Thread: Dolan Hates Waterford

Thumbs up Dolan Hates Waterford

looks like dolan is one of us with his hatred of waterford

quotes from yesterdays star

"the fans were upset at the treatment of jimmy mcgeogh but they were seduced with a pr stunt in signing paul mcgrath and suddenly mcgeogh was forgotten. mcgrath made his way down to the city match and his name was on a seat on the bench but it looks like HE WAS OTHERWISE ENGAGED"............................i like this quote a lot

"" i was delighted for liam buckley that he had such a magnifecent result against waterford on tuesday2

RESPECT TO THE BIG MAN

wow i heard of people talking through their ass, but typing through it is a new one.........

who is he to put down paul mcgrath, he's not fit to tie his laces....thats if he could manage to bend down and do it.....drinking too much is a problem to paul, looks as if eating to much is a problem for pat as well
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

It seems that SPA got a taste of the Wahurfort "style of Football" last night.
    A few of them are none to happy either.
    I'm going to quote Dr. Nightdub, (If thats ok?),:
    Coming out of Richmond last night I was such a ball of rage........ because of the way Waterford went about getting three points. Kicking, fouling, time-wasting, faking injury - everything that is a perversion of football, they showed a mastery of it.

If that's what gets you places in this league - and statistics say they're currently the second-best team in the league - then I'm not sure that the League of Ireland has much to offer after all. There's enough ****e and ugliness in the world as it is - I go to football to escape from it, not have it rammed down my throat.

After the utter thuggery we had to put up with at the Cross, I couldn't agree more with those sentiments. I think you could possibly describe $hels the same way.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    looks like dolan is one of us with his hatred of waterford

quotes from yesterdays star

"the fans were upset at the treatment of jimmy mcgeogh but they were seduced with a pr stunt in signing paul mcgrath and suddenly mcgeogh was forgotten. mcgrath made his way down to the city match and his name was on a seat on the bench but it looks like HE WAS OTHERWISE ENGAGED"............................i like this quote a lot

"" i was delighted for liam buckley that he had such a magnifecent result against waterford on tuesday2

RESPECT TO THE BIG MAN
    I hope these quotes are taken out of context.
    Even if it is a PR stunt, McGrath deserves better than this kind of coverage. Paul McGrath is worth more than the whole sh*thole of Wahurfort put together.

What Patsh quoted could have been a city fan after our game with them. That 'style' will only last the likes of Wahhhherford,Longford and to a lesser extent Shels so long until they get injuries and suspensions then the teams who at least try to play ball will shine through.

Doesnt come as much of a surprise that the Rat Pack are acting the thugs, expect for small willie, the fairy, who cant be touched without getting a peno.
    Oh no not them again

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    I'm going to quote Dr. Nightdub, (If thats ok?),:
    Coming out of Richmond last night I was such a ball of rage........ because of the way Waterford went about getting three points. Kicking, fouling, time-wasting, faking injury - everything that is a perversion of football, they showed a mastery of it.

If that's what gets you places in this league - and statistics say they're currently the second-best team in the league - then I'm not sure that the League of Ireland has much to offer after all. There's enough ****e and ugliness in the world as it is - I go to football to escape from it, not have it rammed down my throat.

Thats the best description I have heard yet of the supposed "football" that Waterford have perpotrated this season. Pure and utter rubbish, Wimbeldon style violence.

Wimbeldon

There is notting wrong with Wimbeldon so leave them out of it right just cos there relegated.
    Let's get it going for this year the away support.

PUBLIC WARNING: The following may offend some readers ( particularly Dubs ).

Just thought I'd put a few words together on the whole McGrath thing.

Yes, he was a great player for Ireland serving us well in his time. He was also a super player at Club level .... but as he never played for City, I don't give a damm about this part of his life.

Yes he has fallen on hard times and it is never nice to see this happen to anyone.

Remember though........

He also walked out ( or disappeared ) of the Irish scene prior to a vital WC qualifing match ( or 2 actually ) but was welcomed back as our saviour when he did turn up - particularly by the Dublin press - ironic isn't it. Mybe it was because he was staying in Cork at the time and didn't want to leave this beautiful city!

Put this in paralell with Roy Keane ( by the way I am not a Manure fan but am a Cork man and a City fan ).

Keane is, IMO, THE greatest Irish player ( amazing when you consider he isn't from Dublin ) and has served his country just as admirably as McGrath plus is way more decorated than his counterpart at Club level.

This lay off the "Messiah" McGrath makes me laugh when you see the abuse Keane gets everytime his name comes up in conversation - his big fault was looking for perfection within the shambles that is the FAI, and highlighting what an idiot McCarthy was as a manager.

I say fair play Dolan for speaking your mind and enough of this holyier than thou crap with McGrath. He deserves no more or no less than anything Keane gets. In fact if anything we in Cork should be sticking up for one of our own the same way the Dubs do for their "heroes" such as McGrath, Steve Collins etc..........real heroes and models for our kids ......... yeah right.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Crow,
    Speaking as one who has not condemned Keane, I do not think it is holier than thou to criticise the type of coverage that McGrath attracts. The whole focus of this coverage is his alcoholism. This is a sickness/disease, what ever you want to call it, that deserves treatment, help and understanding. The people writing the stories are not pure as the driven snow, upstanding citizens, who have never done anything wrong in their lives. Some of them are the nastiest creeps you will ever come across, and I intensely dislike the way they destroy other people for the sake of selling a rag. Dervan is a good example of the genre, who ingratiated himself into Keanes company, got the stories on Keanes own battle with alcohol, and then wrote the stories of pained outrage at the fact that Keane isn't perfect.
    McGrath, no more than Keane, is a "messiah", "god" or anything else. They are supremely gifted Irishmen, who are/were too familiar with alcohol, just like far too many people in this country. They are just human beings, with all our faults and failings. Neither of them deserve the level of abuse, lies or comment they have got.
    If there is anyone on here who has NEVER done anything wrong in their life, feel free to look down on Keane and McGrath. Anyone else, give it a break.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    If there is anyone on here who has NEVER done anything wrong in their life, feel free to look down on Keane and McGrath.
    here i am looking down

DOLAN SHARES OUR HATRED.HAHAHA

Patsh - my point is that I find it very hard to listen to these people complaining about the attention ( that is all it is - there is no serious critisism of McGrath that I have seen in this country, unlike in England )McGrath is currently getting from some areas, yet the torrent of abuse being aimed at Keane - for offering his services back to a very ordinary Irish team - is nothing short of appalling - particularly from the Dubs ( did anyone see that umpalumpa Ole Ole Oirish supporter on Prime Time last week - what an advert for the common Dublin fan... ).

Fact - McGrath took up the post of Tech Director @ Waterford and within 5 games has gone on the missing list. I feel sorry for Waterford as they have tried to do things right ( and actually felt sorry for Reynolds on TV last week when he was interviewed after the Rovers game ). If was City, I'd be pi$sed off as well. McGrath has had his chances IMO and has left many people down over time. If any of us did what he has done in our own jobs we wouldn't last kissing time so please give me a break when it comes to feeling sorry for McGrath.

.... and the other thing is, let's see some consistency when it comes to Keane.....a true Cork man ( who has never forgotten his roots i.e. Rockmount, charities here in the city and, more importantly, his family and friends ).

He once said in an interview with the Sunday Independant ( when he was being vilified by the Dublin media after being sent off in one Irish match ) that he was QUOTE: "a Corkman first and an Irishman second" - LEGEND.

P.S.
    That parasite Dervan was the very man ( through his rag The Title ) that got half of Landsdowne Rd to "BOO" Keane in one game, vs. Finland on return from injury back in the nineties just because he felt he wasn't "Oirish enough".

...and the laugh of it all was he got the Man of the Match in that very game.
    Irish by birth,
    Cork by the grace of God.

Lads, what the fúck does that have to do with anything? It certainly isnt City related, its boring.

On the original point, I doubt very much Dolan "hates" Waterford. In fact from what i read, i dont see any hatred whatsoever from him, merely stating an unfortunate fact.
    If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.

Wink Dolan Hates Waterford

Waterford United would be my second favourite team. They have shag all money and lost a few players in the close season. They are battling against relegation most seasons no matter how high up the table they may be early doors.
    Whatever about Mr. Dolan hating the Blues ye certainly do.
    You have described their robust style of play this season quite eloquently.
    However howdo you think Cork would play if ye couldn't afford your present squad, and half the team was earning a packet of peanuts and a red bull to play for ye every week?

And some of ye had the cheek to complain about my team's presence in the Premier Division last season ?... Well at least we tried to play football.

As for the comments about Mc Grath and the coverage he gets vs that of Roy Keane. Yes Paul McGrath missed one or two matches in the past, fair comment. I shall not enter the rights or wrongs of Mr Keane's absence in 2002 except to say two things.
    1/ Paul McGrath turned up for the 2 World Cups he was around for.
    2/ Roy Keane only turned up for one.
    This is why so many people in opinion polls have mixed feelings about his return. It is nothing to do with him being a Cork Langher

They both have had or do have problems with the bottle and are or were very talented players. McGrath gets the nod for me , as the greatest Irish player of all time , for one reason only over Keane.
    Keano, for all his talent, is a crap centre-half. When he played there for Forest they went down! He is however a fine midfielder and there is no taking that away from him regardless of whether you think he is a fit person to represent his country or not!
    McGrath was a brilliant midfield player, right back and centre-half. Probably would have done a job at centre forward too if asked.

What we should be doing as supporters of teams in this League is point out to those gob****es who sit in pubs and only watch the Premiership that the two boys , the best players Ireland ever produced, cut their teeth in our League with St. Patrick's Athletic and Cobh Ramblers respectively.

In fact the amazing thing about Keane is he never got to play in our Premier Division at all. Although he might retire there in a couple of years you never know.

The problems Irish players have had getting released to play international friendlies in general from Man United over the years is a matter of public record. And it isn't only Irish players. English, Scots, Welsh and other have had similar problems . Look at Ryan Giggs paltry caps total for Wales.
    In light of that experience why so many Irish people support that shower from Old Trafford is a complete mystery .....
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 18/04/2004 at 3:06 PM. Reason: correcting spelling

started out well, casting an eye back to Jimmy McGeough and how he seems to be forgotten having made waterford what they are. the snipe at McGrath was low though, would have expected more from PD to be honest. don't think you can claim it was out of context either as it's his own column and wasn't an interview quote.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie
    1/ Paul McGrath turned up for the 2 World Cups he was around for.
    2/ Roy Keane only turned up for one.
    Roy tried to turn up but was sent home - why do people have difficulty remembering this??

McGrath gets the nod for me , as the greatest Irish player of all time , for one reason only over Keane.
    Keano, for all his talent, is a crap centre-half.
    McGrath was a rubbish 'keeper so I wouldn't rate him. Duff is excellent on the left wing but crap on de right - should be dropped.

oops, CollegetillIDie, re-read your post and somehow missed McGrath's flexibility point first time round, apologies. I hate Mondays...

Whats has McGrath or Keane got to do with City???????

Dolan is rright to say what he did about waterford, it sums the whole place up perfectly. And as for what Dr Nightdub said about their "style" of "football" he's also spot on. WUFC sicken me- top to bottm.