 11.00, O Hayes
    Murroe v Caherconlish, 11.00, T Mannion
    68, 99, 08

Surely staying 1b is a greater priority than getting promoted to Division 3. As far as I am aware, (I might be wrong) there are only 3 of the original A team left. Ger Thompson up front, Ralph Marsh at centre back and the keeper who I think is an actual centre back.
    If what you say is true and they have only 3 A players left then the registrar would have to bring it up with the council as its against the rules to have no A team and a full B team.

were doing our best mate alot of our lads have never played at this level before we signed players at the start of the season to play in 4a and are after been landed in 1b now because other players jumped ship when the going got tough

I agree with you GK. As I said earlier, you can't knock the lads who are playing for effort and committment. They are just out of their depth, but it seems to me are expected to compete in 2 divisions at the same time!!!! What I am saying is that a decision needs to be made here, they either just play in 1b or they play in division 4 because what will happen is that with the amount of games ye are expected to play ye'll end up being relegated in 1b and not getting a thing in division 4. A decision needs to be made here and if I was involved with the committe I know I would want the club to stay in 1b.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    I agree with you GK. As I said earlier, you can't knock the lads who are playing for effort and committment. They are just out of their depth, but it seems to me are expected to compete in 2 divisions at the same time!!!! What I am saying is that a decision needs to be made here, they either just play in 1b or they play in division 4 because what will happen is that with the amount of games ye are expected to play ye'll end up being relegated in 1b and not getting a thing in division 4. A decision needs to be made here and if I was involved with the committe I know I would want the club to stay in 1b.

If they decide to put all their eggs in one basket and concentrate on 1B and still get relegated, then what??? Have they any minor team or C team that could plug gaps where needed???
    68, 99, 08

Page 20 of 39 FirstFirst ... 10181920212230 ... LastLast