You don't think the UCD bowl is a good ground? wow. Ditto for showgrounds

Quote Originally Posted by Riddickcule View Post
    You don't think the UCD bowl is a good ground?
    1,000 seats, some uncovered. Nothing on 3 sides of the ground.

Ditto for showgrounds
    Nice stand. Rest of it awful

20 Posts
    I tend to agree with Dodge on this one. The stand we have is nice but having nothing on 3 sides is a bit odd. Admittedly the nature of our crowds mean we would rarely want to exceed the stand capacity of 1,500. That said, a roof over the currently uncovered seats would make a huge difference.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

I should point out that I'm not having a pop at those grounds. For all its faults I enjoy watching football in the Showgrounds and Belfield is obviously an improvement on the previous ground. Belfield is more than adequate for UCD's needs at the moment (and indeed so is the Showgrounds for Sligo's)

I just thought it was funnt that some one would class them as "top notch" and mention them in the same sentance as Tallaght or Turner's Cross

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Belfield is more than adequate for UCD's needs at the moment (and indeed so is the Showgrounds for Sligo's)
    I don't know about that Dodge.
    For example, if you go to the showgrounds and are stuck in the Jinks stand you have no proper view of the game.
    If there is a crowd above a couple of thousand that means there is no room in the opposite stand from which you would have a decent view. You are then looking at the option of standing behind the goals at the railway end which is terraced and not covered, standing at the opposite end (the old shed end) which is really not an option at all as there is no terrace, you are just standing on gravel.
    This is off putting for people in my opinion.
    There were plans for redeveloping the Jinks stand which would be fantastic and is badly needed. These plans were in the match programme last year for our game against Vllaznia. Filling space no doubt because I can't see anything happening anytime soon on that front.
    You can talk about no money but there's a few players over the last couple of seasons who we could have done without who's wages could have made a good start at rectifying some of these problems.
    So to say the showgrounds is "adequate" isn't true in my opinion.
    Having said that, on a good day I would liken it to Richmond, Oriel Park, Hunky Dory's Park and Tolka as having atmosphere and the feeling of a proper football ground, even if sub standard in so many respects.

20 Posts
    Is the Jinks the stand that isn't the main one? I remember being well annoyed to be sent there for a Sligo-UCD game as I rather like the main stand but the stewards were insistent on separating away fans. Given how small our travelling support was this seem as hilarious as the time Cork City gave us a big chunk of a stand for 8 of us.
    Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

The point of MNS is surely to promote the league, or why the fook would the FAI be paying for it/ taking less for International rights?

I have to say, even as a fan of the league I don't regularly watch it (no 1st division, too much talk), and I've never heard mention of it here in the office. I don't think it's a factor in attendances one way or the other (which is damning given the investment), but there's a whole list of reasons why attendances are/ could be down, but do we really need another summer v winter football debate? Or another 10 team league debate?

Quote Originally Posted by Aberdonian Stu View Post
    Is the Jinks the stand that isn't the main one? I remember being well annoyed to be sent there for a Sligo-UCD game as I rather like the main stand but the stewards were insistent on separating away fans. Given how small our travelling support was this seem as hilarious as the time Cork City gave us a big chunk of a stand for 8 of us.
    That's the one.

It's in the psyche of our population that we don't support our own league, simple as.

Ah lads seriously, the UCD bowl is a top class little ground. It may be unused on 3 sides but for the 1 side the facilities are brilliant.

3,269 Posts
    It's grand, but it's far from top notch. Just going on what's there, the poles in the stand need to go before what's there can possibly be considered top notch, for example.

Just going on what's there, the poles in the stand need to go before what's there can possibly be considered top notch, for example.
    A few low notches should sort that?

821 Posts
    I take back my statement that most grounds are up to scratch I saw and smelt something last night in Flancare Park that has changed my stance for ever enough said!
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

Tom the Gom was there was he?

36 Posts
    i dont think richer is that bad, ucd is actually a nice ground, i hate going out to it all the same

oriel and hunky dorey park are terrible imo,

each ground should have 2 main stands something like the jodi or the stand in galway pity they cant fill that tho, crackin stand.

Yeah oriel, Utd park, carlisle, jackman, tolka and dalymount are probably the worst. I pray our development plans go ahead, it'd be a much, much needed boost for the club and the town.

445 Posts
    They are all crap but we get some sick perverse pleasure from going to them

We are freaks
    Here on a technicality.

Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    They are all crap but we get some sick perverse pleasure from going to them

We are freaks
    Or we just like proper football. If we wanted sanitised football, in nice shiny stadiums with feck all atmosphere, we'd join the barstool legions in twice a year trips to Britain...

85 Posts
    Page 54 in the Weekend (TV guide) bit of the Sunday Independent today:

MNS RTÉ Two 7.00pm

The affable Con Murphy and his guests Damien Richardson, Paul Doolin and Colm Foley discuss the latest action from the Airtricity League for the four or five viewers out there who are likely to care one way or the other. A sad state of affairs, really.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    Page 54 in the Weekend (TV guide) bit of the Sunday Independent today:
    Who wrote that ****e.
    Yeah man, they call gambling a disease, but it's the only disease where you can win a bunch of money.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast