Caherconlish v Murroe
    Knockainey v Cappamore

Sunday 05th
    Herbertstown v Athlunkard Villa, 10.30, B Kelly
    Dromore v Bruff, 10.30, J Curran
    Murroe v Pike B, 10.30, T Mannion
    Cappamore v Caledonians, 10.30, J Clancy
    Knockainey v Caherconlish, 10.30, T Meagher
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 29/08/2010 at 10:23 PM.

Results
    Sunday 29th
    Murroe0-1 Cappamore,
    Hospital 2-2 Athlunkard Villa,
    Bruff OFF Pike B,
    Herbertstown 0-1 Caledonians,
    Dromore 2-4 Caherconlish,
    scores might be wrong but results are right
    Thursday 2nd
    Athlunkard Villa v Bruff
    Hospital v Herbertstown
    Pike B v Dromore
    Caherconlish v Murroe
    Knockainey v Cappamore[/QUOTE]

caherconlish 2 dromore 1 deserved win in the end for the lish

Is Danger the worst referee in the history of Limerick soccer?

No, Johnny Carey will never be beaten.

Ha Ha!

It's a poor reflection on referees in general in Limerick that they get so much flak. Enda Quaid was one of the best referees in Limerick & was always fair to both sides. But the fact that Danger is still refereeing shows that nobody really wants to take up refereeing. Danger tends to annoy both teams and you can't talk to him or he goes off talking in this dialect that nobody understands. He dishes out yellow cards for fun & angers players with his behaviour. Football is all about letting the game flow but sadly in his case, all that flows is what comes out of his mouth, some language that nobody understands.

danger is by far worse than carey....danger gave an offside for a backpass in our last match.

Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.
    Last edited by villain10; 31/08/2010 at 12:54 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by villain10 View Post
    Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them pubically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.
    well said! the poor aul referees get an awful doing. it's bad enough the abuse they have to tolerate on the pitch from players and managers without being publicly slated on the internet. give em a break. let's not forget that players make mistakes on the pitch too
    "It's not about winning, it's taking people apart that counts"

There are a few refs that are very bad and could do with packing it in but at the end of the day if these refs weren't around then we'd be all on this complaining about even more matches being cancelled due to lack of refs.

Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this.
    Fair point, but if a manager/player makes a mistake they are criticised. I agree the referees do a vital job but I also believe so much of refereeing is common sense. There are some who you know will not be for one side or the other and they will make their calls and get some right, some wrong. I think we can all accept that. But if a referee gives a decision & refuses to be questioned and books any player that questions him, I think that is out of order. A lot of the younger referees realise that and are willing to explain their decisions as long as they are not ranted at and are not abused. Not for one second would I condone abusing any official, that is out of order.

But I do believe no referee is above criticism & my criticism of Danger is not his decision making but his inability to let players enjoy the game. I have refereed at underage level myself, it is a thankless job and of course I got decisions wrong, but what I tried to do was let the players get on with the game. If you look at the best there has ever been in world football (Collina) players say he let the game flow & treated players like adults & was always willing to explain his decisions. Simple approach but it works.

Fair play, we all make mistakes

Although I do agree the standard of refereeing in this town is not of the elite standard that we seem to expect from amateurs, I do not agree with naming them and slating them publically on this. Without them, there would be no games at all. Even 5 professional officials get decisions wrong in a top european game, so 1 amateur official is bound to make lots of wrong decisions. We all get games where refs are "all for them" and "all for us". Think ye lads can do better, a whistle in Limerick Sports Store costs 2.75. Best of luck.

If a ref calls every decision right in a game (theoretically of course :P ) he will still get abuse off of teams. Players will be treated like adults when they act like adults. As a past ref yourself, would you like to hear your name mentioned in "the top 5 worst referee's in limerick" if you were still doing it at present? Another thing is we rarely give praise to refs. Players and managers get congratulated all season, at end of seasons awards. Refs get a handshake at the end of the match (sometimes not even that). Why not mention the top refs in town. IMO they are the ones who have played before, the ones with the common sense, so I do agree with you on that. Donal Power is prob my fave. Played until his mid 30's or so, came in a few years ago and is a fantastic ref.

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Table (31/08/10)
    Hospital 4 3 1 0 10 5 10
    Cappamore 4 3 0 1 8 5 9
    Athlunkard Villa 4 2 2 0 10 6 8
    Knockainey 3 2 0 1 9 8 6
    Caherconlish 3 1 1 1 4 4 4
    Herbertstown 4 1 1 2 6 8 4
    Bruff Utd 2 1 0 1 4 4 3
    Pike Rvs B 2 1 0 1 2 2 3
    Caledonians 4 1 0 3 6 11 3
    Dromore Celtic 3 0 1 2 4 7 1
    Murroe 3 0 0 3 2 5 0

Fixtures
    Thur 02/09/10
    Athlunkard Villa v Bruff Utd, R Hennessy
    Hospital v Herbertstown, P O’Brien
    Pike B v Dromore, R Peiper
    Caherconlish v Murroe, O Hayes
    Knockainey v Cappamore, M O’Halloran

Sun 05/09/10
    Herbertstown v Athlunkard Villa, 10.30, B Kelly
    Dromore v Bruff, 10.30, J Curran
    Murroe v Pike B, 10.30, T Mannion
    Cappamore v Caledonians, 10.30, J Clancy
    Knockainey v Caherconlish, 10.30, T Meagher

Thur 09/09/10 @ 18.15
    Athlunkard Villa v Dromore
    Hospital v Cappamore
    Pike B v Knockainey
    Caledonians v Caherconlish

Some good points there Villain10. I think Mike Burke, Jim Clancy & young Hennessy are good refs. I've always liked Ollie Hayes. He's not the fittest, but he is a ref who will explain his decisions and I've NEVER seen him go out to do one side, give decisions against them etc.

Quote Originally Posted by Benjamin View Post
    Fair point, but if a manager/player makes a mistake they are criticised. I agree the referees do a vital job but I also believe so much of refereeing is common sense. There are some who you know will not be for one side or the other and they will make their calls and get some right, some wrong. I think we can all accept that. But if a referee gives a decision & refuses to be questioned and books any player that questions him, I think that is out of order. A lot of the younger referees realise that and are willing to explain their decisions as long as they are not ranted at and are not abused. Not for one second would I condone abusing any official, that is out of order.

But I do believe no referee is above criticism & my criticism of Danger is not his decision making but his inability to let players enjoy the game. I have refereed at underage level myself, it is a thankless job and of course I got decisions wrong, but what I tried to do was let the players get on with the game. If you look at the best there has ever been in world football (Collina) players say he let the game flow & treated players like adults & was always willing to explain his decisions. Simple approach but it works.
    this is true and also referees in this league are too inconsistant they give a free and book a player then 5 mins later the exact same situation comes along and nothing happens no booking no free this happened alot in the bruff caherconlish game..if a ref makes a wrong call ok no one is perfect but atleast be consistant

any changes on the early predictions on who people think have a chance in winning this league this year?

Dont know about predicting the winners, but I am delighted to see an old team of mine start very Well. Athlunkard Villa had been in 2A so long its great to see them up there competing in 1B this year, have not seen them this season, watched quite a few last season and they have a nice style of football. hope to see thursdays game.

Quote Originally Posted by bruffunited View Post
    any changes on the early predictions on who people think have a chance in winning this league this year?

Quote Originally Posted by Benjamin View Post
    Is Danger the worst referee in the history of Limerick soccer?
    Yes, yes he is..

Trevor Hoare was the best ref this town ever saw, but enough on refs lads, back to the beautiful game.
    I was delighted to see Hospital drop points the weekend and if we win our games in hand we will be just a point off the pace. We'll be going all out for 6 points by Sunday evening..
    Last edited by Zizou; 01/09/2010 at 6:48 PM.
    The Beautiful Game

Page 4 of 39 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast